2019-07-02

Der European Excellence Award – Best Ever!

Die Jury für den European Carton Excellence Award für herausragende Verpackungslösungen aus Karton hat jetzt getagt: Es war ein harter Job, die Preisträger zu bestimmen. Mit insgesamt 122 Einreichungen (die höchste Anzahl seit 10 Jahren) war die Aufgabe, die Sieger festzulegen, äußerst anspruchsvoll.

Die Juroren, die aus allen Bereichen der Supply Chain kamen – vom Design bis zum Handel –, prüften alle Einreichungen auf jeden einzelnen Aspekt, von der Entwicklung der Verpackung bis zum Einkaufskorb der KonsumentInnen.

Neben dem Jury-Vorsitzenden Satkar Gidda von der internationalen Marken- und Verpackungsberatungsagentur SiebertHead gehörten der erfahrenen Jury Lotte Krekels von Carrefour Belgien, Susanne Lippitsch von SL Design und Janet Shipton von Packknack an, die auch die Rolle der technischen Beraterin übernahm. Neu in der Jury war Courtney Judkins von General Mills stellvertretend für die Markenartikelindustrie.

Satkar Gidda sitzt bereits seit über 15 Jahren in der Award-Jury. Trotzdem war er begeistert, was mit Karton alles möglich ist: „Die Druckqualität, die Techniken, die Oberflächen und die Verarbeitung vieler Verpackungen war unglaublich. Nur Karton kann das leisten, und diese Verpackungen zeugen von der andauernden Innovationsbereitschaft und Experimentierfreudigkeit der Branche.“

„In diesem Jahr wurden die Kategorien völlig neu definiert, und wenn man nach Zahl und Qualität der Einreichungen geht, war dies sehr erfolgreich. Insgesamt werden mehr teilnehmende Unternehmen die Möglichkeit haben, ihre herausragenden Leistungen bekannt zu machen.“

Die Preisträger werden am 19. September im Rahmen der Award Gala auf dem ECMA-Kongress in Malta bekannt gegeben.


Mitglieder, Förderer, Partner von Pro Carton

Kotkamills
Pankaboard
Smurfit Kappa
Baden Board GmbH
Buchmann Karton
WestRock
RenoDeMedici
Storaenso
WEIG-Karton
Metsä Board
Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Mel
Kartonsan
International Paper
Iggesund
Fiskeby
Billerudkorsnas
International Packaging Group
BOBST
Heidelberg
Sappi
ECMA

2019-07-02

The European Excellence Award – Best Ever!

The jury for the European Carton Excellence Award for outstanding cartonboard packaging solutions has now deliberated but they had a tough job in picking the winners. With a total of 122 entries to evaluate (the highest number for 10 years) selecting the winners was a very challenging task.

Every entry was put to the test by the judges who came from right across the supply chain – from design through to retailing, ensuring that every single aspect was taken into consideration, from the development of the packaging through to the consumer’s shopping basket.

In addition to jury chairman Satkar Gidda, from international brand and packaging design consultancy SiebertHead, the highly experienced jurors included Lotte Krekels from Carrefour Belgium, Susanne Lippitsch from SL Design and Janet Shipton from Packknack, who also assumed the role of technical advisor. New to the jury was Courtney Judkins of General Mills, representing the branded goods industry.

Satkar Gidda, who has been involved in judging the awards for more than 15 years, was nevertheless amazed at what is possible with cartonboard: “The print quality, techniques, textures and finishes on many of the packs was incredible. Only cartonboard can achieve so much and these packs are a testament to the innovation and experimentation continually taking place in the industry.”

“The categories were completely revised this year and judging by the number and quality of entries it appears to have been highly successful. All in all, more participating companies than in the past will be given the opportunity of making their outstanding achievements known to the public.”

The winners will be announced at the Award Gala at the ECMA Congress in Malta on 19 September 2019.


Pro Carton members, patrons, partners

Pankaboard
Smurfit Kappa
Kotkamills
Baden Board GmbH
WestRock
RenoDeMedici
Storaenso
WEIG-Karton
Metsä Board
Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Mel
Kartonsan
International Paper
Iggesund
Fiskeby
Billerudkorsnas
International Packaging Group
BOBST
Heidelberg
Sappi
ECMA