Confectionery

Winner

Kägi Classic Minis

Official name of entry:
Kägi Classic Minis
Entrant: Other:
Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Sebastian Eckert
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Für besondere Stunden

Die ungewöhnliche Form dieser Verpackung für Schweizer Schokolade prädestiniert sie für besondere Anlässe. Einzigartig und auffallend, liefert die Faltschachtel sowohl im Geschäft wie auch beim Konsumenten zu Hause einen großen Auftritt.
Man erkennt intuitiv, dass es sich um ein Premium-Produkt handelt, das sich auch ideal als Geschenk eignet. Der Premium-Appeal wurde ohne Folienveredelung erreicht, die Verpackung besteht zu 100 Prozent aus Karton und ist daher besonders nachhaltig.
Der Karton-Polyeder ersetzt die flexible Außenverpackung und gibt ihr eine repräsentative Form.
Ein Klebeband reicht von der oberen Klappe über die Kante bis zum Boden und garantiert die Echtheit des Produkts. Die kleinen Schokoriegel können sehr einfach entnommen werden – Öffnen, Herausnehmen und Wiederverschließen funktionieren perfekt.

Jury comments

Die Jury fand die Verpackung von Kägi herausragend und unverwechselbar für den Süßwarenbereich. Form und Konstruktion des Polyeders sind sehr ansprechend für das Auge, zweifellos auch im Regal, sogar wenn die Faltschachtel gestapelt wird: Sie hat viele Seiten, um die Markenbotschaft klar zu transportieren. Die Oberseite lässt sich leicht öffnen und schließen und bietet guten Zugang zum Produkt. Die Box eignet sich gut für eine weitere Verwendung.

Finalists

Cadbury Heroes & Roses

Official name of entry: Cadbury Heroes & Roses
Entrant: Other: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging UK
Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging UK
Brand Owner: Mondelez
Structural Designer: Tim Bourne, Jon Simms/Mayr-Melnhof Packaging UK
Graphic Designer: Cadbury Heroes: SGS graphic design | Cadbury Roses: Design Bridge graphic design
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Tradition und Moderne
Am Anfang stand die Idee, eine ikonische Markenverpackung, die auf das Jahr 1938 zurückgeht, neu zu gestalten und dabei ihre wichtigsten Merkmale zu erhalten – auch die ausschließliche Verwendung von Karton. Zugleich sollten Herstellung und Befüllung der Verpackung effizienter und kostengünstiger werden. Durch die gekrümmte und sich verjüngende Form erscheint das Material Karton hier in neuem Licht und fällt auch im Regal auf.

Gems Play Pack

Official name of entry: Gems Play Pack
Entrant: Carton Producer: Parksons Packaging
Brand Owner: Mondelez India Foods
Structural Designer: Parksons Packaging
Graphic Designer: Ogilvy India
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Outer Sleeve: JK Paper | Inner Packs: N R Agarwal Industries
Karton spielerisch
Bei dieser Verpackung wurde Kunststoff durch Karton ersetzt, wobei der spielerische Charakter der Marke und ihrer Verpackungen erhalten bleibt: Die Faltschachtel wird selbst zum Spielzeug, verschiedene Öffnungsmöglichkeiten bieten überraschende Zugänge zu den Produkten. Das Design wurde für eine maschinelle Produktion optimiert, Aufrichtung und Befüllung erfolgen mit minimalem Aufwand von Hand. Der Markt reagierte sehr positiv, erste YouTube-Videos sind bereits online.

Hofbauer & Schlumberger Collection

Official name of entry: Hofbauer & Schlumberger Collection
Entrant: Other: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging International
Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Brand Owner: Lindt & Sprüngli Austria
Structural Designer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Graphic Designer: Lindt & Sprüngli Austria
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Genussvolle Verbindung
Die einzigartige Kombi-Verpackung verbindet zwei Produkte, die perfekt zusammenpassen. Durch die besondere Form einer Handtasche vermittelt die Faltschachtel auf charmante Weise praktischen Genuss höchster Qualität. Dank der speziellen Ausstanzung werden beide Produkte optimal präsentiert und durch die integrierte Einlage unsichtbar gesichert. Die Verpackung besteht aus einem einzigen Stück Karton ohne Verklebung und ist entsprechend nachhaltig.

Confectionery

Winner

Kägi Classic Minis

Official name of entry:
Kägi Classic Minis
Entrant: Other:
Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Sebastian Eckert
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
For Those Special Moments

The unusual shape of this packaging for Swiss chocolate is predestined for special occasions. Unique and eye-catching, the carton assures a grand appearance both in the shops as well as in consumers’ homes.
Intuitively it is quite obvious that this is a premium product and makes the perfect gift. The premium appeal was achieved without foil finishing; the packaging is 100 per cent cartonboard and offers good sustainability.
The carton polyhedron replaces the flexible outer packaging and lends it a representative shape.
An adhesive tape reaches from the top flap over the edge to the base and ensures the integrity of the product. The small chocolate bars are easy to take out. Open, remove and close – works perfectly.

Jury comments

The jury considered the Kagi confectionery pack to be very distinctive for the confectionery sector. The Polyhedron shape and construction was very appealing to the eye and no doubt would be on shelf, even when stacked as it has several faces to carry branding. The opening and closing top face allowed easy access to the product and the box itself was perfect for after use.

Finalists

Cadbury Heroes & Roses

Official name of entry: Cadbury Heroes & Roses
Entrant: Other: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging UK
Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging UK
Brand Owner: Mondelez
Structural Designer: Tim Bourne, Jon Simms/Mayr-Melnhof Packaging UK
Graphic Designer: Cadbury Heroes: SGS graphic design | Cadbury Roses: Design Bridge graphic design
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Tradition and Modernity
The idea was to redesign an iconic brand pack dating back to 1938 whilst retaining its most important characteristics – in combination with the exclusive use of cartonboard. At the same time, manufacturing and filling were to be made more efficient and cost-effective. The curved and tapered shape shows cartonboard in a new light as a material and is also conspicuous on the shelf.

Gems Play Pack

Official name of entry: Gems Play Pack
Entrant: Carton Producer: Parksons Packaging
Brand Owner: Mondelez India Foods
Structural Designer: Parksons Packaging
Graphic Designer: Ogilvy India
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Outer Sleeve: JK Paper | Inner Packs: N R Agarwal Industries
Playful Carton
In this packaging, cartonboard replaced plastic, while the playful character of the brand and its packaging was retained. The carton becomes a toy in its own right; numerous ways of opening provide surprising access to the products. The design was optimised for automated production; erection and filling require minimum manual handling. The market response has been very positive and the first YouTube videos are already online.

Hofbauer & Schlumberger Collection

Official name of entry: Hofbauer & Schlumberger Collection
Entrant: Other: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging International
Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Brand Owner: Lindt & Sprüngli Austria
Structural Designer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Graphic Designer: Lindt & Sprüngli Austria
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Delightful Combination
The unique duo-pack combines two products which perfectly complement each other. The special handbag shape of the carton conveys a charming display of practicality and delight at highest quality. The special cut-out allows ideal presentation of both products; they are secured invisibly by an integrated insert. The pack consists of a single piece of cartonboard without the use of adhesive making for corresponding sustainability.