2018-03-13

Die Pro Carton Steering Group

Die Aktivitäten von Pro Carton werden von einer Steering Group, bestehend aus erfahrenen Mitgliedern der Karton- und Faltschachtelindustrie, geleitet. Sie sind verantwortlich für den Beschluss der strategischen Ausrichtung der Vereinigung, die wichtigsten Maßnahmen und Budgets und arbeiten ähnlich wie ein Verwaltungsrat. In den vergangenen Monaten hat sich die Zusammensetzung der Gruppe geändert und wir würden Sie gerne darüber informieren, wer die Mitglieder sind. Sie alle haben höhere Managementfunktionen der Industrie inne und stellen Pro Carton ihre Zeit unentgeltlich zur Verfügung. Der General Manager verantwortet die tägliche Arbeit und berichtet der Steering Group.

Roland Rex

Roland Rex kam nach der Reorganisation 2009 zur Steering Group und wurde 2010 ihr Vorsitzender (mit dem Titel Präsident). Ursprünglich gewählt für ein Jahr und dann für eine volle Amtsperiode von drei Jahren, ist er jetzt in seinem achten und letzten Jahr als Präsident. Er sitzt auch in der deutschen Marketinggruppe des FFI und des VdP, die nach der Schließung von Pro Carton Deutschland geschaffen wurde.
Roland Rex begann seine berufliche Karriere in der Maschinenbauindustrie im internationalen Verkauf. Nach 10 Jahren entschloss er sich zum Wechsel in die Papier- und Kartonindustrie und ging als Exportmanager zu WEIG-Karton – mit Verkaufsverantwortung für die Märkte in Zentral- und Osteuropa sowie Übersee.
Nach fünf Jahren und einer kurzen Unterbrechung wurde Roland Rex Marketing Direktor von WEIG-Karton. Sein Verantwortungsbereich wurde auf Kartonverkauf, Produktionsplanung, Logistik und Marketing ausgeweitet. Heute ist er Vorstandsmitglied der WEIG-Gruppe.
Roland Rex ist 60 Jahre alt, verheiratet und hat zwei erwachsene Töchter. Er wohnt in der wunderschönen Landschaft zwischen Rhein und Mosel unweit der WEIG-Kartonfabrik. Er ist begeisterter Golfer und klagt darüber, dass er nicht genug Zeit findet, sein Handicap zu verbessern.

Jean-François Roche

Jean-François Roche ist Vice President Sales, Consumer Packaging Europe bei Graphic Packaging International (GPI) and seit Kurzem Präsident der European Carton Makers Association (ECMA).
Mit über 30 Jahren Erfahrung in der Kartonverpackungsindustrie hat er in einer Reihe führender Verkaufs- und Marketingfunktionen gearbeitet, um die Vorteile von Verpackungen auf Papierbasis zu propagieren und Innovationen voranzutreiben.
Jean-François Roche ist bezüglich der Entwicklung der Branche äußerst zuversichtlich: „Faltschachtelhersteller befinden sich heute in einer starken Position, weil die Nachfrage der Konsumenten für nachhaltige Verpackungslösungen steigt, was zu einer innovativen Entwicklung von Kartonverpackungen beiträgt. Damit der Erfolg anhält, müssen Hersteller jedoch gemeinsam mit den Regierungen und der Recyclingindustrie daran arbeiten, die Öffentlichkeit in Verpackungsfragen zu erziehen und Investitionen in eine verbesserte Wiederaufbereitungsinfrastruktur für Abfälle anzuregen.“
„Die Arbeit von Pro Carton ist ein Schlüssel für den Erfolg dieser Bestrebungen, weil sie alle Bereiche der Faltschachtelindustrie zusammenbringt, um mit einer Stimme zu sprechen.“

Michele Bianchi

Michele Bianchi ist Chief Executive Officer der RDM Group. Als wir ihn befragten, meinte er: „An der Spitze der RDM Group zu stehen, macht mich stolz und ist zugleich eine große Verantwortung sowohl innerhalb wie außerhalb des Unternehmens. Die Gruppe ist der größte italienische Erzeuger von Karton aus Recyclingmaterial und der zweitgrößte Europas. Seit 2016 ist sie auch im Frischfaserbereich tätig.
Unser Umfeld wächst dank einiger Schlüsselfaktoren. Wir konnten restrukturieren und haben jetzt die Kraft und die richtigen Fähigkeiten, um neue Entwicklungsstufen zu erreichen. Recycling, grünes Engagement und Energieeffizienz haben immer zu unserer DNA gehört, Themen, die den Prinzipien der Kreislaufwirtschaft nahestehen und überzeugend sind. Wir mögen das Wort „Nachhaltigkeit“ sowohl im Umwelt- wie im sozialen Bereich. Das ist der Schlüssel für unsere Entwicklung.“

Maarten Florizoone

Maarten Florizoone ist Director, New Business von Metsä Board. Er begann 2006 bei Metsä Board mit seinem Background aus Verkaufmanagement und Kundenservice. In der Pro Carton Steering Group ist er relativ neu, er kam im November 2017 dazu. Maarten Florizoone ist sehr leidenschaftlich was nachhaltige Verpackungsmaterialien angeht, und überzeugt, dass unsere Industrie ihre „Bleistifte spitzen“ sollte, um die Vorteile von Karton in größerem und mehr konsumentenorientiertem Maßstab zu kommunizieren. Er liebt es, Materialien aus nachhaltig bewirtschafteten Wäldern zu fördern, weil sie eine großartige Botschaft haben: „Die Verpackung hat bei den Konsumenten eine höhere Priorität als zu jeder anderen Zeit in den letzten 10 Jahren, und das Bewusstsein für die Verwendung der richtigen Materialien wächst. Ich werde die Bestrebungen von Pro Carton energisch und begeistert unterstützen und in die Gruppe neue, umsetzbare Ideen einbringen mit einem Ziel: Karton als nachhaltige und bevorzugte Wahl zur Verpackung von Konsumgütern zu fördern.“

Öystein Aksnes

Öystein Aksnes ist Vice President, Head of General Packaging Board Segment of the Consumer Board Division bei Stora Enso.
Öystein Aksnes hat uns gesagt, es sei das Ziel unserer Consumer Board Division, globaler Maßstab für hochqualitativen Frischfaserkarton zu sein sowie bevorzugter Partner von Kunden und Markeninhabern. Wir befinden uns auf einer Reise im Übergang zu einer erneuerbaren Zukunft in der Bio-Wirtschaft. Die Anforderungen an Verpackungen wachsen beständig, was Funktionalität, Produktsicherheit, Nachhaltigkeit, Produktionseffizienz, Design oder optisches Erscheinungsbild betrifft. Es ist von überragender Bedeutung, die Bedürfnisse von Kunden, Markeninhabern und Konsumenten zu verstehen. Mit unserem Kundenverständnis können wir ein attraktives Angebot von Premiumkarton und Barrierebeschichtungen, Innovationen und Dienstleistungen machen, um zum Erfolg unsere Kunden beizutragen.“

Horst Bittermann

Horst Bittermann ist Head of Marketing bei MM Karton (MMK), die sowohl das Marketing Intelligence System als auch klassischeWerbung umfasst. Er ist außerdem für das Key Account Management großer FMCG (Konsumgüter)-Erzeuger verantwortlich und koordiniert die Kontakte des Unternehmens zum Key Account Management von FMCGs, der Pharmaziebranche und dem Handel. Seine Erfahrung reicht der Identifizierung neuer Anwendungen und Märkte bis zur Konzeption von für Kundenwünsche maßgeschneiderten Produkten und Dienstleistungsangeboten.
Er meinte, „faserbasierende Verpackungen stellen das Ideal nachhaltiger Verpackung dar und werden die Gewinner der kommenden Jahrzehnte sein. Industrievereinigungen wie Pro Carton spielen eine wesentliche Rolle, um Markeninhabern, dem Handel und den Konsumenten die Vorteile von Karton näherzubringen. Umweltrichtlinien und Regeln müssen für einen bewussteren Umgang mit der Natur sorgen – mit dem klaren Ziel, sie zu erhalten.“

Pasi Piiparinen

Pasi Piiparinen ist Vice President, New Business bei Metsä Board. Er kam 2012 zu Metsä Board und hat umfangreiche Erfahrungen im Verkauf von Karton und im Marketing. An der jüngsten Einführung der neuen FBB-Maschine sowie der Extrusions-Beschichtungsanlage in Husum war er intensiv beteiligt. Derzeit ist er für ausgewählte globale Accounts von Metsä Board verantwortlich und entwickelt das weltweite Account-Geschäft.
Pasi Piiparinen ist seit 2017 Präsident von CEPI Cartonboard und hat daher einen Sitz in der Pro Carton Steering Group. Er sieht Pro Carton als hervorragendes Forum zur Förderung nachhaltiger Verpackungen: „Karton hat eine große Zukunft als nachhaltiges Verpackungsmaterial – gemeinsam müssen wir seine umfangreichen Möglichkeiten zeigen und neue Lösungen einführen. Das ist der gemeinsame Weg der Industrie, und wir können alle eine aktive Rolle dabei spielen.“

Für hochauflösende Fotos klicken Sie bitte die Namen. Von links nach rechts:
Roland Rex, Jean-François Roche, Michele Bianchi, Maarten Florizoone
Öystein Aksnes, Horst Bittermann, Pasi Piiparinen

Wenn Sie Anmerkungen oder Vorschläge für Pro Carton haben, kontaktieren Sie bitte den General Manager, Tony Hitchin.


Comments

  1. Anaca3 | June 12, 2015 in 6:05 pm

    Merci pour votre attitude responsable, ca fait plaisir de voir que de nos jours il y a encore des gens que se souci de l’environnement et de leur empreinte carbone.

    Sophie de anaca3.net

  2. Dr. Thomas Muehlenbernd | July 2, 2015 in 7:43 am

    Wir produzieren Chemikalien fuer die Entwicklung von nachhaltigen Papierverpackungen und haben daher Interesse an dieser Studie.

    besten Dank

    Th. Mühlenbernd


Pro Carton members, patrons, partners

Barcelona Carton
Pankaboard
WestRock
RenoDeMedici
Storaenso
WEIG-Karton
Metsä Board
Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Mel
Kartonsan
International Paper
Iggesund
Fiskeby
Buchmann Karton
Billerudkorsnas
Kotkamills
International Packaging Group
BOBST
Heidelberg
Sappi
ECMA

2018-03-13

The Pro Carton Steering Group

The activities of Pro Carton are overseen by a Steering Group made up of experienced personnel from across the carton and cartonboard industry. They are responsible for approving the association’s strategic direction, major activities and expenditure and, effectively, operate a bit like a Board of Directors. There’s been some changes in the group’s make up over the last few months and we thought you might like to know who the people are. They are all hold senior management positions within the industry and give their time to Pro Carton free of charge. The General Manager, who is responsible for the day to day activities, reports into the Steering Group.

Roland Rex

Roland joined the Steering Group of Pro Carton after the association was reorganised in 2009 and became Chairman (called President) in 2010. Originally elected for one year and then a full three year term, he is now in his eighth, and final, year of presidency. He also sits in the German Marketing Group of FFI and VdP, which was created after Pro Carton Germany was closed.
Roland started his professional career in the machinery industry in international sales. After 10 years Roland decided to switch to the paper and board industry and joined WEIG-Karton as Export Manager with sales responsibilities in Central and Eastern European Markets as well as overseas.
After five years, and a short break from the company, Roland became the Marketing Director of WEIG-Karton. His responsibility was enlarged to encompass cartonboard sales, production planning, logistics and marketing. Today he is a member of the WEIG-Group management board.
Roland admits to being 60 years of age, is married and has two grown up daughters. He lives in beautiful countryside between the Rhine and Mosel rivers, close to the WEIG board mill. He is an enthusiastic golfer but complains that he can’t find enough time to improve his handicap.

Jean-François Roche

Jean-François Roche is Vice President Sales, Consumer Packaging Europe at Graphic Packaging International (GPI) and newly appointed President of the European Carton Makers Association (ECMA).
With over 30 years’ experience in the carton packaging industry, he has worked across a variety of senior sales and marketing capacities to promote the benefits of paper-based packaging and drive innovation.
Jean-François is firmly optimistic about where the sector is heading: “Carton manufacturers are in a strong position today due to increasing consumer demand for sustainable packaging solutions, which is helping to stimulate innovative cartonboard packaging development. For this success to continue however, manufacturers must work alongside government and the recycling industry to educate the public about packaging and encourage investment in improved the waste reprocessing infrastructure.
Pro Carton’s work is key to the success of these endeavours, bringing all areas of the carton industry together as a unified voice.”

Michele Bianchi

Michele Bianchi, is the Chief Executive Officer of the RDM Group. When we interviewed Michele he said: “Being at the head of RDM is a source of pride for me and, at the same time, assumes a strong responsibility both inside and outside the company. The group is the largest Italian producer of cartonboard made from recycled material and the second largest in Europe. From 2016 it started operating in the virgin fibre sector too.
Ours is therefore a growing reality thanks to a few key factors. We were able to restructure, and now we have the strength and the right skills to reach new levels. Also, our DNA has always encompassed recycling, green commitment and energy efficiency; themes very dear to the principles of the Circular Economy that are quite compelling. We like the word ‘ sustainability ‘, both in the environmental and social senses. That’s the key to development for us.”

Maarten Florizoone

Maarten Florizoone is Director, New Business for Metsä Board. He started working for Metsä Board in 2006 and has a background in both Sales Management and Customer Service. He is a relative newcomer to the Pro Carton Steering Group, joining in November 2017. Maarten is passionate about sustainable packaging materials and believes that our industry should ‘sharpen its pencil’ to communicate, on a wider and more consumer-focused scale, the benefits of cartonboard. Maarten loves to promote materials from sustainably managed forests as they have an excellent story to tell: “Packaging is higher on the consumers’ agenda than at any time in the last 10 years and awareness about using the correct materials is increasing. I will contribute with energy and enthusiasm to the activities of Pro Carton bringing new and ‘out-of-the-box’ ideas to a group of passionate people with one goal – to promote cartonboard as the sustainable and preferred choice for packing consumer goods.”

Öystein Aksnes

Öystein Aksnes is Vice President, Head of General Packaging Board Segment of the Consumer Board Division at Stora Enso.
Öystein told us that “The ambition of our Consumer Board division is to be the global benchmark in high-quality virgin fibre carton board and the preferred partner to customers and brand owners. We are on a transformation journey towards a renewable future in the bio-economy. The demands on packaging are consistently increasing, whether it comes to functionality, product safety, sustainability, production efficiency, design or visual appearance. Understanding the needs of customers, brand owners and consumers has become paramount. Customer insight enables us to provide an attractive offering of premium paperboard and barrier coating options, innovations and services to help our customers excel.”

Horst Bittermann

Horst is Head of Marketing at MM Karton (MMK) where he manages their market intelligence system and advertising. He is also responsible for the key account management of major FMCG (fast moving consumer goods) producers and coordinates the company’s approach to Key Account Management of FMCGs, Pharmaceutical companies and Retailers. His experience includes identifying new applications and markets as well as tailoring the product and service offering based on customer needs.
He said “Fibre based packaging symbolizes the ideal of sustainable packaging and will be the winner of the next decades. Industry associations such as Pro Carton play an essential role to promote the advantages of cartonboard to brand owners, retailers and consumers. The environmental regulations and rules have to ensure a more conscious treatment of nature with the crystal clear goal to preserve it.”

Pasi Piiparinen

Pasi Piiparinen is the Vice President, New Business for Metsä Board. He joined Metsä Board in 2012 and has an extensive background in paperboard sales and marketing operations. Pasi has been closely involved with the recent launch of Metsä Board’s new FBB machine and extrusion coating line at Husum. Currently he is responsible for Metsä Board’s selected global accounts and developing the global account business.
Pasi has been the CEPI Cartonboard President since 2017 and hence has a seat in the Pro Carton Steering Group. Pasi regards Pro Carton as an excellent forum to help advance sustainable packaging: “Cartonboard has a bright future as a sustainable packaging material – together we need to show its wide possibilities and innovate new solutions. This is a shared journey across the industry, and we can all play an active part.”

For HiRes photos please click on the name. From left to right –
Roland Rex, Jean-François Roche, Michele Bianchi, Maarten Florizoone
Öystein Aksnes, Horst Bittermann, Pasi Piiparinen

 

Should you have any comments or suggestions about Pro Carton please feel free to contact the General Manager, Tony Hitchin.


Pro Carton members, patrons, partners

Barcelona Carton
Pankaboard
Smurfit Kappa
Kotkamills
WestRock
RenoDeMedici
Storaenso
WEIG-Karton
Metsä Board
Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Mel
Kartonsan
International Paper
Iggesund
Fiskeby
Buchmann Karton
Billerudkorsnas
International Packaging Group
BOBST
Heidelberg
Sappi
Manroland
ECMA