Food

Winner

Cupholder Müsli & Yoghurt

Official name of entry:
Cupholder Müsli & Yoghurt
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Mc Donalds Poland and Peter Kölln KGaA
Structural Designer:
WS Quack & Fischer GmbH
Graphic Designer:
Katarzyna Kielczewska, DDB Poland
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Handlich und frisch

Ursprünglich dachte man bei McDonald’s daran, die Tassen nebeneinander zu positionieren. Nach einigen Versuchen kam WS Quack & Fischer jedoch auf die Idee, die Tassen aufeinanderzustellen: Dadurch wird weniger Material verbraucht, weniger Platz im Kühlregal benötigt, und das Handling ist auch im Auto sehr einfach. Thomas Eicker, Leiter Verkauf und Marketing bei WS Quack & Fischer: „Ich glaube, es gibt derzeit keine Lösung für zwei Tassen übereinander. Schon das hebt unseren Ansatz von allen anderen ab.“

Die klare Gestaltung passt sich dem New Generation Global Packaging-Konzept von McDonald’s an. Die Farben signalisieren die Frische des Produkts. Der „Cupholder Müsli & Yoghurt“ braucht extrem wenig Platz im Kühlregal. Die besonders hohe Nachhaltigkeit dieser Lösung ist ein ganz entscheidender Vorteil auch für McDonald’s. Noch einmal Thomas Eicker: „Die neue Form wird das Interesse der Konsumenten wecken, und durch das einfache Handling werden sie es im Gedächtnis behalten. Doch der Hauptvorteil ist sicher die Nachhaltigkeit. Manchmal steckt viel mehr hinter einer scheinbar einfachen Lösung, als man sieht!“

Jury comments

Diese Einreichung sieht täuschend einfach aus, doch sie eignet sich perfekt für ihre Aufgabe. Eine vergleichsweise simple Kartonkonstruktion hält innen zwei Tassen sicher und zuverlässig. Zusätzlich von Vorteil ist die Ausführung des unteren Behälters unterhalb der Verpackung: Er passt genau in eine Getränkehalterung im Auto, sodass der Inhalt problemlos gemischt und verzehrt werden kann. Die geneigten Innenseiten unterstützen die Grafik, die gesamte Faltschachtel ist ansprechend und funktional.

Finalists

Gu Ramekins - Christmas 2011

Official name of entry: Gu Ramekins - Christmas 2011
Entrant: Carton Producer: Firstan Ltd
Brand Owner: Gü Puds
Structural Designer: Firstan Ltd
Graphic Designer: BigFish Ltd
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund Paperboard
Glänzender Genuss
Die Produktpalette „Gü Ramekins“ leuchtet auf unter den Dessert-Designs. Die glänzende Folie verleiht der Verpackung einen festlichen Aspekt, die Faltschachtel lässt sich abgewandelt aber auch während des Jahres einsetzen. Der Erfolg am Markt gab dem Konzept recht.

Food

Winner

Cupholder Müsli & Yoghurt

Official name of entry:
Cupholder Müsli & Yoghurt
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Mc Donalds Poland and Peter Kölln KGaA
Structural Designer:
WS Quack & Fischer GmbH
Graphic Designer:
Katarzyna Kielczewska, DDB Poland
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Handy and fresh

Originally McDonald’s had considered placing the cups next to each other. After a number of tests, WS Quack & Fischer came up with the idea of placing the cups on top of each other. This saves on material, requires less space in the refrigerated section and handling in the car is also very easy. Thomas Eicker, Head of Sales and Marketing at WS Quack & Fischer said “I believe there is no other solution available for two cups on top of each other at present. That alone separates us from the competition.”

The clear design is in line with McDonald’s New Generation Global Packaging Concept. The colours symbolise the freshness of the product and the “Cupholder Müsli & Yoghurt” needs extremely little space on the refrigerated shelf. The extremely high level of sustainability of this solution is also a decisive advantage for McDonald’s. Thomas Eicker adds: “The new shape will attract consumers’ attention, and the simplified handling will make customers remember the product. But the main benefit is, no doubt, the sustainability. Sometimes there is a lot more to what may seem a simple solution!”

Jury comments

This entry looked deceptively simple but was perfect for its intended use. A comparatively simple cartonboard construction held two pots inside safely and securely and had the added advantage that the lower container that was below the packaging had been designed to fit neatly into a cup holder in a car so the contents could be mixed and eaten safely in a car. The inward sloping sides enhanced the graphics and the whole carton was appealing and functional.

Finalists

Gu Ramekins - Christmas 2011

Official name of entry: Gu Ramekins - Christmas 2011
Entrant: Carton Producer: Firstan Ltd
Brand Owner: Gü Puds
Structural Designer: Firstan Ltd
Graphic Designer: BigFish Ltd
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund Paperboard
Sparkling delight
The “Gü ramekin” product range sparkles with dessert designs. The glossy foil gives the packs a festive Christmas look, and the carton can also be used during the rest of the year with different designs. The concept has proven successful on the market.