2020-10-15

Preisträger des European Carton Excellence Award

Selbst unter den aktuell erschwerten Umständen waren sowohl Anzahl als auch Qualität der Einreichungen für den European Carton Excellence Award erneut sehr hoch.

Im Rahmen des 2020 Carton E-vent & Awards mit der Preisverleihung wurden alle Teilnehmer auf der Shortlist in Zoom-Räumen miteinander verbunden und das Publikum konnte die spontane Reaktion der Preisträger sehen.

Dazu der Jury-Vorsitzende Satkar Gidda: “Wie es inzwischen die Norm ist, überschreiten Faltschachteln immer wieder ihre Grenzen, und die Qualität der Beiträge war hervorragend, gut durchdacht und sehr stark an die Bedürfnisse der Verbraucher angepasst. In diesem Jahr gab es eine Zunahme der pharmazeutischen Beiträge und noch mehr Beiträge für die Kategorie ‘Save the Planet’. Wir hatten damit gerechnet, denn vor allem letztere Kategorie entspricht ganz klar dem Trend der Zukunft.”

Die Juroren der European Carton Excellence Awards 2020 wählten die Van Genechten Packaging-Kreation Roku Gin zum Carton of the Year. Die Roku Gin Verpackung wurde aus Karton von Stora Enso gefertigt und gewann die Auszeichnung als „Carton of the Year“ für ihr ästhetisches Design mit tollem Aufdruck, für die Qualität der Verarbeitung und die Art, wie sie erfolgreich die Hintergrundgeschichte des Produkts vermittelt. Die sechs Ecken der Geschenkverpackung symbolisieren die sechs japanischen Pflanzenextrakte, die für die Herstellung von Roku verwendet werden – ein Begriff, der im Japanischen „Sechs“ bedeutet –, während die Prägung und der Blumendruck die traditionelle japanische Höflichkeit zum Ausdruck bringen. Die Verpackung garantiert sowohl ausgezeichnete Sichtbarkeit als auch Schutz für das Produkt, während sie den Verbraucher gleichzeitig informiert und zum Kaufen verlockt.

ecea winners

Carton of the Year: Roku Gin

Der Innovation-Award ging an Snel BVs Re-Fruiter Tray aus Karton von Smurfit Kappa Hoya Papier und Karton. Diese clevere Verpackung besteht aus einer gitterartigen Schale, die ein gestanztes Profil mit einem Muster aus abgewinkelten Elementen aufweist, die zu einer flexiblen Oberfläche zusammengefügt sind. Die recycelbare Verpackung schützt Beerenfrüchte während des Transports und macht Plastikschalen und Luftpolsterfolie überflüssig.

ecea winners

Gewinner der Innovation-Kategorie: Re-Fruiter Tray

Die Jury einigte sich auf die Seda International Packaging Group-Kreation Eco Fit Lid als würdigen Save the Planet-Gewinner. Der Deckel aus Karton nutzt Stora Ensos neue Kartonfertigungstechnologie, eignet sich perfekt für heiße und kalte Getränke und gewährleistet sicheren Trinkgenuss. Das Produkt ist vollständig recycelbar und kompostierbar, und damit die ultimative nachhaltige Alternative zu den Plastikdeckeln, die üblicherweise beim Fast-Food-Verkauf verwendet werden.

ecea winners

Gewinner der „Save the Planet“-Kategorie: Eco Fit Lid

Die Gewinner der einzelnen Kategorien waren:

Lebensmittel und Getränke – Frischfaser

Cadpack gewann die Kategorie „Lebensmittel und Getränke – Frischfaser“ mit seiner Korpikuusikkon Honey Geschenkverpackung aus Metsä Board Materialien. Die Luxusverpackung bereichert das Kundenerlebnis durch ihre haptische Oberfläche und durch Aufdruck-Effekte, die Verbraucher zum Anfassen und Fühlen einladen.

ecea winners

Der Gewinner der Kategorie „Lebensmittel und Getränke – Frischfaser“: Korpikuusikkon Honey Geschenkverpackung

Lebensmittel und Getränke – Recyclingfaser

Alzamora Carton Packaging gewann die Kategorie „Lebensmittel und Getränke – Recyclingfaser“ mit seinem Enovo Verpackung aus Karton von Baden Board. Diese klare Verpackung besteht aus einem Boden und einem Deckel aus Zellulose und kommt mit minimalem Materialeinsatz aus, wirkt optisch aber dennoch sehr hochwertig. Sie bietet eine nachhaltige Alternative zu den gängigen Plastikverpackungen für Eier, da sie aus recycelten Fasern gefertigt und sowohl recycelbar als auch biologisch abbaubar ist.

ecea winners

Der Gewinner der Kategorie „Lebensmittel und Getränke – Recyclingfaser“: Enovo Eierkarton

Allgemeine Verpackung – Frischfaser

Edelmanns und Stora Ensos ISANA Cosmetics gewann die Kategorie „Allgemeine Verpackung – Frischfaser“ aufgrund ihres Struktur-Designs und ihrer anspruchsvollen Verarbeitung. Die ansprechenden Grafiken und Prägungen werden vervollständigt durch einen aufwändigen oberen Verschluss, der dieser Verpackung einen äußerst auffälligen und luxuriösen Touch verleiht und den Inhalt im Inneren widerspiegeln soll.

ecea winners

Der Gewinner der Kategorie „Allgemeine Verpackung, Frischfaser: ISANA Cosmetics

Allgemeine Verpackung – Recyclingfaser

Die Einweg-Gesichtsmaske von WEIG Packaging und Moritz J. Weig beeindruckte die Juroren der Kategorie „Allgemeine Verpackung – Recyclingfaser“. Der Einweg-Mund-Nasen-Schutz verwendet Kartonmaterial zur Erfüllung einer wichtigen Funktion während der Pandemie, da er über einen Filterpapier-Einsatz verfügt, der das Risiko einer Virusübertragung verringert. Die Größe lässt sich leicht anpassen und ist vollkommen kunststofffrei.

ecea winners

Der Gewinner der Kategorie „Allgemeine Verpackung – Recyclingfaser“: Einweg-Gesichtsmaske

Public Award

Zuletzt wurde die Graphic Packaging International-Kreation KeelClip™ als würdiger Gewinner des „Public Award“-Publikumspreises ausgezeichnet. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine nachhaltige Verpackung aus Karton für Multipack-Dosen, die dazu gedacht ist, die traditionellen Kunststoffringe zu ersetzen, die für die Natur schädlich sind. Über diesen Nutzen für die Umwelt hinaus bietet KeelClip™ auch eine ausgezeichnete Handhabung und praktische Aufbewahrungsoptionen.

ecea winners

Public Award: KeelClip™

„Platin“- und „Gold“-Awards gingen an folgende Designs, die von der Jury als außerordentlich und besonders anerkennenswert befunden wurden:

Platin-Sieger

  • Advent Calendar House, Autajon Packaging Belgium, Cartonboard Manufacturer: International Paper
  • Party Délice, Remmert Dekker Packaging, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
  • Diadermine Peeling Mousse, Mayr-Melnhof Packaging International, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund Holmen Group
  • KeelClip™, Graphic Packaging International, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Graphic Packaging International
  • Liqui Moly Klima ReFresh, Edelmann Group, Cartonboard Manufacturer: BillerudKorsnäs
  • Rapibloc, Rattpack & Co, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board

Gold-Sieger

  • Bauerfeind Socks Sleeve, Karl Knauer, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Sappi
  • Chtulhu, Posson, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Arjo Wiggins & RDM
  • Hennessy Classivm, Artigrafiche Reggiane e LAI, Cartonboard Manufacturers: Metsä Board | Stora Enso
  • Face Mask Aid, Siemer Verpackung, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Smurfit Kappa Hoya
  • Fiber Shield, PAWI Packaging, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
  • IBSA Profhilo Syringe Pack, IGB, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
  • Lemoine Cotton Buds, Posson, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
  • UCB Clinical Vials Pack, Rondo, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board

Tony Hitchin, General Manager von Pro Carton: „Es freut uns sehr, dass die Disruption durch die globale Pandemie die Qualität der diesjährigen Beiträge für die European Carton Excellence Awards nicht beeinträchtigt hat. Anzahl und Qualität der eingereichten Beiträge war einfach phänomenal und brachte die Vielseitigkeit von Karton als Verpackungsmaterial wirklich zur Geltung.

Kartonverpackungen bedeuten für uns alle eine Chance; Karton ist die beste Lösung im Verpackungssektor, da er erneuerbar, recyclingfähig und biologisch abbaubar ist und damit eine tragende Säule in einer modernen Kreislaufwirtschaft bilden kann. Kartonverpackungen bestechen nicht nur durch ihre Nachhaltigkeit, sondern auch durch ihr Potenzial als Kommunikationsmittel. Die Awards zeigen, wie erfolgreich Kartonverpackungen Marken schützen und fördern und gleichzeitig die Umwelt schonen.“


Pro Carton members, patrons, partners

Kotkamills
Pankaboard
Smurfit Kappa
Baden Board GmbH
Graphic Packaging International
WestRock
RenoDeMedici
Storaenso
WEIG-Karton
Metsä Board
Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Mel
Kartonsan
International Paper
Iggesund
Fiskeby
Billerudkorsnas
International Packaging Group
BOBST
Heidelberg
Sappi
ECMA

2020-10-15

European Carton Excellence Award Winners

Even in these difficult circumstances, the number and quality of entries for the European Carton Excellence Award was again very high.  

As part of the 2020 Carton E-vent and Awards, all the shortlisted contestants were connected together in Zoom rooms and the audience was able to see the instant reaction of the award winners.

Jury chairman Satkar Gidda said: “As has become the norm, cartons continue to push the boundaries and the quality of entries was excellent, well considered and very much connected with consumer needs. There was an increase this year in the number of pharmaceutical entries and even more entries for the ‘Save the Planet’ category. We fully expected to see an increase in the latter category as this is clearly the trend going forward.”

The judges of the European Carton Excellence Awards 2020 crowned Van Genechten Packaging’s Roku Gin as the Carton of the Year.

Roku Gin’s packaging was created using cartonboard from Stora Enso and was chosen as Carton of the Year for its aesthetic beauty, print and finishing quality and for the way it successfully conveys the product’s story. The gift box has six corners which symbolise the six Japanese botanicals used in Roku – which itself means six in Japanese – whilst the embossing and floral print express Japanese courtesy. The packaging provides excellent visibility and protection of the product, while educating and enticing the consumer.

ecea winners

Carton of the Year: Roku Gin

The Innovation Award went to Snel BV’s Re-Fruiter Tray with cartonboard from Smurfit Kappa Hoya Papier und Karton. This clever pack features a grid-like tray which has a die-cut profile with a pattern of angled elements that are joined together to form a flexible surface. The integral feet keep the pack clear of the surface.  This fully recyclable packaging protects soft fruits during transportation, removing the need for plastic trays and bubble wrap.

ecea winners

Innovation winner: Re-Fruiter Tray

The jury concluded that Seda International Packaging Group’s Eco Fit Lid was a worthy Save the Planet winner. The cartonboard lid, combined Stora Enso’s cartonboard technology with Seda’s converting innovation and is perfect for both hot and cold beverages and provides a safe drinking experience. It is fully recyclable and compostable, making it the ultimate sustainable solution to the plastic lids often used by fast food outlets.

ecea winners

Save the Planer winner: Eco Fit Lid

The category winners were:

Food & Drink – Virgin Fibre

Cadpack won the Food & Drink Virgin Fibre category with its Korpikuusikkon Honey gift pack made from Metsä Board material. The luxurious pack has a tactile surface and print effects that enhances the customer experience by inviting consumers to touch and feel.

ecea winners

Food & Drink, virgin fibre winner: Korpikuusikkon Honey gift pack

Food & Drink – Recycled Fibre

Alzamora Carton Packaging won the Food & Drink Recycled Fibre category for its Enovo Egg Carton made with material manufactured by Baden Board. This pack is made up of a cellulose base and a cartonboard lid, which uses a minimal amount of material, but still retains a premium look. It provides a sustainable alternative to the plastic egg packaging available, as it is made from recycled fibres and is both recyclable and biodegradable.

ecea winners

Food & Drink, recycled fibre winner: Enovo Egg Carton

General Packaging – Virgin Fibre

Edelmann and Stora Enso’s ISANA Cosmetics won the General Packaging Virgin Fibre category for its structural design and sophisticated finish. The attractive graphics and embossing are completed with an elaborate top closure which give an extremely eye-catching and luxurious touch that reflect the goods inside.

ecea winners

General packaging, virgin fibre winner: ISANA Cosmetics

General Packaging – Recycled Fibre

The Disposable Face Mask from WEIG Packaging and Moritz J. Weig impressed the judges in the General Packaging Recycled Fibre category. The disposable mouth-nose-cover uses cartonboard to address one of the needs in the pandemic and has a filter paper insert that reduces the risk of viral transmission.  The size can easily be adjusted to suit all head shapes and it’s entirely plastic free.

ecea winners

General packaging, recycled fibre winner: Disposable Face Mask

Public Award

Graphic Packaging International’s KeelClip™ was voted the worthy winner of the Public Award. It is a sustainable paperboard packaging solution for multipack cans and is designed to replace the traditional plastic rings that can be harmful to wildlife. KeelClip™’s benefits go beyond its environmental advantages as it also provides can orientation, for maximum impact at point-of-sale, and excellent handling features.

ecea winners

Public Award: KeelClip™

In addition, six Platinum and eight Gold Awards were given to designs that the judges thought were particularly outstanding and deserved special recognition.

Platinum Winners

  • Advent Calendar House, Autajon Packaging Belgium, Cartonboard Manufacturer: International Paper
  • Party Délice, Remmert Dekker Packaging, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
  • Diadermine Peeling Mousse, Mayr-Melnhof Packaging International, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund Holmen Group
  • KeelClip™, Graphic Packaging International, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Graphic Packaging International
  • Liqui Moly Klima ReFresh, Edelmann Group, Cartonboard Manufacturer: BillerudKorsnäs
  • Rapibloc, Rattpack & Co, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board

Gold Winners

  • Bauerfeind Socks Sleeve, Karl Knauer, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Sappi
  • Chtulhu, Posson, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Arjo Wiggins & RDM
  • Hennessy Classivm, Artigrafiche Reggiane e LAI, Cartonboard Manufacturers: Metsä Board | Stora Enso
  • Face Mask Aid, Siemer Verpackung, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Smurfit Kappa Hoya
  • Fiber Shield, PAWI Packaging, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
  • IBSA Profhilo Syringe Pack, IGB, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
  • Lemoine Cotton Buds, Posson, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
  • UCB Clinical Vials Pack, Rondo, Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board

Tony Hitchin, General Manager of Pro Carton concluded: “We are delighted that the disruption brought about by the global pandemic has not impacted this year’s standard of entries. The number and quality of submissions was phenomenal and highlighted the versatile nature of cartonboard.

“Cartonboard is an opportunity for us all; it’s the best solution in the packaging sector as it is renewable, recyclable and biodegradable and thus a pillar of a modern circular economy. Cartons are not only superior in terms of sustainability, but also in terms communication.  The Awards demonstrate just how well cartons protect and promote brands as well as looking after the environment.”


Pro Carton members, patrons, partners

Pankaboard
Smurfit Kappa
Kotkamills
Baden Board GmbH
Graphic Packaging International
WestRock
RenoDeMedici
Storaenso
WEIG-Karton
Metsä
Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Mel
Kartonsan
International Paper
Iggesund
Fiskeby
Billerudkorsnas
International Packaging Group
BOBST
Heidelberg
Sappi
ECMA