Confectionery

Winner

tic tac Fan-Rassel

Official name of entry:
tic tac Fan-Rassel
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
STI Group
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Klingende Verpackung

Um dem Nachwuchs einen Einblick in den Bereich Verpackungsdesign zu geben, schreibt die STI Group in einem zweijährigen Turnus den STI Design Award aus, der sich an Studierende internationaler Design-Hochschulen richtet. Eine der Aufgaben 2010 lautete: „Entwickeln Sie eine Fan-Verpackung für die Fußball-Weltmeisterschaft 2014 in Brasilien.“ Das brasilianische Rhythmus-Instrument Maraca als Promotion-Packung ging als Sieger aus dem Award hervor. Davon inspiriert, beauftragte Ferrero die Designer der STI Group, eine Fan-Rassel für tic tac zu konstruieren, denn: das Schütteln der tic tac-Packung und das damit verbundene typische Rasselgeräusch ließen sich optimal mit der Idee einer Maraca verbinden.
Die tic tac Fan-Rassel erobert mit dem bekannten „Sound“ die Fußballstadien und Fan-Meilen. Jede Rassel enthält je zwei Packungen tic tac Mint und Orange à 18 Gramm. Durch die Verwendung von Karton ist eine individuelle, länderspezifische und eventbezogene Herstellung möglich. Wichtig war dem Kunden das Material: nachhaltig erzeugter, voll recycelfähiger Karton. Die einzelnen tic tacs können jederzeit entnommen werden, ohne die Rassel aufzureißen. Willkommener Zusatzeffekt: Je nach Füllhöhe der Packung variiert der Klang.

Jury comments

Diese Verpackung hat die Jury überrascht, so etwas hatte sie noch nicht gesehen. Sie wurde zur Fußball-Europameisterschaft für eine große Zielgruppe eingeführt. Die Konstruktion ist ausgereift, schützt und präsentiert das Produkt hervorragend und hat dazu noch den Vorzug, eine Fußballrassel zu sein, die das Rasseln der tic tacs nützt. Hinzu kommt das klug konzipierte Design: Die Verpackung kann aus einem Stück Karton hergestellt werden. Ein sehr raffiniertes Konzept, gut gestaltet und ausgeführt.

Finalists

Adventskalender 2012

Official name of entry: Adventskalender 2012
Entrant: Carton Producer: Offsetdruckerei Schwarzach
Brand Owner: Gaber Backwaren
Structural Designer: Offsetdruckerei Schwarzach
Graphic Designer: irr Werbeagentur & Matthias Müller
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Sappi Alfeld GmbH
Bezaubernd und praktisch
Eine festliche Faltschachtel mit einem aufwendigen integrierten Pop-up. Die feine Haptik durch hochwertige Veredelungseffekte wirkt besonders anziehend. Darüber hinaus ist die Verpackung regalgerecht, kann wieder befüllt und weiter verwendet werden.

Smarties Disney 3x Giant Tubes

Official name of entry: Smarties Disney 3x Giant Tubes
Entrant: Carton Producer: Chesapeake Branded Packaging
Brand Owner: Nestlé ITR
Structural Designer: Nestlé ITR / Chesapeake
Graphic Designer: Nestlé ITR
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Tullis Russell
Hochwertiges Markendesign
Ein Eye-Catcher für die speziellen Ansprüche des Duty Free-Markts im aktuellen Smarties-Design: eine mehrteilige Runddose mit integriertem Tragegriff. Der Klarsichtdeckel ermöglicht direkte Sicht auf die Gratiszugabe, partiell freigestelltes metallisiertes Papier betont die Hochwertigkeit.

Suitcase Sleeve, Toblerone 750g

Official name of entry: Suitcase Sleeve, Toblerone 750g
Entrant: Carton Producer: Model PrimePac AG
Brand Owner: Kraft Foods, Schweiz
Structural Designer: Model PrimePac AG
Graphic Designer: formeldrei, CH-Bern
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund Paperboard
Verpackung auf Weltreise
Eine Geschenkverpackung der besonderen Art: unverwechselbar die Toblerone-Form, unerwartet das nostalgische Reisekoffer-Design, überraschend das Verschluss-System: Die Reaktionen im weltweiten Handel und bei den Konsumenten waren überwältigend.

Confectionery

Winner

tic tac Fan-Rassel

Official name of entry:
tic tac Fan-Rassel
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
STI Group
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
The sound of packaging

To give young talents insights into the field of packaging design, the STI Group sponsors the bi-annual STI Design Award directed at students enrolled at international design universities. One of the tasks of the 2010 Awards for the upcoming creatives was: “Create packaging for the football world championships 2014 in Brazil that will appeal to fans.”. The rhythm instrument Maraca, which is typical for Brazil, won the Award. This inspired Ferrero to commission the STI Group designers to design a fan rattle for tic tac, the reason being: the shaking of a pack of tic tac and the typical sound of a rattle could be combined perfectly with the idea of a Maraca.

The fan rattle was widely used in football grounds and the “sound” became well known. Each rattle included two packs each of tic tac Mint and Orange. By using cartonboard, individual country-specific and event-specific production was possible. For the customer, the use of sustainable, easily recyclable cartonboard was important. The individual tic tacs could be removed from the packs without tearing the carton apart. Additional added value was gained as the sound could be altered by changing the filling depth.

Jury comments

This pack astonished the jury who said they had never seen anything like it before. Launched around the European cup football to appeal to a wide range of people, the construction was sophisticated, contained, and displayed the product well and had the added advantage of being a football rattle utilising the rattling of the Tic Tacs. In addition the design was well conceived as the pack was made from a single piece of cartonboard. A very clever concept that was well designed and made.

Finalists

Adventskalender 2012

Official name of entry: Adventskalender 2012
Entrant: Carton Producer: Offsetdruckerei Schwarzach
Brand Owner: Gaber Backwaren
Structural Designer: Offsetdruckerei Schwarzach
Graphic Designer: irr Werbeagentur & Matthias Müller
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Sappi Alfeld GmbH
Enchanting and practical
A festive carton with an elaborate, integrated pop-up. High quality finishing provides especially attractive, delicate tactile effects. The packaging is also shelf-ready and can be refilled and re-used.

Smarties Disney 3x Giant Tubes

Official name of entry: Smarties Disney 3x Giant Tubes
Entrant: Carton Producer: Chesapeake Branded Packaging
Brand Owner: Nestlé ITR
Structural Designer: Nestlé ITR / Chesapeake
Graphic Designer: Nestlé ITR
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Tullis Russell
High quality brand design
An eye-catcher for the specific requirements of the Duty Free Market in current Smarties design. A multi-part round box with integrated carrying handle. The added bonus can be seen through the transparent lid and partially silhouetted metallised paper indicates the high quality.

Suitcase Sleeve, Toblerone 750g

Official name of entry: Suitcase Sleeve, Toblerone 750g
Entrant: Carton Producer: Model PrimePac AG
Brand Owner: Kraft Foods, Schweiz
Structural Designer: Model PrimePac AG
Graphic Designer: formeldrei, CH-Bern
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund Paperboard
Packaging on a trip around the world
Gift packaging in the unique Toblerone shape with the unexpected look of a vintage suitcase with a special closing mechanism. Reactions from the worldwide retail trade and consumers were overwhelming.