Use this contact form if you have any suggestions or questions for us. You’re also welcome to sign-up for our Pro Carton news here. * bitte ausfüllen!
By submitting this form I acknowledge I have read and accept the Data Privacy and Cookie Policy
Introduction

Introduction

Der Pro Carton Young Designers Award 2018 – kurz #pcyda18 – hat alle Erwartungen übertroffen. Es gab mehr als 400 Einreichungen und somit hat sich die Teilnehmeranzahl mehr als verdoppelt. 50 Designhochschulen aus 20 europäischen Ländern haben in diesem Jahr teilgenommen, auch das ist Rekord.

Es ist ein klares Zeichen dafür, dass Karton als umweltfreundlichste Verpackungsart ein Medium für junge Menschen geworden ist; er hat junge Designer_innen überall angesprochen. Sie freuen sich über die Herausforderung, mit einem erneuerbaren Material zu arbeiten, das perfekt in die Kreislaufwirtschaft der Zukunft passt. Der Pro Carton Young Designers Award 2018 – #pcyda18 -bietet den Designer_innen der Generation Y die einzigartige Gelegenheit, ihre Ideen nicht nur in den Sozialen Medien zu zeigen, sondern sie auch in die Praxis umzusetzen.

Die Nachfrage ist gewaltig. Mittlerweile erreicht der Award nahezu alle europäischen Länder, in vielen Ausbildungsstätten gehört der #pcyda bereits zum Lehrplan. Nationale Spin-offs gibt es aktuell in Deutschland, Großbritannien und Österreich, auch ihre Zahl wird in den kommenden Jahren steigen.

Neben Satkar Gidda, Lotte Krekels und Andrea Bottan, die auch in der Jury des Carton Excellence Award tätig waren, schloss sich in diesem Jahr Philipp Freymüller von einem der Sponsoren, Mayr-Melnhof Packaging, dem Expertengremium an.

Die Preise sind sehr attraktiv: Der Wettbewerb bringt junge Designer_innen in Kontakt mit führenden Köpfen der Industrie – ein erster Schritt in die Geschäftswelt und zu einer professionellen Karriere. Alle Finalist_innen und ihre Lehrer_innen werden jedes Jahr im September zur Award Gala beim ECMA-Kongress eingeladen – eine Gelegenheit zum Networking mit dem Management der großen Karton- und Faltschachtelhersteller.

Die Hauptpreisträger_innen können sich auf Reisen nach Finnland und Österreich freuen, mit Einblicken in die Karton- und Faltschachtelproduktion zweier führender europäischer Karton- und Faltschachtelunternehmen. In diesem Jahr danken wir Metsä Board und Mayr-Melnhof Packaging für ihre Unterstützung.

Mit großer Freude danke ich allen, die zum Erfolg des Awards beigetragen haben, vor allem aber den jungen Designer_innen, die sich jedes Jahr mit so viel Begeisterung ans Werk machen!

Horst Bittermann,
Präsident Pro Carton International

Use this contact form if you have any suggestions or questions for us. You’re also welcome to sign-up for our Pro Carton news here. * indicates a required field
By submitting this form I acknowledge I have read and accept the Data Privacy and Cookie Policy
Introduction

Introduction

The Pro Carton Young Designers Award 2018 – #pcyda18 for short – has exceeded all expectations. The number of entries more than doubled this year to over 400! Fifty design schools from 20 European countries took part this year – a new record.

A clear sign that cartonboard has become a young person’s medium as the most environmentally friendly packaging solution; it has reached out to young designers everywhere. They look forward to the challenge of working with a material that fits perfectly into the renewable and recycling economy of the future. And the Pro Carton Young Designers Award 2018 – #pcyda18 provides this unique opportunity to the Generation Y designers – to show their ideas not only on their social media feed, but to actually put them into practice.

The interest is enormous. The Award extends to almost all European countries, and in many educational centres the #pcyda already forms part of the curriculum. There are currently national spin-offs in Germany, the United Kingdom and Austria, and this number will increase in the coming years.

In addition to Satkar Gidda, Lotte Krekels and Andrea Bottan who were also involved in the judging of the Carton Excellence Award, Philipp Freymüller from one of the sponsors, Mayr-Melnhof Packaging also joined the expert panel this year.

The prizes are very attractive: the competition brings young designers into contact with the leading heads of industry – a first step into the business world – and to a professional career. All the finalists and their teachers are invited to the Award Gala at the ECMA Congress every September – a chance to network with the management of the major cartonboard and carton manufacturers.

The main prize winners can look forward to visits to Finland and Austria to get valuable insights into two leading European companies in cartonboard and carton production. This year we would like to thank Metsä Board and Mayr-Melnhof Packaging for their support.

With great pleasure, I thank everyone who contributed to the success of the Award, but above all the young designers who work with so much enthusiasm every year.

Horst Bittermann, President Pro Carton
September 2018