Beverages

Winner

Biercée Gin

Name of Entry:
Biercée Gin
Entrant: Carton Converter:
Smurfit Kappa Van Mierlo
Brand Owner:
Distillerie de Biercée
Structural Designer:
Peter Vervecken, Smurfit Kappa Van Mierlo
Graphic Designer:
Pat Lefebvre, Coconuts
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Mead Westvaco GmbH
Emotionale Intelligenz

Biercée ist eine wallonische Distillerie, die vor allem für ihre Fruchtdestillate bekannt ist. Die beiden Inhaber, Christophe und Pierre, vereinten ihre unterschiedlichen Persönlichkeiten in einem außergewöhnlichen Produkt, das diese Polarisierung perfekt widerspiegelt: modern und traditionell, engelsgleich und dämonenhaft, frisch und gewohnt.
 
Eine komplizierte Geschichte für eine passende Verpackung – umso verblüffender die einfache Lösung. Die haptisch sanfte Oberfläche – eine Idee von Smurfit Kappa Van Mierlo – hinterlässt einen weichen Eindruck und stellt sofort eine emotionale Verbindung her zwischen dem Kunden und dem Produkt. Der Grafik-Designer steuerte die hinreißende Gestaltung in Form schwarzer und weißer Rauten bei – eine Reverenz an das klassische Gewand des Harlekins. UV-Lack an bestimmten Stellen betont den Gegensatz zwischen weich und hart. Innen ist die Verpackung mit Anti-Rutsch-Lack beschichtet.
 
Mithilfe dieser Faltschachtel konnte Biercée in neue Märkte vorstoßen: in die Spitzengastronomie und auf die Exportmärkte Frankreich, Niederlande und Deutschland.

Jury comments

Eine scheinbar einfache Verpackung, die deutlich zeigt, dass Einfachheit sogar in einem heiß umkämpften Markt sehr wirkungsvoll sein kann. Die geklebte Manschette in augenfälligem Schwarz-Weiß-Design passt sich der einfachen Flasche an und unterstützt mit ihrer unmittelbaren Attraktivität den Auftritt des Produkts. Der Karton kann auf der Rückseite bedruckt werden, sodass die Informationen „durch die Flasche hindurch“ gelesen werden können. Attraktivität am Point of Sale ist im Getränkebereich besonders wichtig. Dieses Design ist anders und wird nach Meinung der Jury die Aufmerksamkeit auf sich ziehen, weil es sich sehr von den meisten anderen Faltschachteln für Getränke unterscheidet.

Finalists

Illuminated packaging for “Bombay Sapphire”

Name of Entry: Illuminated packaging for “Bombay Sapphire”
Entrant: Carton Converter: Karl Knauer KG, Rox Asia Consultancy Ltd.
Brand Owner: Bacardi
Structural Designer: Karl Knauer KG
Graphic Designer: Webb deVlam
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Tullis Russel
Leuchtendes Beispiel
Die weltweit wohl erste am Markt frei verkäufliche Verpackung mit bedruckten, aktiv leuchtenden Flächen schafft eine bisher unerreichte Aufmerksamkeitsstärke am POS – und das in einer Präzision, die wohl nur auf Karton erreicht werden kann.

Twinkle Box

Name of Entry: Twinkle Box
Entrant: Carton Converter: Van Genechten Angoulême
Brand Owner: MHCS
Structural Designer: VG Angoulême
Graphic Designer: MHCS
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso, Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Funkelnder Diamant
Die Twinkle Box hält die Champagnerflasche für bis zu zwei Stunden gekühlt, bewahrt die außergewöhnliche Qualität des Inhalts. Diese Verpackung ist unverwechselbar, und die noble Trageschleife verleiht ihr lässigen Chic.

Venus Bag

Name of Entry: Venus Bag
Entrant: Carton Converter: Van Genechten Angoulême
Brand Owner: Les Vignerons d'Alignan-du-Vent
Structural Designer: VG Angoulême
Graphic Designer: Agence Oscite
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso, Billerud Korsnäs
Sex Appeal
Das witzige Konzept stammt von Frauen für Frauen: Eine Handtasche aus nachhaltigem Karton in trendigem Design verhüllt einen Rosé als Bag-in-Box. Das nützliche Zusatzplus: ein Fach für Accessoires – vom Glas über bis zum Halstuch …

Beverages

Winner

Biercée Gin

Official name of entry:
Biercée Gin
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Smurfit Kappa Van Mierlo
Brand Owner:
Distillerie de Biercée
Structural Designer:
Peter Vervecken, Smurfit Kappa Van Mierlo
Graphic Designer:
Pat Lefebvre, Coconuts
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Mead Westvaco GmbH
Emotional intelligence

Biercée is a Walloon distillery well known for its fruit distillates. The two owners, Christophe and Pierre, combined their different personalities to create an exceptional product which perfectly reflects this polarisation: modern and traditional, angelic and demonic, fresh and conservative.
 
This was quite a complicated task for packaging and so surprising to reach a simple solution. The soft tactile surface – an idea proposed by Smurfit Kappa Van Mierlo – conveys a feeling of gentleness and creates immediate empathy between product and customer. The graphic designer added a highly attractive design with black and white diamonds– as homage to the classic harlequin dress.  UV varnish applied at different points, highlights the contrast between soft and hard. Inside, the packaging is coated with anti-slip varnish.
 
This carton enabled Biercée to enter new markets: high-end gastronomy and export markets in France, the Netherlands and Germany.

Jury comments

A deceptively simple pack that clearly demonstrated that even in a highly competitive market, simplicity can be very effective. In a striking black and white design, the glued sleeve fitted over a plain bottle and was immediately attractive and enhanced the look of the product. In addition the cartonboard had been printed on the reverse so that information could be read “through the bottle”. Attraction at the point of sale is very important in the beverage sector and this design would look different on shelf and so would, the Judges felt, attract attention, as it was so different from most other beverage cartons.

Finalists

Illuminated packaging for “Bombay Sapphire”

Official name of entry: Illuminated packaging for “Bombay Sapphire”
Entrant: Carton Producer: Karl Knauer KG, Rox Asia Consultancy Ltd.
Brand Owner: Bacardi
Structural Designer: Karl Knauer KG
Graphic Designer: Webb deVlam
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Tullis Russel
Shining example
Presumably the world's first freely available packaging with printed, active lighting on the carton surfaces has to date reached unrivalled awareness levels at the POS – and with a precision which can probably only be achieved on cartonboard.

Twinkle Box

Official name of entry: Twinkle Box
Entrant: Carton Producer: Van Genechten Angoulême
Brand Owner: MHCS
Structural Designer: VG Angoulême
Graphic Designer: MHCS
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso, Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Twinkling diamond
The Twinkle Box keeps the bottle of champagne chilled for up to two hours and preserves the exceptional qualities of the contents. This packaging is unmistakeable and the distinguished carrying ribbon conveys an air of casual chic.

Venus Bag

Official name of entry: Venus Bag
Entrant: Carton Producer: Van Genechten Angoulême
Brand Owner: Les Vignerons d'Alignan-du-Vent
Structural Designer: VG Angoulême
Graphic Designer: Agence Oscite
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso, Billerud Korsnäs
Sex appeal
The witty concept was created by women for women: a hand bag made of sustainable cartonboard in a trendy design encloses  Rosé wine as a Bag-in-Box. With a useful extra: a compartment for accessories – from a glass to a scarf …