Volume Markets

Winner

Kleenex "Slim" Pack for Facial Tissues

Name of Entry:
Kleenex "Slim" Pack for Facial Tissues
Entrant: Carton Converter:
MMP CP Schmidt
Brand Owner:
Kimberly-Clark
Structural Designer:
Kimberly-Clark
Graphic Designer:
Tin Horse, UK
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Buchmann
Weniger ist (viel) mehr

Das Ziel war klar: Leichter zu lagern, nachhaltiger und vielseitiger einsetzbar sollte die neue Kleenex-Faltschachtel sein. Eine Studie brachte eine grundlegende Erkenntnis über Papiertücher ans Licht: Nützlich sind sie nur, wenn sie bei der Hand sind. Dünne, dezente Verpackungen lassen sich leichter dort verwahren, wo sie gebraucht werden. Während der Arbeit entstand zudem eine neue Öffnung, an der die Tücher nicht hängenbleiben – was das Verpackungsmaterial noch weiter reduziert.
 
Kleenex hat seine große Verpackungsinitiative im Vorjahr für das gesamte Portfolio umgesetzt. Eine Win-Win-Win-Situation: Konsumenten können die kleineren Volumina leichter transportieren und zu Hause platzieren. Händler bringen mehr Produkte im Regal unter und müssen nicht so oft nachfüllen. 30 Prozent Reduktion beim Verpackungsmaterial bedeuten 640 Tonnen weniger pro Jahr, 29 Prozent weniger Lastwagenkilometer und 28 Prozent weniger CO2-Emissionen – davon profitiert der Umweltschutz ebenso wie das Logistikbudget. Und alle diese Vorteile nützen dem Markenimage von Kleenex.

Jury comments

In diesem Bereich ist es immer wichtig, aus weniger mehr zu machen, und nach Meinung der Juroren hat diese Faltschachtel das Ziel erreicht. Die Vorgabe war, einen Weg zu finden, wie die Größe der Verpackung reduziert werden könnte, ohne die Zahl der enthaltenen Papiertücher zu verringern. Es ging nicht nur darum, Verpackung einzusparen, sondern durch eine Verkleinerung um 30 Prozent Einsparungen in der gesamten Supply Chain zu erzielen – in Bereichen wie Überverpackung, Transportkosten und Regalnutzung. Das ist für ein leichtgewichtiges Produkt wie Papiertücher besonders wichtig. Die Jury stellte fest, dass die Tücher, obwohl sie durch die Veränderung stärker zusammengedrückt werden, ebenso leicht zu entnehmen sind wie bei der vorangegangenen Verpackung.

Finalists

Playboy VIP, for him, for her

Name of Entry: Playboy VIP, for him, for her
Entrant: Carton Converter: Cartondruck
Brand Owner: COTY for Playboy Fragrances
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Raffiniert verführt
Die raffinierte Verpackung ist ein echter Eyecatcher. Sie vereint alle Markensymbole von Playboy und zeigt dennoch ein klares Profil. Laminierte Goldfolien und Prägungen verkörpern perfekt einen mondänen und verführerischen Lifestyle.

Puma Sync 11 for her, for him

Name of Entry: Puma Sync 11 for her, for him
Entrant: Carton Converter: Cartondruck
Brand Owner: Procter & Gamble for Puma Fragrances
Structural Designer: Mr. Jan Hippchen
Graphic Designer: Mr. Jan Hippchen
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Vitale Dynamik
Die Verpackung visualisiert einen dynamischen, aktiven Lebensstil. Das klassische Puma-Logo in der Mitte wird durch Glanzlack zusätzlich hervorgehoben. Die Reliefprägung vermittelt ebenso wie die kräftigen Farben ein Gefühl vitalisierender Kraft.

Special.T Capsule Tray

Name of Entry: Special.T Capsule Tray
Entrant: Carton Converter: A&R Carton GmbH
Brand Owner: Nestlé SA
Structural Designer: Philipp Eißner, A&R Carton
Graphic Designer: Nestlé SA, Carré Noir
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Marketing-Power
Eine intelligente Lösung, die höchste Produktivität mit Produktsicherheit und der nötigen Marketing-Power verbindet. Nestlé bevorzugt Karton für dieses sensible Produkt. Strenge Farbvorgaben und Farbhomogenität zwischen Tray und Umverpackung sind hier absolute Schlüsselkriterien.

Volume Markets

Winner

Kleenex "Slim" Pack for Facial Tissues

Official name of entry:
Kleenex "Slim" Pack for Facial Tissues
Entrant: Carton Producer:
MMP CP Schmidt
Brand Owner:
Kimberly-Clark
Structural Designer:
Kimberly-Clark
Graphic Designer:
Tin Horse, UK
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Buchmann
Less is (much) more

The objective was clear: the new Kleenex pack was to be easy to store, more sustainable and more multi-purpose. A study revealed some fundamental insights on paper tissues: they are only useful if at hand. Slim, discreet packaging is easier to place where needed. A new anti-snag opening was also created during development to avoid sticking of the tissues – which reduced the packaging material required even more.
 
Last year, Kleenex launched a major packaging initiative across the entire portfolio. A Win-Win situation: consumers were able to transport the smaller packs more easily and place them at home. Retailers were able to place more product on the shelves and had longer refill intervals. A 30 per cent reduction in packaging materials equal to 640 tonnes per year, 29 per cent fewer kilometre distances for lorries and 28 per cent lower CO2 emissions – this benefits the environment as well as the logistics budget. And all these advantages benefit the brand image of Kleenex. 

Jury comments

In this sector getting more from less is always important and this carton had, in the Judges opinion, met this target. The brief was to find a way of reducing the size whilst still containing the same number of tissues. The reason for this was not merely to save on packaging but, by managing to reduce the pack size by 30%, find savings throughout the supply chain in such areas as outer packaging, shipping costs and shelf utilisation. This is important for a lightweight product such as tissues. The Judges noted that despite this change, the cartons still opened well and the tissues could be taken out as easily as with the previous pack.

Finalists

Playboy VIP, for him, for her

Official name of entry: Playboy VIP, for him, for her
Entrant: Carton Producer: Cartondruck
Brand Owner: COTY for Playboy Fragrances
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Clever seducer
The clever packaging is a real eye-catcher. It combines all the brand symbols of Playboy and yet displays a clear profile. Laminated gold foils and embossing perfectly indicate a sophisticated and seductive lifestyle.

Puma Sync 11 for her, for him

Official name of entry: Puma Sync 11 for her, for him
Entrant: Carton Producer: Cartondruck
Brand Owner: Procter & Gamble for Puma Fragrances
Structural Designer: Mr. Jan Hippchen
Graphic Designer: Mr. Jan Hippchen
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Vital dynamics
This packaging demonstrates  a dynamic, active lifestyle. The classical Puma logo in the centre is highlighted with gloss varnish. Embossing and powerful colours convey energy and power.

Special.T Capsule Tray

Official name of entry: Special.T Capsule Tray
Entrant: Carton Producer: A&R Carton GmbH
Brand Owner: Nestlé SA
Structural Designer: Philipp Eißner, A&R Carton
Graphic Designer: Nestlé SA, Carré Noir
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Marketing power
An intelligent solution that combines maximum productivity and product safety with the necessary marketing power. Nestlé preferred cartonboard for this sensitive product. Stringent colour specifications and colour matching between tray and outer packaging are absolute key criteria here.