Carton of the Year

Winner

Taittinger Rose Lens

Official name of entry:
Taittinger Rose Lens
Entrant: Carton Converter:
VG Angoulême
Brand Owner:
Taittinger
Structural Designer:
VG Angoulême
Graphic Designer:
Taittinger
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Perlende Verpackung

Markeninhaber Champagne Taittinger entschied sich für den 3D-Perleneffekt, weil er brandneu war. Dann ging alles sehr schnell. Aurélie Lorenzo, Van Genechten Sales Director Premium Packaging: „Wir wollten sehr rasch vorgehen, um die Ersten auf dem Markt zu sein, und wir haben es geschafft! Das hatte vor uns noch niemand gemacht.“ Die Entwicklung wurde gemeinsam mit API realisiert, um diesen Effekt zu erzeugen. Zwischen dem ersten Gespräch und der Lieferung lagen nur vier Monate, eine Rekordzeit. Die Herausforderung die Platzierung der Perlen am neuen Karton – hier gab es die meisten Versuche und Anpassungen. „Wir machten viele Versuche, auch mit matten und glänzenden Effekten, um die perfekte Kombination für Taittinger zu finden.“

Das Ergebnis vermittelt Fruchtigkeit, Delikatesse und den perlenden Charme des Rosé-Champagners auf elegante Weise. Ein subtiles grafisches Design unterstreicht die Wirkung. Der Einsatz von Mattlack an ausgewählten Stellen steigert den Effekt der Perlen und verleiht der Verpackung Raffinesse und seidige Haptik. Eine Augenweide im Regal, nutzen die Perlen den „First Moment of Truth“ (FMOT) und verstärken die Ausstrahlung des Champagners. Kunden und Handel haben die neue Verpackung begeistert aufgenommen.

Jury comments

Die erstaunliche Qualität und die große Wirkung am Point of Sale waren in den Augen der Jury die wichtigsten Gründe für die Krönung zum Carton of the Year. Die „Perlen“ sind so gedruckt, als wären sie wirklich gewölbt. Erst wenn man sie berührt, erkennt man, dass sie in Wirklichkeit völlig flach sind. In einem derart umkämpften Markt wird diese Faltschachtel nach Ansicht der Jury unmittelbar Anklang finden und hervorstechen – eine perfekte Demonstration, welche Qualität beim Druck auf Karton erreichbar ist.

Carton of the Year

Winner

Taittinger Rose Lens

Official name of entry:
Taittinger Rose Lens
Entrant: Carton Producer:
VG Angoulême
Brand Owner:
Taittinger
Structural Designer:
VG Angoulême
Graphic Designer:
Taittinger
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Sparkling packaging

Brand owner Champagne Taittinger decided to go for the 3D sparkling bubble effect because it was brand new. From then on, things moved ahead at a furious pace. Aurélie Lorenzo, Van Genechten Sales Director Premium Packaging said “We wanted to proceed as fast as possible to be the first on the market, and we did it! Nobody had achieved this before us.” The development has been realised together with API to create this effect. Only four months had passed between the first talks and delivery, a record. The main challenge was placing the sparkling bubbles on the new carton – this is where the most trials and adjustments took place. “We conducted a number of trials, also with matt and glossy effects, to find the perfect combination for Taittinger.”

The result conveys fruitiness, “delicatesse” and the bubbling charm of the Rosé Champagne in a most elegant manner. The subtle graphic design underlines this effect. Using matt lacquer at selected points supports the effect of the “pearls” and gives the packaging sophistication and a silky tactile feeling. A true eye-catcher on the shelf, the pearly bubbles provide that “First Moment of Truth” (FMOT) and support the aura of the champagne. Customers and the retail trade are delighted with the new packaging.

Jury comments

The astonishing quality and huge impact at the point of sale were, the judges felt, the main reasons that they awarded this carton the accolade of Carton of the Year. The “bubbles” were printed in such a way that they looked as though they were actually spheres and it was not until they were touched that one realised that they were in fact completely flat. In a market that is fiercely competitive the Judges felt this carton had instant appeal and standout and demonstrated perfectly what quality can be achieved when printing on cartonboard.