Food

Winner

Boffard Intenso

Official name of entry:
Boffard Intenso
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Auffallende Eleganz

Die elegante Verpackung verweist in ihrer auffallenden dreieckigen Form auf den Inhalt, die klare und einfache grafische Gestaltung konzentriert sich auf sanftes Weiß: Eine solche Lösung lässt sich mit Karton am besten verwirklichen. Die ungewöhnliche und wiederverschließbare Verpackung fällt gerade durch ihre edle Zurückhaltung im Kühlregal besonders auf. Der Konsument erkennt intuitiv, worum es geht, ein halbrundes Fenster erlaubt zudem einen Blick auf den Inhalt.
Das minimalistische Design vermittelt den Premium-Charakter des Produkts, signalisiert Frische und natürliche Einfachheit ohne irgendwelche Zusätze. Die Qualität von Druck und Finishing spiegelt die hohe Wertanmutung des Produkts wider. Die dreieckige Form braucht wenig Platz und ist ideal für Lagerung und Transport. Auch technisch ist die Faltschachtel perfekt: materialsparend, leicht aufzurichten und einfach zu befüllen.

Jury comments

Käse wird nicht selten in Kartonmanschetten geliefert, doch keiner der Juroren hatte bisher eine Dreiecksschnitte Käse in einer Kartonverpackung in Form des Käsestücks gesehen. Die Faltschachtel ist sehr intelligent konstruiert – sie passt sich den Flächen des Käses an – und sie harmoniert mit der grafischen Gestaltung. All das signalisiert ein exklusives Premium-Produkt, das sich im Regal abhebt und den Blick anzieht.

Finalists

Apetit Ruoka

Official name of entry: Apetit Ruoka
Entrant: Other: AR Packaging Group
Carton Producer: AR Carton Oy
Brand Owner: Apetit Pakaste Oy
Structural Designer: Susanna Sotka
Graphic Designer: Apetit Pakaste Oy
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso | Walki
Leichter Genuss
Diese Faltschachtel für Suppenwürfel ist einzigartig im Handling: Sie lässt sich mithilfe eines durch Pfeile gekennzeichneten Aufrissstreifens mit einer einzigen Handbewegung öffnen. Auch das maschinelle Aufrichten und Befüllen ist sehr einfach. Die Faltschachtel hat sich hier als exzellente und kostengünstige Lösung erwiesen. Der Karton ist eine sehr sichere Lösung für den direkten Kontakt mit tiefgekühlten Lebensmitteln. Die grafische Gestaltung vermittelt effektvolle Marketingimpulse.

Fazer Alku new mill products

Official name of entry: Fazer Alku new mill products
Entrant: Other: AR Packaging Group
Carton Producer: AR Carton Oy
Brand Owner: Fazer Mill & Mixes
Structural Designer: Kaisa Pietilä/AR Carton Oy
Graphic Designer: Dragon Rouge | SEK & Grey
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Macht Appetit
Mit einer vollkommen neuen Lösung für das Produktsegment bringt diese Verpackung einen entscheidenen Fortschritt in der Nachhaltigkeit: Im Inneren gibt es keinen lästigen Kunststoffbeutel mehr, der die Convenience ebenso beeinträchtigt wie die Wertanmutung des Produkts. Wunderbar gelöst ist darüber hinaus die Wiederverschließbarkeit – ein einfacher Druck auf die Ecke, und die Faltschachtel ist zu. Auch sonst macht die Faltschachtel in vielfacher Hinsicht Appetit auf den Inhalt.
Jury comments

Faltschachteln müssen nicht kompliziert sein, um Vorteile für die Konsumenten zu haben. Einfachheit ist oft eine der besten Eigenschaften, und diese Müsliverpackung der Marke Fazer hat genau damit punkten. Die Jury war beeindruckt von den Vorteilen dieser reinen Kartonverpackung: einfaches Öffnen und Schließen, kein Innenbeutel, keine Beschichtung, ein Seitenfenster, durch das man den Füllstand erkennen kann. Fazit: Maximale Produktkommunikation, für die praktisch kein Material außer Karton benötigt wird.

Free-range eggs García Puente

Official name of entry: Free-range eggs García Puente
Entrant: Carton Producer: Alzamora Packaging
Brand Owner: García Puente
Structural Designer: Alzamora Packaging
Graphic Designer: Pampa Design
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Neues Denken
Ein klassisches Produkt wird neu gedacht: Diese Faltschachtel berührt am Point of Sale durch ihre ungewöhnliche Gestalt: Sie ist originell und kreativ und vereint doch alle Vorteile einer klassischen Verpackung. Sicherheit und Einfachheit waren oberste Maxime beim Design. Für den Kunden war es Liebe auf den ersten Blick. Die Verpackung bietet hohe Convenience in der Verwendung, sie ist leicht zu greifen und zu tragen, sie kann direkt in den Kühlschrank gelegt und perfekt gestapelt werden.
Jury comments

„Nie zuvor gesehen“ war ein Thema, das bei mehreren Einreichungen aufkam – diese Eierverpackung war eine davon. Die Jury war beeindruckt, wie viele Ideen in diese Verpackung geflossen waren. Die Art, wie die Eier durch die Konstruktion fixiert werden, viel Platz für markengerechte Gestaltung, die Tatsache, dass man die Eier sehen kann, ohne die Schachtel zu öffnen – all das führt zu einer erstklassigen und einzigartigen Präsentation für ein alltägliches Produkt.

Knorr Main Course

Official name of entry: Knorr Main Course
Entrant: Other: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging International
Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Russia
Brand Owner: Unilever Rus
Structural Designer: Anna Ilyashenko/Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Russia
Graphic Designer: Unilever Rus
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Große Wirkung
Die grafische Gestaltung ist perfekt und appetitanregend: Die Tasse ist durch das Fenster sichtbar, die Zutaten scheinen über den Rand hinauszuragen. Hinter der perfekten Positionierung am Point of Sale steht auch eine technische Glanzleistung: Ein innovatives Klebeverfahren ermöglicht rasches und leichtes Aufrichten und Befüllen über die Bodenklappe, was äußerst kostengünstig ist.

Spar Vital Knabberfrüchte

Official name of entry: Spar Vital Knabberfrüchte
Entrant: Other: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging International
Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Brand Owner: snax
Structural Designer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Graphic Designer: snax
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Schlank und gesund
Die Leichtigkeit des Produkts wird hier in Form gebracht. Die Faltschachtel mit schlanker Taille und Fensterausstanzung auf der Frontseite vermittelt: Wer das knabbert, muss nichts bereuen. Die Faltschachtel kann auf der Oberseite bequem geöffnet werden. Der Wunsch nach einer umweltfreundlicheren Verpackung ohne zusätzliche Verklebung wurde mit dieser Lösung aus Karton umgesetzt. Die ursprüngliche Kunststoffverpackung wurde ersetzt, die Form blieb erhalten.

Food

Winner

Boffard Intenso

Official name of entry:
Boffard Intenso
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Striking Elegance

The elegant packaging and its striking triangular shape attract attention to the contents, while its clear and succinct graphic design focus on soft whiteness: this type of solution can best be realised using cartonboard. The elegant understatement of this unusual and resealable packaging make it particularly noticeable in the refrigerated section. The consumer immediately recognises the product message and a semi-round window allows viewing of the contents.
The minimalistic design conveys the product’s premium character, as well as signalling freshness and natural simplicity without any additives. The quality of print and finishing reflect the high value of the product. The triangular shape requires little space and is ideal for storage and shipping. From a technical point of view, the carton is also perfect: material-saving, easy to erect and easy to fill.

Jury comments

Whilst cheese is available in carton sleeves none of the judges had seen a wedge of cheese contained within a carton pack, quite like this and in a shape that echoed the cheese wedge. It is the intelligent way in which the carton was constructed, wrapping all around the facets of the cheese, working in harmony with the graphics, projecting a premium, upmarket product that would be very distinguishable and eye catching on shelf.

Finalists

Apetit Ruoka

Official name of entry: Apetit Ruoka
Entrant: Other: AR Packaging Group
Carton Producer: AR Carton Oy
Brand Owner: Apetit Pakaste Oy
Structural Designer: Susanna Sotka
Graphic Designer: Apetit Pakaste Oy
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso | Walki
Life Made Easy
This carton for stock cubes is unique in terms of handling. It can be opened in a single movement using the tear-off strip marked by arrows. Automated erection and filling are also easy. The carton has proved to be an excellent and cost-effective solution. Cartonboard is an extremely safe solution for direct contact with frozen foods. The graphic design effectively conveys marketing stimuli.

Fazer Alku new mill products

Official name of entry: Fazer Alku new mill products
Entrant: Other: AR Packaging Group
Carton Producer: AR Carton Oy
Brand Owner: Fazer Mill & Mixes
Structural Designer: Kaisa Pietilä/AR Carton Oy
Graphic Designer: Dragon Rouge | SEK & Grey
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Very Appetising
With a completely new solution for the product segment, this pack offers a decisive advance in terms of sustainability: no more annoying inner plastic bags which negatively affect the product’s convenience as well as its value appeal. Resealability has also been beautifully solved; simply press the corner and the pack is sealed. A number of other facets also make the contents very appetising.
Jury comments

Cartons don’t need to be complex to offer consumer benefit. Simplicity is often one of the best qualities and this cereal pack for the brand Fazer, is just that. The judges were impressed with the consumer benefits of this carton only pack such as easy open/easy close, no inner bag or lining and a window on the side to show how much cereal was left. Total product communication practically without the need for non-carton material.

Free-range eggs García Puente

Official name of entry: Free-range eggs García Puente
Entrant: Carton Producer: Alzamora Packaging
Brand Owner: García Puente
Structural Designer: Alzamora Packaging
Graphic Designer: Pampa Design
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
New Thinking
A classical product is re-engineered: this carton stands out at the Point of Sale through its unusual design: it is original and creative and yet combines all the advantages of a classical pack. Safety and simplicity were top of mind during design. For the customer it was love at first sight. The pack offers high convenience in use, is easy to hold and carry, can be placed directly into the refrigerator and stacked perfectly.
Jury comments

‘Not seen before’ seemed to be a theme running through several entries and this egg pack was one of them. The judges were impressed by the thinking that went into this pack. The way the eggs were held in place by the construction, the space available for branding, the fact that the eggs could be seen without opening the pack, all leading to a premium and unique presentation of what is essentially a commodity product.

Knorr Main Course

Official name of entry: Knorr Main Course
Entrant: Other: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging International
Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Russia
Brand Owner: Unilever Rus
Structural Designer: Anna Ilyashenko/Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Russia
Graphic Designer: Unilever Rus
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Big Impact
The graphic design is perfect and extremely appetising: the cup is visible through the window; the ingredients appear to flow across the edges. The perfect positioning at the Point of Sale is complemented by a technical masterpiece: an innovative bonding method allows fast and easy erection and filling via the base flap, making it extremely cost-effective.

Spar Vital Knabberfrüchte

Official name of entry: Spar Vital Knabberfrüchte
Entrant: Other: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging International
Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Brand Owner: snax
Structural Designer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Graphic Designer: snax
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Slim and Healthy
The lightness of the product is reflected by its shape. The carton and its narrow profile with window cut-out on the front communicate: enjoy a nibble with no regrets. The top of the carton is convenient to open. The requirement for an environment-friendly pack without additional adhesive was achieved with this solution made of cartonboard. The original plastic packaging was substituted, while the shape remained the same.