Shelf Ready & Display

Winner

Ben & Jerry’s ‘Wich

Official name of entry:
Ben & Jerry’s ‘Wich
Entrant: Carton Converter:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Contego Packaging
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Ordnung im Gefrierfach

Anfang Oktober 2011 fragte Markeninhaber Unilever bei Contego an: Es ging darum, eine Faltschachtel für Ben & Jerry’s ‘Wich-Eiscremeriegel zu entwickeln. Das Problem war, dass die Riegel bis dahin lose ins Gefrierfach des Handels gelegt wurden, was unordentlich aussah. Gesucht wurde eine Lösung, die es erlaubt, acht Stück in eine Faltschachtel zu legen. Mindestens zwei solcher Faltschachteln sollten hintereinander ins Gefrierfach passen.

Grundlage des Verpackungskonzepts war ein neuartiges Tischdisplay, denn der Verkauf einzelner Eiscremes war in einer Einzelhandelsumgebung bisher nicht üblich, sie werden normalerweise im Multipack verkauft. Das neue Display wird im Handel geschlossen angeliefert. Der obere Teil kann mithilfe eines Abrissstreifens entfernt werden, darunter sind die acht Eiscremeriegel positioniert. Als Material empfahl Hersteller Contego einen „Full Kraft Board“, weil dieser Karton eine gewisse Wasserfestigkeit aufweist und kräftig genug ist. Nach dem ersten Kontakt musste ein genauer Zeitablauf eingehalten werden. Mitte Februar wurden die ersten Faltschachteln ausgeliefert, im Juni 2012 lagen die ersten Trays bereits in den Geschäften.

Jury comments

Die scheinbar simple Faltschachtel wurde ideal gestaltet: Tiefgefrorene Artikel werden während des Transports umhüllt und danach in ein Display und einen Dispenser verwandelt, aus dem die Produkte leicht ausgewählt und herausgenommen werden können. Der Abrissteil funktionierte gut, die untere Halterung fixierte die Produkte und hielt sie für problemlose Entnahme bereit.

Finalists

Speick Natural Face Display

Official name of entry: Speick Natural Face Display
Entrant: Carton Converter: Chesapeake Branded Packaging
Brand Owner: SPEICK Naturkosmetik
Structural Designer: Chesapeake Branded Packaging
Graphic Designer: Karius & Partner GmbH
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Korsnäs
Nachhaltig und stabil
Edle und ökologische Display-Lösung aus einem Stück für eine neue Produktentwicklung – auf Wunsch von Speick mit viel Gestaltungsfläche zur Wiedererkennung der Marke. Aus dem Handel kamen bisher sehr gute Reaktionen.

Shelf Ready & Display

Winner

Ben & Jerry’s ‘Wich

Official name of entry:
Ben & Jerry’s ‘Wich
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Contego Packaging
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
The well-organised deep freezer

In early October 2011, brand owner Unilever contacted Contego. The idea was to create a folded carton for eight separate Ben & Jerry ice cream bars. The problem was that ice cream bars had so far been placed loose in the deep freezers, which looked untidy. A solution was sought where eight ice cream bars could be placed in a folded carton and also that at least two cartons could be stacked next to each other.

The basis for the packaging concept was based on a table display, a novel concept, as the selling of individual ice creams was not common practice in retailing, normally they are sold in multi-packs. The new display is supplied closed to the trade. The upper part of the display can be removed via a tear strip and the eight ice cream bars are positioned neatly underneath. Contego recommended using a “Full Kraft Board” as material as this carton offers a certain water-resistance and is also strong enough. A precise time schedule had to be adhered to following the initial contact. The first folded boxes were delivered in mid-February, and the first trays were in the shops in June 2012.

Jury comments

A deceptively simple looking carton that was ideally designed to fulfil the function of containing frozen items during transport and then being simple to convert to a display and dispensing tray so the products could be easily selected and removed. The tear off section worked well and the internal fitment held the products well and made them easy to remove when required.

Finalists

Speick Natural Face Display

Official name of entry: Speick Natural Face Display
Entrant: Carton Producer: Chesapeake Branded Packaging
Brand Owner: SPEICK Naturkosmetik
Structural Designer: Chesapeake Branded Packaging
Graphic Designer: Karius & Partner GmbH
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Korsnäs
Sustainable and stable
A single piece, exclusive and ecological display solution for a new product development. The generous design area for recognition of the brand was requested by Speick. Only good reactions have so far been received from the retail trade.