Pharmaceuticals

Winner

Ampullenverpackung

Official name of entry:
Ampullenverpackung
Entrant: Carton Converter:
Brand Owner:
Weleda AG
Structural Designer:
Carl Edelmann GmbH
Graphic Designer:
Elbe Design Hamburg, Weleda AG
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Weniger ist mehr

Die Partnerschaft zwischen dem Markeninhaber Weleda und den Konstrukteuren von Maschine und Verpackung lief von Anfang an reibungslos. Das Ziel: einen neuen, flexiblen Verpackungsprozess für Ampullen zu entwickeln und eine innovative Verpackung zu kreieren. Diese sollte sich nicht nur optisch wohltuend von der Konkurrenz unterscheiden, sondern auch Platz sparen und die enthaltenen Produkte gut schützen. Darüber hinaus sind diese leicht zu entnehmen.
Nach eineinhalbjähriger Arbeitszeit war die Mission erfüllt: Maschinenhersteller Uhlmann Pac-Systeme entwickelte den Verpackungsprozess einschließlich Befüllung und baute die Maschine dazu. Neu waren vor allem das maschinelle Formen des Einsatzes, das maschinelle Zuführen im Sideloadingverfahren sowie das Verkleben von Einsatz und Außenverpackung. Gemeinsam mit Faltschachtelhersteller Edelmann entstand die passende Verpackung, das grafische Design steuerte Weleda selbst bei. Die einfache und formschöne Lösung – außen dreifarbig, innen einfarbig, geschützt durch Dispersionslack – kam im Frühjahr 2012 brandneu auf den Markt.

Jury comments

Eine perfekte funktionale Faltschachtel, die genau das erfüllt, wofür sie geschaffen wurde. Die innere Struktur fixiert die Ampullen zuverlässig, damit sie nicht beim Transport beschädigt werden. Das Innenleben wurde vollständig aus Karton gemacht, sodass die gesamte Verpackung monomaterial hergestellt wird. Spezielle Falt- und Klebeeinheiten wurden gebaut, um eine schnelle und effiziente Produktion sicherzustellen.

Finalists

Etui mit integrierter Packungsbeilage

Official name of entry: Etui mit integrierter Packungsbeilage
Entrant: Carton Converter: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Brand Owner: Dr. Kade Pharmazeutische Fabrik GmbH
Structural Designer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Graphic Designer: Heymann Brandt DE Gelmini Werbeagentur AG
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund Paperboard
Eleganter Zweitnutzen
Etui mit integrierter Packungsbeilage: Die Konsumentin findet ein original verschlossenes Etui mit Packungsbeilage vor, die komfortabel entnehmbar ist. Im Zweitnutzen dient das elegante Etui zur Aufbewahrung des Tablettenblisters.

Folding box with 3D lens

Official name of entry: Folding box with 3D lens
Entrant: Carton Converter: Karl Knauer KG
Brand Owner: GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Healthcare GmbH & Co. KG
Structural Designer: Karl Knauer KG
Graphic Designer: GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Healthcare GmbH & Co. KG
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Buchmann
Faltschachtel im Fokus
Die 3D-Linse macht dieses Konzept einzigartig. Sie hebt das Key Visual von Chlorhexamed hervor und stärkt den Impuls am Point of Sale. Trotzdem ist die neue Premiumverpackung automatengängig und wird auf den gleichen Maschinen verarbeitet wie bisherige Lösungen.

Pharmaceuticals

Winner

Ampullenverpackung

Official name of entry:
Ampullenverpackung
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Weleda AG
Structural Designer:
Carl Edelmann GmbH
Graphic Designer:
Elbe Design Hamburg, Weleda AG
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Where less is more

The partnership between brand owner and the designers of machines and packaging ran smoothly from the outset. The objective was to develop a new and flexible packaging process for ampoules and to create a packaging which was positively different to the competition from a visual point of view also by saving space and providing the packaged products with good protection. They were also easy to remove.

The mission was completed after one and a half years. Machine manufacturer Uhlmann Pac-Systeme developed the packaging process including filling and also built the machine. Also new were the automated forming of the insert, automated side-loading feeding and the bonding of the insert and outer packaging. Together with folding box manufacturer Edelmann, this resulted in a ideal packaging. The graphic design was provided by Weleda. A simple and attractive solution, three colours on the outside, one colour inside, protected with dispersion lacquer, and launched for the first time on the market in the spring of 2012.

Jury comments

A perfect functional carton that did exactly what it was designed for. The internal structure held the ampoules very safely so they would not be damaged in transit. This internal structure was made completely from cartonboard so the whole pack was made from a single material. Special folding and gluing units were designed to ensure that the carton could be produced and packed fast and efficiently.

Finalists

Etui mit integrierter Packungsbeilage

Official name of entry: Etui mit integrierter Packungsbeilage
Entrant: Carton Producer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Brand Owner: Dr. Kade Pharmazeutische Fabrik GmbH
Structural Designer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Graphic Designer: Heymann Brandt DE Gelmini Werbeagentur AG
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund Paperboard
Elegant additional benefit
A case with an integrated package insert. The sealed case with package insert can be removed comforatably by the consumer. As an additional benefit, the elegant case can be used as a holder for the tablet blister.

Folding box with 3D lens

Official name of entry: Folding box with 3D lens
Entrant: Carton Producer: Karl Knauer KG
Brand Owner: GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Healthcare GmbH & Co. KG
Structural Designer: Karl Knauer KG
Graphic Designer: GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Healthcare GmbH & Co. KG
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Buchmann
Carton in focus
The 3D lens makes this solution unique. It highlights the Chlorhexamed key visual and reinforces the impact at the point of sale. At the same time, the new premium packaging is suitable for vending machines and can be processed on the same machines as the current solutions.