Confectionery

Winner

Nut Box

Name of Entry:
Nut Box
Entrant: Carton Converter:
Du Caju Printing NV
Brand Owner:
Barry Callebaut Belgium
Structural Designer:
Berlin/Du Caju Printing NV
Graphic Designer:
Berlin
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
James Cropper, Iggesund Paperboard
Handwerkliche Raffinesse

Unter der Marke La Morella Nuts werden exquisite Produkte aus Nüssen angeboten – für anspruchsvolle Konsumenten im Handel ebenso wie für die Weiterverarbeitung. Die Marke vereint einzigartiges Know-how über Anbau, Ernte und Verarbeitung von Nüssen, das sich in überragender Qualität widerspiegelt. Um die Verbundenheit mit der Nummer eins der Welt in Sachen Schokoladeherstellung Barry Callebaut zu zelebrieren, hat Du Caju Printing eine Faltschachtel gestaltet, die das Beste aus beiden Welten enthält: Schokoladetafeln mit herrlich knusprigen Nüssen.
 
Die Verpackung gehört zu einer Reihe von Kommunikationsmitteln als Botschafter für die traditionelle Arbeitsweise von La Morella. Handgezeichnete Figuren, die jede Produktionsphase reflektieren, sind als Prägung in schwarzem Karton eingebettet. Details im Foliendruck schaffen Tiefe und Kontrast. Eine raffinierte Faltschachtel, die das Produkt für sich sprechen lässt und zugleich die Geschichte von natürlicher Herkunft und handwerklicher Perfektion erzählt.

Jury comments

Die Verpackung aus mattschwarzem Karton sieht täuschend einfach aus und unterstützt die Ausstrahlung des Produkts. Verstärkt wird diese Wirkung durch den hochwertigen Druck und die ganzflächige Prägung, die der Faltschachtel eine angenehme und attraktive Haptik verleiht. Das Design der Prägung ist auf intelligente Weise durch die Oberfläche des Inhalts aus Schokolade und Nüssen inspiriert. Wie schon gesagt, machen erst über die Optik hinausgehende emotionale Elemente eine Verpackung wirklich attraktiv, und die Haptik wird zunehmend eingesetzt, um Konsumenten zu gewinnen. Der Markt für Süßwaren ist stark umkämpft, und die Jury war der Ansicht, dass diese Faltschachtel verschiedene Aspekte hat, die ihr beste Chancen geben, die Konsumenten am Point of Sale auf sich aufmerksam zu machen.

Finalists

ChocOlé

Name of Entry: ChocOlé
Entrant: Carton Converter: Van Genechten Nicolaus, Cologne
Brand Owner: Griesson De Beukelaer
Structural Designer: Griesson De Beukelaer, Van Genechten Packaging
Graphic Designer: Syndicate
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Gemeinsam feiern
Für das neue Produkt „ChocOlé“ wurde ein runder, wiederverschließbarer Behälter entwickelt, der die Schokosticks nach dem Öffnen wie einen Blumenstrauß präsentiert und herkömmliche Lösungen aus Kunststoff ersetzt, extrem nachhaltig in Produktion, Transport und Recycling.

Hofbauer Marc de Schlumberger Trüffel

Name of Entry: Hofbauer Marc de Schlumberger Trüffel
Entrant: Carton Converter: Cardbox Packaging Ploetz GmbH
Brand Owner: Lindt Österreich
Structural Designer: Lindt Österreich
Graphic Designer: Lindt Österreich
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Perfekte Harmonie
Inhalt und Faltschachtel sind auf exklusive Weise verbunden: beide mit Goldstaub versehen. Die Prägung auf der Außenseite macht das Produkt auch noch fühlbar. Gefüllte Trüffel und gekonnte Verpackung bilden hier eine vollendete Einheit.

Manner Easter Egg

Name of Entry: Manner Easter Egg
Entrant: Carton Converter: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria GmbH
Brand Owner: Josef Manner & Comp AG
Structural Designer: Ivica Djuric, Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria GmbH
Graphic Designer: Josef Manner & Comp AG
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Runde Sache
Eine auffallend elegantes, wiederverschließbares „Osterei“ mit Heißfolienprägung, dem man seine Komplexität nicht ansieht: Für Manner hat Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria es geschafft, diese Packung trotz ihrer Form maschinell zu verkleben und flach zu liefern.

Sustainable Chocolate Box

Name of Entry: Sustainable Chocolate Box
Entrant: Carton Converter: Du Caju Printing
Brand Owner: Barry Callebaut Belgium
Structural Designer: Berlin / Du Caju Printing NV
Graphic Designer: Berlin
Cartonboard Manufacturer: James Cropper
Natürliche Noblesse
So vermittelt man nachhaltige Kakaoprodukte: mit Karton aus nicht gebleichtem Zellstoff und Kakaobohnenschalen mit natürlichem Feeling. Jede der drei Schokoladetafeln im Inneren hat ihre eigene Geschichte. Das klare Design lädt ein zu ihrer Entdeckung.

Travel Trade series

Name of Entry: Travel Trade series
Entrant: Carton Converter: VG Kvadra Pak JSC
Brand Owner: Fazer confectionery Ltd.
Structural Designer: VG Kvadra Pak JSC
Graphic Designer: LFH illuminating Brands, London
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Dunkle Versuchung
Eine Faltschachtel mit Schuber erzeugt einen starken Premium-Eindruck, unterstützt durch die Veredelung mit Lack, Prägung und Heißfolie. Zugleich verlockt sie dazu, sie zu öffnen und sich von der großartigen Schokolade im Inneren verführen zu lassen.

Confectionery

Winner

Nut Box

Official name of entry:
Nut Box
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Du Caju Printing NV
Brand Owner:
Barry Callebaut Belgium
Structural Designer:
Berlin/Du Caju Printing NV
Graphic Designer:
Berlin
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
James Cropper, Iggesund Paperboard
Refined craftsmanship

Exquisite products made from nuts are sold under the brand La Morella Nuts for demanding retail clients as well as for further processing. The brand unites unique know-how on growing, harvesting and processing nuts which is reflected by their superior quality. To celebrate their ties with the world’s number one in all things chocolate manufacturing, Barry Callebaut, Du Caju Printing developed a carton which combines the best of both worlds: chocolate bars with perfect crunchy nuts.
 
The packaging is part of a range of communication measures designed as ambassadors for the traditional craftsmanship at La Morella. Hand-painted figures depicting each phase of production are deeply embossed in black cartonboard. Details in foil printing create depth and contrast.  A sophisticated carton which lets the product speak for itself, while at the same time telling the story of natural origins and perfect craftsmanship.

Jury comments

This was a deceptively simple pack that utilized matt black cartonboard to enhance the look. This was further highlighted by quality printing and all over embossing that gave the carton a pleasant and appealing feel. The design of the embossing also cleverly reflected the texture of the chocolate and nut confectionery inside. Emotions other than simply vision are necessary to make a pack truly appealing and feel or touch is one that is being increasingly used to ensure consumer appeal.  Confectionery is a very competitive market and the Judges felt that this carton offered various elements to give it the best chance of attracting consumers at the point of sale.

Finalists

ChocOlé

Official name of entry: ChocOlé
Entrant: Carton Producer: Van Genechten Nicolaus, Cologne
Brand Owner: Griesson De Beukelaer
Structural Designer: Griesson De Beukelaer, Van Genechten Packaging
Graphic Designer: Syndicate
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Enjoy together
A cylindrical, resealable container was developed for the new product "ChocOlé" where the chocolate sticks were presented as a bouquet of flowers upon opening, and which replaced conventional solutions made of plastic and which is highly sustainable in terms of production, shipping and recycling.

Hofbauer Marc de Schlumberger Trüffel

Official name of entry: Hofbauer Marc de Schlumberger Trüffel
Entrant: Carton Producer: Cardbox Packaging Ploetz GmbH
Brand Owner: Lindt Österreich
Structural Designer: Lindt Österreich
Graphic Designer: Lindt Österreich
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Perfect harmony
Exclusive combination of content and carton: both have gold dust application. Embossing on the outside also gives the product a tactile feeling. Filled truffles and skilful packaging combine to give a perfect symbiosis.

Manner Easter Egg

Official name of entry: Manner Easter Egg
Entrant: Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria GmbH
Brand Owner: Josef Manner & Comp AG
Structural Designer: Ivica Djuric, Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria GmbH
Graphic Designer: Josef Manner & Comp AG
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Perfectly rounded
A strikingly elegant, reclosable "Easter egg" with hot foil printing, without overtly displaying its underlying complexity: despite its shape Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria manage to machine glue this packaging and supply it flat to their customer Manner.  

Sustainable Chocolate Box

Official name of entry: Sustainable Chocolate Box
Entrant: Carton Producer: Du Caju Printing
Brand Owner: Barry Callebaut Belgium
Structural Designer: Berlin / Du Caju Printing NV
Graphic Designer: Berlin
Cartonboard Manufacturer: James Cropper
Natural noblesse
This is how to convey sustainable cocoa products: with cartonboard made of unbleached pulp and cocoa husk with a natural feel. Each of the three chocolate bars in the box tells its own story. The clear design simply demands their discovery

Travel Trade series

Official name of entry: Travel Trade series
Entrant: Carton Producer: VG Kvadra Pak JSC
Brand Owner: Fazer confectionery Ltd.
Structural Designer: VG Kvadra Pak JSC
Graphic Designer: LFH illuminating Brands, London
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Dark temptation
A box with a sleeve creates a pronounced premium impression, enhanced by finishing with varnishes, embossing and hot foil. At the same time it is an invitation to open the box and be seduced by excellent chocolate inside.