Food

Winner

Cupholder Müsli & Yoghurt

Official name of entry:
Cupholder Müsli & Yoghurt
Entrant: Carton Converter:
Brand Owner:
Mc Donalds Poland and Peter Kölln KGaA
Structural Designer:
WS Quack & Fischer GmbH
Graphic Designer:
Katarzyna Kielczewska, DDB Poland
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Pratique et frais

À l’origine, McDonald’s avait envisagé de disposer les gobelets l’un à côté de l’autre. Suite à de nombreux essais, WS Quack & Fischer a eu l’idée de placer les gobelets l’un sur l’autre. Cela permet d’économiser du matériau, requiert moins d’espace dans la section réfrigérée du magasin et en permet un maniement très commode dans la voiture. Thomas Eicker, Responsable des Ventes et Marketing chez WS Quack & Fischer a déclaré la chose suivante : « Je crois qu’il n’existe actuellement aucune autre solution disponible sur le marché pour deux gobelets l’un en dessus de l’autre. Cette seule caractéristique nous démarque de la concurrence. »

Le design fonctionnel est conforme au Concept d’Emballage Mondial de Nouvelle Génération de McDonald’s. Les couleurs symbolisent la fraîcheur du produit et le « Porte-gobelet Müesli & Yoghourt » requiert extrêmement peu d’espace sur les étagères de la section réfrigérée des magasins. Le très haut niveau de durabilité de cette solution représente également un avantage décisif pour McDonald’s. Thomas Eicker a ajouté la chose suivante : « La nouvelle forme du produit attirera l’attention des consommateurs et sa facilité de maniement fera que les consommateurs se souviendront du produit. Mais le principal bénéfice est, sans aucun doute, sa durabilité. Parfois, une simple solution est beaucoup plus riche qu’elle n’en paraît !

Jury comments

Ce produit avait un aspect d’une simplicité stupéfiante mais était parfait pour l’utilisation qui devait en être faite. Un produit en carton relativement simple contenait deux gobelets en toute sécurité et présentait l’avantage supplémentaire que le gobelet situé sur la partie inférieure de l’emballage avait été conçu afin de s’encastrer parfaitement dans un porte-gobelet de voiture, de manière à ce que les contenus puissent être mélangés et mangés en toute sécurité dans une voiture. Les parois latérales convexes du produit mettaient les dessins se trouvant dessus à leur avantage et le carton dans son ensemble était attrayant et fonctionnel.

Finalists

Gu Ramekins - Christmas 2011

Official name of entry: Gu Ramekins - Christmas 2011
Entrant: Carton Converter: Firstan Ltd
Brand Owner: Gü Puds
Structural Designer: Firstan Ltd
Graphic Designer: BigFish Ltd
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund Paperboard
Un délice étincelant
La catégorie de produit « Gü ramekin » étincelle avec ses designs pour desserts. La pellicule brillante donne aux packs un air de fêtes de Noël et le carton peut également être utilisé pendant le reste de l’année avec différents designs. Le concept a rencontré un franc succès sur le marché.

Food

Winner

Cupholder Müsli & Yoghurt

Official name of entry:
Cupholder Müsli & Yoghurt
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Mc Donalds Poland and Peter Kölln KGaA
Structural Designer:
WS Quack & Fischer GmbH
Graphic Designer:
Katarzyna Kielczewska, DDB Poland
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Handy and fresh

Originally McDonald’s had considered placing the cups next to each other. After a number of tests, WS Quack & Fischer came up with the idea of placing the cups on top of each other. This saves on material, requires less space in the refrigerated section and handling in the car is also very easy. Thomas Eicker, Head of Sales and Marketing at WS Quack & Fischer said “I believe there is no other solution available for two cups on top of each other at present. That alone separates us from the competition.”

The clear design is in line with McDonald’s New Generation Global Packaging Concept. The colours symbolise the freshness of the product and the “Cupholder Müsli & Yoghurt” needs extremely little space on the refrigerated shelf. The extremely high level of sustainability of this solution is also a decisive advantage for McDonald’s. Thomas Eicker adds: “The new shape will attract consumers’ attention, and the simplified handling will make customers remember the product. But the main benefit is, no doubt, the sustainability. Sometimes there is a lot more to what may seem a simple solution!”

Jury comments

This entry looked deceptively simple but was perfect for its intended use. A comparatively simple cartonboard construction held two pots inside safely and securely and had the added advantage that the lower container that was below the packaging had been designed to fit neatly into a cup holder in a car so the contents could be mixed and eaten safely in a car. The inward sloping sides enhanced the graphics and the whole carton was appealing and functional.

Finalists

Gu Ramekins - Christmas 2011

Official name of entry: Gu Ramekins - Christmas 2011
Entrant: Carton Producer: Firstan Ltd
Brand Owner: Gü Puds
Structural Designer: Firstan Ltd
Graphic Designer: BigFish Ltd
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund Paperboard
Sparkling delight
The “Gü ramekin” product range sparkles with dessert designs. The glossy foil gives the packs a festive Christmas look, and the carton can also be used during the rest of the year with different designs. The concept has proven successful on the market.