Beverages

Winner

Biercée Gin

Official name of entry:
Biercée Gin
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Smurfit Kappa Van Mierlo
Brand Owner:
Distillerie de Biercée
Structural Designer:
Peter Vervecken, Smurfit Kappa Van Mierlo
Graphic Designer:
Pat Lefebvre, Coconuts
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Mead Westvaco GmbH
Intelligence émotionnelle

Biercée est une distillerie wallonne bien connue pour ses distillations de fruits. Les deux propriétaires, Christophe et Pierre, ont allié leurs différentes personnalités pour créer un produit exceptionnel qui reflète parfaitement cette polarisation : moderne et traditionnel, angélique et démoniaque, original et conservateur …
 
La tâche était compliquée pour un emballage et la solution étonnamment simple. La douce surface tactile (une idée proposée par Smurfit Kappa Van Mierlo) procure une sensation de douceur et crée immédiatement une empathie entre le produit et le client. Le concepteur graphiste a ajouté un motif très attrayant composé de losanges noirs et blancs (en hommage au traditionnel habit d’Arlequin). Un vernis UV appliqué à différents points renforce le contraste entre doux et rude. À l’intérieur, l’emballage est revêtu d’un vernis antidérapant.
 
Cet emballage à permis à Biercée d’entrer sur de nouveaux marchés : les marchés de la gastronomie haut de gamme et de l’export en France, aux Pays-Bas et en Allemagne.

Jury comments

Un emballage trompeusement simple qui a clairement démontré que même sur un marché très concurrentiel, la simplicité peut être très efficace. Dans un saisissant motif noir et blanc, l’étui collé épouse une bouteille épurée et la rend immédiatement attrayante en mettant en valeur l’apparence du produit. Par ailleurs, le carton est imprimé au verso de sorte que les informations puissent être lues « à travers la bouteille ». Le pouvoir d’attraction au point de vente est essentiel dans le marché des boissons et ce design pourrait se détacher dans les rayons et donc, selon les juges, attirer l’attention de par son originalité par rapport aux autres emballages boissons.

Finalists

Illuminated packaging for “Bombay Sapphire”

Official name of entry: Illuminated packaging for “Bombay Sapphire”
Entrant: Carton Producer: Karl Knauer KG, Rox Asia Consultancy Ltd.
Brand Owner: Bacardi
Structural Designer: Karl Knauer KG
Graphic Designer: Webb deVlam
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Tullis Russel
Brillant exemple
Probablement, le premier emballage au monde avec composants lumineux actifs imprimés en vente libre ayant atteint des niveaux de popularité inégalés à ce jour sur les points de vente (et avec une précision ne pouvant certainement être obtenue qu’avec le carton).

Twinkle Box

Official name of entry: Twinkle Box
Entrant: Carton Producer: Van Genechten Angoulême
Brand Owner: MHCS
Structural Designer: VG Angoulême
Graphic Designer: MHCS
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso, Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Diamant scintillant
La Twinkle Box conserve la bouteille de champagne au frais jusqu’à deux heures et préserve les qualités exceptionnelles de son contenu. Cet emballage est facilement reconnaissable et le distingué ruban de transport lui confère un air chic décontracté.

Venus Bag

Official name of entry: Venus Bag
Entrant: Carton Producer: Van Genechten Angoulême
Brand Owner: Les Vignerons d'Alignan-du-Vent
Structural Designer: VG Angoulême
Graphic Designer: Agence Oscite
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso, Billerud Korsnäs
Sex-appeal
Le concept amusant a été créé par des femmes pour les femmes : un sac à main en carton éco-responsable au design tendance en guise d’emballage BIB qui contient du vin rosé. Avec un petit plus utile : un compartiment à accessoires, pour le verre ou l’écharpe …

Beverages

Winner

Biercée Gin

Official name of entry:
Biercée Gin
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Smurfit Kappa Van Mierlo
Brand Owner:
Distillerie de Biercée
Structural Designer:
Peter Vervecken, Smurfit Kappa Van Mierlo
Graphic Designer:
Pat Lefebvre, Coconuts
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Mead Westvaco GmbH
Emotional intelligence

Biercée is a Walloon distillery well known for its fruit distillates. The two owners, Christophe and Pierre, combined their different personalities to create an exceptional product which perfectly reflects this polarisation: modern and traditional, angelic and demonic, fresh and conservative.
 
This was quite a complicated task for packaging and so surprising to reach a simple solution. The soft tactile surface – an idea proposed by Smurfit Kappa Van Mierlo – conveys a feeling of gentleness and creates immediate empathy between product and customer. The graphic designer added a highly attractive design with black and white diamonds– as homage to the classic harlequin dress.  UV varnish applied at different points, highlights the contrast between soft and hard. Inside, the packaging is coated with anti-slip varnish.
 
This carton enabled Biercée to enter new markets: high-end gastronomy and export markets in France, the Netherlands and Germany.

Jury comments

A deceptively simple pack that clearly demonstrated that even in a highly competitive market, simplicity can be very effective. In a striking black and white design, the glued sleeve fitted over a plain bottle and was immediately attractive and enhanced the look of the product. In addition the cartonboard had been printed on the reverse so that information could be read “through the bottle”. Attraction at the point of sale is very important in the beverage sector and this design would look different on shelf and so would, the Judges felt, attract attention, as it was so different from most other beverage cartons.

Finalists

Illuminated packaging for “Bombay Sapphire”

Official name of entry: Illuminated packaging for “Bombay Sapphire”
Entrant: Carton Producer: Karl Knauer KG, Rox Asia Consultancy Ltd.
Brand Owner: Bacardi
Structural Designer: Karl Knauer KG
Graphic Designer: Webb deVlam
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Tullis Russel
Shining example
Presumably the world's first freely available packaging with printed, active lighting on the carton surfaces has to date reached unrivalled awareness levels at the POS – and with a precision which can probably only be achieved on cartonboard.

Twinkle Box

Official name of entry: Twinkle Box
Entrant: Carton Producer: Van Genechten Angoulême
Brand Owner: MHCS
Structural Designer: VG Angoulême
Graphic Designer: MHCS
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso, Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Twinkling diamond
The Twinkle Box keeps the bottle of champagne chilled for up to two hours and preserves the exceptional qualities of the contents. This packaging is unmistakeable and the distinguished carrying ribbon conveys an air of casual chic.

Venus Bag

Official name of entry: Venus Bag
Entrant: Carton Producer: Van Genechten Angoulême
Brand Owner: Les Vignerons d'Alignan-du-Vent
Structural Designer: VG Angoulême
Graphic Designer: Agence Oscite
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso, Billerud Korsnäs
Sex appeal
The witty concept was created by women for women: a hand bag made of sustainable cartonboard in a trendy design encloses  Rosé wine as a Bag-in-Box. With a useful extra: a compartment for accessories – from a glass to a scarf …