2015-09-11

Pro Carton ECMA Award:
Hier sind die Sieger!

Kommentieren

Viele fantastische Innovationen unter den mehr als hundert Einreichungen begeisterten die Jury des Pro Carton ECMA Award in diesem Jahr. Im Vordergrund stand die einzigartige Nachhaltigkeit von Karton: Zahlreiche innovative Konzepte beschäftigten sich mit dem Thema, wie andere Materialien durch Karton ersetzt werden können, um nachhaltigere Verpackungslösungen für die Zukunft zu finden.

Die feierliche Award Gala am 10. September 2015 bildete den mit Spannung erwarteten Höhepunkt des ECMA-Kongresses in Bukarest. Eleganter Schauplatz war der Thronsaal des ehemaligen königlichen Palastes – heute das Nationalmuseum. Stimmungsvoll eingerahmt wurde der Abend von rumänischen Volkstänzen.

Die Finalisten waren bereits seit August bekannt. Unter ihnen wurden die Awards in sieben Kategorien sowie die drei Hauptpreise vergeben: „Carton of the Year“, „Most Innovative“ und „Sustainability“. Urkunden und Trophäen überreichten Roland Rex, Präsident Pro Carton, Dr. Andreas Blaschke, Präsident ECMA, und Satkar Gidda, Vorsitzender der Jury.

„Carton of the Year“ ist die Kosmetik-Verpackung „Ambuja“: Wenige Verpackungen drücken so unmittelbar den Wert ihres Inhalts aus wie diese – durch höchste Eleganz in der Farbgebung und perfekte Choreografie beim Öffnen und Schließen. Ein hörbares Klicken beim Verschließen unterstützt das einzigartige Gefühl, etwas Kostbares in Händen zu halten.

Den Award „Most Innovative“ erhielt die neuartige Eier-Verpackung „Free-range eggs García Puente“. Hier wird ein klassisches Produkt völlig neu gedacht. Die Faltschachtel ist originell und kreativ und vereint doch alle Vorteile einer klassischen Verpackung. Sicherheit und Einfachheit waren oberste Maxime beim Design. Für den Auftraggeber war es Liebe auf den ersten Blick.

Höchste Nachhaltigkeit wurde diesmal „Fazer Alku new mill products“ mit dem Sustainability Award zugesprochen. Diese für das Produktsegment vollkommen neue Lösung bringt einen entscheidenden Fortschritt: Im Inneren gibt es keinen lästigen Kunststoffbeutel mehr, der die Convenience ebenso beeinträchtigt wie die Wertanmutung des Produkts. Wunderbar gelöst ist darüber hinaus die Wiederverschließbarkeit.

Die Jury kam wie immer aus allen Bereichen der Packaging Supply Chain: Satkar Gidda (Vorsitzender der Jury) war – gemeinsam mit Susanne Lippitsch – zuständig für das Design und Marketing, Stan Akkermans (Mars) und Wilfried Duivenvoorden (Unilever) für die Marken, Lotte Krekels (Carrefour) brachte die Perspektiven des Handels ein, und Peter Klein Sprokkelhorst wies als Berater der Jury auf die technischen Feinheiten der eingereichten Konzepte hin.

Jury-Vorsitzender Satkar Gidda: „Eine derart erweiterte Sichtweise mit zwei Mitgliedern von Kundenseite war ein echter Gewinn für die Diskussion, die zusätzlich durch die Qualität der Einreichungen angeregt wurde. In vielen Kategorien fiel in der Jury oft die Bemerkung ‚zuvor noch nie gesehen‘. Viele Verpackungen forderten zur Interaktion heraus. Einige der strukturellen Designs waren wirklich fantastisch. Dabei muss ‚Wow‘-Design nicht unbedingt kompliziert sein. Wenn ein hervorragendes Konzept mit den Anforderungen von Produktion, Distribution, Handel und vor allem der Konsumenten harmoniert, entsteht etwas wirklich Kraftvolles.“

“And the Winners are“:

PRO CARTON ECMA AWARD
CARTON OF THE YEAR
Natürlicher Luxus: ambuja

SUSTAINABILITY
Macht Appetit: Fazer Alku new mill products

MOST INNOVATIVE DESIGN
Neues Denken: Free-range eggs García Puente

BEAUTY & COSMETICS
Runde Sache: Müller Soft Star Tissue

BEVERAGES
Familienanschluss: YO Syrup Carton Sleeve

CONFECTIONERY
Für besondere Stunden: Kägi Classic Minis

HEALTHCARE & PHARMACEUTICALS
Innere Werte: Multipack for Clinical Trials

FOOD
Auffallende Eleganz: Boffard Intenso

NON-FOOD
Lebenskunst: Davidoff Black GlideTec (for Armenia)

VOLUME MARKET
Perfekte Verbindung: Hybric Tray – Auchan salads

Alle Partner in der Packaging Supply Chain – Designer, Markeninhaber, Handel sowie Karton- und Faltschachtelindustrie – sind herzlich eingeladen, auch im kommenden Jahr (wieder) beim Award einzureichen. Wie immer beginnt die Einreichung Ende Februar, Einreichschluss wird der 26. Mai 2016 sein.

Ausführliche Informationen mit Case Studys zu den Siegern und Fotos in Druckqualität auf www.procarton.com.
Gedruckte Broschüren in englischer Sprache sind erhältlich bei Pro Carton über Suzanne E. McEwen, mcewen@procarton.com

Kommentieren

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Pro Carton members, patrons, partners

Barcelona Carton
Pankaboard
WestRock
RenoDeMedici
Storaenso
WEIG-Karton
Metsä Board
Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Mel
Kartonsan
International Paper
Iggesund
Fiskeby
Buchmann Karton
Billerudkorsnas
Kotkamills
International Packaging Group
BOBST
Heidelberg
Sappi
ECMA

2015-09-11

Pro Carton ECMA Award:
here are the winners!

Leave a Comment

More than one hundred entries, including many fantastic innovations, delighted the jury of the Pro Carton ECMA Award this year. The focus was on the unique sustainability of cartonboard: numerous innovative concepts were devoted to cartonboard as a replacement for other materials in order to find more sustainable packaging solutions for the future.

The festive Award Gala on 10th September 2015 was the eagerly awaited highlight of the ECMA Congress in Bucharest. The Coronation Hall of the former Royal Palace, today’s National Museum, provided an elegant backdrop. The evening was rounded off with Romanian folklore presentations.

The finalists were already announced in August. The Awards were presented in the seven categories together with the three main prizes: “Carton of the Year“, “Most Innovative“ and “Sustainability“. The certificates and trophies were presented by Roland Rex, President Pro Carton, Dr. Andreas Blaschke, President ECMA, and Satkar Gidda, Chairman of the Jury.

“Carton of the Year“ was awarded to the cosmetic packaging for “Ambuja“: few packaging solutions express the value of the contents so instantly – with exceptional elegance in terms of colour design as well as perfect choreography between opening and closing. An audible click when closing underlines the unique feeling of holding a valuable product in your hands.

The “Most Innovative“ Award went to a novel egg pack; ” García Puente free-range eggs “. This demonstrated completely new thinking for a classical product. The carton is original and creative and yet combines all the advantages of classical packaging. Safety and simplicity dictated the design. For the client it was love at first sight.

This time, maximum sustainability went to “Fazer Alku new mill products“, which won the Sustainability Award. This entirely new solution in this product segment demonstrates decisive progress: goodbye to the irritating plastic bag inside the pack, which had a negative impact both on convenience and the value perception of the product. The resealability of the pack is a further wonderful solution.

As always, the jury represented all areas of the Packaging Supply Chain: Satkar Gidda (Chairman of the Jury) was responsible for design and marketing – together with Susanne Lippitsch, Stan Akkermans (Mars) and Wilfried Duivenvoorden (Unilever) representing the brands, Lotte Krekels (Carrefour) added input from a retailer’s perspective and Peter Klein Sprokkelhorst served as technical consultant to the jury, focussing on the technical refinements of the submitted packs.

Jury-Chairman Satkar Gidda: “Having two members representing the clients’ point of view proved a real bonus for the discussions, which were already quite intense owing to the quality of the entries. A frequent statement by the jury members was ‘never seen before’. Many of the packs provoked interaction. Some of the structural designs were really fantastic. What’s more, ‘Wow‘ design’ need not be complicated. If an excellent concept is in harmony with the requirements of production, distribution, retail and, in particular, the customer, then this leads to something truly powerful.”

“And the Winners are“:

PRO CARTON ECMA AWARD
CARTON OF THE YEAR
Natural luxury: ambuja

SUSTAINABILITY
Very appetising: Fazer Alku new mill products

MOST INNOVATIVE DESIGN
New thinking: Free-range eggs García Puente

BEAUTY & COSMETICS
A round affair: Müller Soft Star Tissue

BEVERAGES
The kiddy connections: YO Syrup Carton Sleeve

CONFECTIONERY
For those special moments: Kägi Classic Minis

HEALTHCARE & PHARMACEUTICALS
Inner values: Multipack for Clinical Trials

FOOD
Striking elegance: Boffard Intenso

NON-FOOD
The art of living: Davidoff Black GlideTec (for Armenia)

VOLUME MARKET
Perfect connection: Hybric Tray – Auchan salads

All partners in the Packaging Supply Chain – designers, brand owners, retailers as well as the cartonboard and carton industry – are cordially invited to participate with entries (again) in the coming year. As always, the date for submissions starts at the end of February and the deadline is 26th May 2016.

Detailed information with case studies on the winners and images in print quality are available at www.procarton.com
Printed brochures in English are available from Pro Carton via Suzanne E. McEwen, mcewen@procarton.com

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Pro Carton members, patrons, partners

Barcelona Carton
WestRock
RenoDeMedici
Storaenso
WEIG-Karton
Metsä Board
Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Mel
Kartonsan
International Paper
Iggesund
Fiskeby
CAREO, Reno de Medici and Cascades
Buchmann Karton
Billerudkorsnas
Kotkamills
BOBST
Heidelberg
Sappi
ECMA