2016-09-16

Pro Carton ECMA Award 2016: die Sieger

Der 20. Pro Carton ECMA Award brachte wieder einen neuen Rekord: mehr Teilnehmer, aus mehr Ländern mit noch mehr Einreichungen. Am 15. September 2016 wurden die Preise im festlichen Rahmen des ECMA-Kongresses in Cannes verliehen – vor zahlreichen Führungspersönlichkeiten der europäischen Karton- und Faltschachtelindustrie.

Moderator Tony Hitchin führte durch eine fulminante Show vor der hinreißenden Kulisse des Palm Beach Casino in Cannes. Deutlich wurde: Die Bedeutung der Verpackung als Marketinginstrument wächst stetig, und Nachhaltigkeit wird immer mehr ein Teil der Markenidentität. Und Faltschachteln

  • werden smarter und entwickeln auch ein reichhaltiges Innenleben: mit Themen wie Verschluss-Sicherheit, Produktanordnung oder Präsentation.
  • bieten nachhaltigere Alternativen zu anderen Packmitteln – speziell zu den von Konsumenten ungeliebten Kunststoffverpackungen.
  • werden im Zeitalter von Multichannel zu einem bewusst eingesetzten Marketingtool und aktiven Verkaufsinstrument.
  • unterstreichen die Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte der Markenführung und werden zunehmend gezielt dafür eingesetzt.
  • sind ein „Augenschmaus“ am Point of Sale: nicht nur mit „lauten“ Farben, sondern vielmehr durch ihr strukturelles Design.

Die Finalist_innen waren bereits seit August bekannt. Unter ihnen wurden die Awards in sieben Kategorien sowie die drei Hauptpreise vergeben: „Carton of the Year“, „Most Innovative“ und „Sustainability“. Urkunden und Trophäen überreichten Roland Rex, Präsident Pro Carton, und Dr. Andreas Blaschke, Präsident ECMA.

„Carton of the Year“ wurde die E-Zigaretten-Verpackung „My. Von Erl“: Äußerst elegant erzeugt My.Von Erl einen Wow-Effekt beim Öffnen. Ohne irgendein anderes Material als Karton zu benutzen, hält die Verpackung alle Elemente und Extras zusammen. Die Kategorie „Sustainability“ gewann diesmal die „Beam-Box“ von Varta: Schön, nachhaltig, innovativ und praktisch zu benutzen – diese dreieckige Faltschachtel hat einfach alles, was eine gute Verpackung braucht. Den Award „Most Innovative“ holte sich die ebenso einfache wie pfiffige „Pago Fruit Juice: Honeydew-Mango Promotion“: Auf sehr kreative Art hält und präsentiert die Verpackung eine zusätzliche Flasche, entweder als Bonus oder um eine andere Geschmacksvariante einzuführen.

Die Juror_innen aus allen Bereichen der Supply Chain waren beeindruckt von den überraschenden und überzeugenden Ideen: Satkar Gidda (SiebertHead, Vorsitzender der Jury) war – gemeinsam mit Susanne Lippitsch (SL Design) – zuständig für Design und Marketing, Wilfried Duivenvoorden (Unilever) für die Marken. Lotte Krekels (Carrefour) brachte die Perspektiven des Handels ein, Peter Strahlendorf (Verlag „New Business“) sprach für Markt und Konsumenten. Peter Klein Sprokkelhorst wies als Berater der Jury auf die technischen Feinheiten der eingereichten Konzepte hin.

Neu in diesem Jahr ist die Präsenz bei den wichtigsten Social Media: Teilen Sie Fotos, Texte und Videos , „liken“ und kommentieren Sie Finalist_innen und Preisträger_innen auf www.procarton.com.

Die Gewinner:

PRO CARTON ECMA AWARD
CARTON OF THE YEAR
Schönheit von innen: My. Von Erl

SUSTAINABILITY
Alles Karton: Beam-Box

MOST INNOVATIVE DESIGN
Pure Lebensfreude: Pago Fruit Juice: Honeydew-Mango Promotion

BEAUTY & COSMETICS
Karton sexy: Flormar All Eyes on Me Collection

BEVERAGES
Edle Natur: Polz Brandy XO

CONFECTIONERY
Süße Küken: EGG BOX

HEALTHCARE & PHARMACEUTICALS
Auf Knopfdruck: Orion Pharma Oy SILEO

FOOD
Coole Erscheinung: Coffee Capsules

NON-FOOD
Extrem männlich: Camacho Cigar Packaging U.S. market

VOLUME MARKET
Eine für alle: Reload, the perfume mini-spray

Der große Erfolg des Wettbewerbs wird sich auch im kommenden Jahr fortsetzen: Der Award 2017 wird wie immer im Februar ausgeschrieben, Einsendeschluss ist der 25. Mai 2017. Wir freuen uns schon jetzt auf viele neue Ideen!

Ausführliche Informationen mit Case Studys zu den Sieger_innen und Fotos in Druckqualität sowie Videos auf www.procarton.com
Gedruckte Broschüren in englischer Sprache sind erhältlich bei Pro Carton über Suzanne E. McEwen, mcewen@procarton.com


Pro Carton members, patrons, partners

Barcelona Carton
Pankaboard
WestRock
RenoDeMedici
Storaenso
WEIG-Karton
Metsä Board
Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Mel
Kartonsan
International Paper
Iggesund
Fiskeby
Buchmann Karton
Billerudkorsnas
Kotkamills
International Packaging Group
BOBST
Heidelberg
Sappi
ECMA

2016-09-16

Pro Carton ECMA Award 2016: the winners

The 20th Pro Carton ECMA Award trumped with a new record: more participants, from more countries, and even more entries. On 15th September 2016 the prizes were presented in festive surroundings at the ECMA Congress in Cannes – to an audience of leading personalities from the European cartonboard and carton industry.

Moderator Tony Hitchin guided the guests through a superb show set against the magnificent backdrop of the Palm Beach Casino in Cannes. And it became more than clear: the significance of packaging as a marketing instrument is increasing continuously and sustainability is becoming part and parcel of brand identity. In addition, cartons

  • are getting smarter and developing highly enhanced interiors: covering topics such as safety closures, product arrangement or presentation,
  • offer more sustainable alternatives than other packaging materials – particularly with regard to plastic packaging which is unpopular with consumers,
  • are becoming a deliberately used marketing tool and active selling instrument in the era of multi-channel communication,
  • underline the sustainability aspects of brand management and are deliberately used for this purpose,
  • are a “delight” at the Point of Sale: not only through “loud” colours, but increasingly through their structural design.

The finalists had already been announced in August. The awards were divided into seven categories as well as three major awards: “Carton of the Year” , “Most Innovative” and “Sustainability” . The certificates and trophies were presented by Roland Rex, Pro Carton President, and Dr. Andreas Blaschke, ECMA President.

“Carton of the Year” went to the e-cigarette packaging: “My. Von Erl”: extremely elegant, My.Von Erl creates an absolute wow effect when opened. Without using any other materials than cartonboard, the packaging embraces all the elements and accessories. The winner in the “Sustainability” category was the “Beam-Box” by Varta: highly attractive, sustainable, innovative and practical in use – this triangular shaped carton simply has everything good packaging needs. The “Most Innovative” Award went to the striking yet simple solution “Pago Fruit Juice: Honeydew-Mango Promotion” : the highly creative execution allows an additional bottle to be added to the packaging, either as a bonus or to introduce a new flavour.

The judges from all sections of the Supply Chain were impressed by the surprising and convincing ideas: Satkar Gidda (SiebertHead, chairman of the jury) was responsible for design and marketing – together with Susanne Lippitsch (SL Design), Wilfried Duivenvoorden (Unilever) for the brands. Lotte Krekels (Carrefour) contributed perspectives from the retail trade, Peter Strahlendorf (“New Business” publisher) represented the market and consumers. Peter Klein Sprokkelhorst acted as consultant to the jury in terms of the technical finesse of the entries.

New this year was the presence on the most important social media platforms: sharing, “liking” and commenting on the finalists’ and prize winners’ photos, texts and videos at www.procarton.com.

The winners:

PRO CARTON ECMA AWARD
CARTON OF THE YEAR
Beauty from within: My. Von Erl

SUSTAINABILITY
Cartonboard all the way: Beam-Box

MOST INNOVATIVE DESIGN
Pure joie de vivre: Pago Fruit Juice: Honeydew-Mango Promotion

BEAUTY & COSMETICS
Sexy carton: Flormar All Eyes on Me Collection

BEVERAGES
Noble by nature: Polz Brandy XO

CONFECTIONERY
Sweet chicks: EGG BOX

HEALTHCARE & PHARMACEUTICALS
At the push of a button: Orion Pharma Oy SILEO

FOOD
Cool look: Coffee Capsules

NON-FOOD
How very masculine: Camacho Cigar Packaging U.S. market

VOLUME MARKET
One for all: Reload, the perfume mini-spray

The huge success of the competition will continue in the coming year: as always, details of the award will be announced in February 2017, deadline for entries is 25 May 2017. We look forward to large numbers of new ideas!

Detailed information together with case studies on the winners and print-ready images as well as videos are available at www.procarton.com.
Printed brochures in English are available from Pro Carton via Suzanne E. McEwen, mcewen@procarton.com


Pro Carton members, patrons, partners

Barcelona Carton
WestRock
RenoDeMedici
Storaenso
WEIG-Karton
Metsä Board
Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Mel
Kartonsan
International Paper
Iggesund
Fiskeby
CAREO, Reno de Medici and Cascades
Buchmann Karton
Billerudkorsnas
Kotkamills
BOBST
Heidelberg
Sappi
ECMA