Beverages

Winner

Coeur de cognac

Official name of entry:
Coeur de cognac
Entrant: Carton Producer:
VG Angoulême
Brand Owner:
Remy Cointreau
Structural Designer:
VG Angoulême
Graphic Designer:
The Brand Union Paris
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Das Herz der Verpackung

Der Auftrag des Kunden war eindeutig: In Zukunft sollte die Verpackung ohne Kunststofffenster auskommen, um im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit Material zu sparen. Trotzdem sollte sie ein Fenster haben, das die besonders elegante Flasche zur Geltung bringt. Das gewichtige Produkt in einem offenen Karton sicher zu verankern, war eine große technische Herausforderung. Logisch, dass gerade bei diesem Projekt Faltschachtelhersteller Van Genechten Angoulême die Entwicklung von Anfang an betreute.

Das Ergebnis ist eine auf beiden Seiten offene Faltschachtel. Sie ist so konstruiert, dass die Flasche perfekt gesichert und geschützt wird und dennoch gut sichtbar ist. Der Perlmuttglanz des Lackes erzeugt einen sanften Glitzereffekt, der dem Produkt zusätzliche Prominenz verleiht. Marcelle Bordas-Levazeux, Key Account Manager Produits de Luxe bei Van Genechten: „Unsere Lösung wird in ganz Europa verkauft und ist ein großer Erfolg am Markt. Wir haben schon zahlreiche Nachbestellungen bekommen.“

Jury comments

Bei diesem Sieger beeindruckte die Jury, dass die Flasche offen in einem großen runden Ausschnitt präsentiert wird, während Cognac-Faltschachteln normalerweise geschlossen sind. Das strukturelle Design fand die Jury perfekt: Es ist sehr stark, und bei so einem hochwertigen Produkt ist es entscheidend, dass die Flasche gut und sicher eingefasst ist. Großzügige Sichtbarkeit des Produkts in Verbindung mit sicherem, robustem Design macht die Verpackung im Regal attraktiv für Konsumenten.

Finalists

Hendrick's Curiositorium Gift Pack

Official name of entry: Hendrick's Curiositorium Gift Pack
Entrant: Carton Producer: Chesapeake Branded Packaging
Brand Owner: William Grants & Sons Ltd
Structural Designer: Chesapeake Branded Packaging
Graphic Designer: Here Design
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Korsnäs
Großer Auftritt
Diese Faltschachtel inszeniert das Produkt auf einer Theaterbühne, sie schützt aber auch den Inhalt und liefert den Untersatz gleich mit. Sie kann im Geschäft leicht geöffnet und wieder verschlossen werden, um Diebstahlsicherungen anzubringen und zu entfernen.

Madonna Smirnoff limited Edition

Official name of entry: Madonna Smirnoff limited Edition
Entrant: Carton Producer: Cartondruck GmbH
Brand Owner: Diageo Polska
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mead Westvaco
Schlaglicht auf Madonna
Eine aufwendig gestaltete Faltschachtel mit vielen „Spotlights“ und einer Besonderheit: einer speziell integrierten Beilage mit einem VIP-Pass und einem Code für den Internetzugriff auf mehr exklusive Inhalte zu Madonnas Tour und CDs.

Beverages

Winner

Coeur de cognac

Official name of entry:
Coeur de cognac
Entrant: Carton Producer:
VG Angoulême
Brand Owner:
Remy Cointreau
Structural Designer:
VG Angoulême
Graphic Designer:
The Brand Union Paris
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
At the core of packaging

The customer’s briefing was to the point: in future, all packaging was to be without plastic windows to save materials sustainably. However, windows were still required to display the extremely elegant bottle. Anchoring the heavy product safely in an open carton was a technical challenge in itself. So it appeared logical that folded carton manufacturer Van Genechten Angoulême was involved in the project from the beginning.

The result is a folded box, open on both sides, which is designed to perfectly secure and protect the bottle, at the same time being clearly visible for consumers. The mother of pearl gloss of the lacquer creates a soft glittering effect, giving the product added prominence. Marcelle Bordas-Levazeux, Key Account Manager Produits de Luxe at Van Genechten said “Our solution is being sold across Europe and is a big success on the market. We have already received several re-orders.”

Jury comments

What impressed the judges about this winner was that usually in cognac boxes the cartons are enclosed whereas on this one the bottle is displayed openly behind a large round cut out. They also felt that the structural design was perfect in that it was very strong and with such a high value product it is vital to ensure that the bottle is well contained and safe. Great visibility of the product allied to the safe and sturdy design ensured that this carton would appeal to consumers on the shelf.

Finalists

Hendrick's Curiositorium Gift Pack

Official name of entry: Hendrick's Curiositorium Gift Pack
Entrant: Carton Producer: Chesapeake Branded Packaging
Brand Owner: William Grants & Sons Ltd
Structural Designer: Chesapeake Branded Packaging
Graphic Designer: Here Design
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Korsnäs
Encore
This carton presents the product on a theatre stage, at the same time protecting the contents and providing a base. The pack can be opened and closed easily in-store to apply and remove anti-theft devices.

Madonna Smirnoff limited Edition

Official name of entry: Madonna Smirnoff limited Edition
Entrant: Carton Producer: Cartondruck GmbH
Brand Owner: Diageo Polska
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mead Westvaco
Spotlight on Madonna
Elaborate, stunning design with numerous “spotlights” and a special feature: an integrated insert containing a VIP Pass Card with a special code for getting access on the internet for more information on Madonna’s tour and albums.