Beauty & Cosmetics

Winner

Beiersdorf mini essentials

Official name of entry:
Beiersdorf mini essentials
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Beiersdorf UK Ltd
Structural Designer:
Clondalkin Pharma & Healthcare UK
Graphic Designer:
Design Activity and Mango Consultancy
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Kleines Geschenk, große Wirkung

Nach dem Briefing von Beiersdorf zeigte Clondalkin eine seiner „Push Top“-Konstruktionen. Beiersdorf fragte daraufhin, ob auch eine auf beiden Seiten zu öffnende Variante möglich sei – was auch gelang und alle Praxistests bestand. Das Ergebnis ist eine innovative hexagonale Konstruktion, die sich wie eine Packung der typisch englischen Christmas Cracker öffnen lässt.

Clare Wright, Nivea Gifting Manager: „Ein kostengünstiges und doch sehr eigenständiges Design, mit dem wir im Geschäft in einer sehr umkämpften Saison auffallen. Der Geschenkmarkt wuchs 2011 um 1,2 Prozent – Nivea wuchs um 13,2 Prozent! Dieses Konzept ist das einzige, das wir bereits im zweiten Jahr verwendet haben, weil sich die Verpackung im Regal stark abhebt und Interesse weckt.“ Dazu Ray Grundy, Clondalkin Business Development Manager: „Meines Wissens ist es das erste Mal, dass eine Geschenkverpackung zwei Jahre läuft.“ Auch die Konsumenten äußerten sich begeistert: „,Nivea For Men Prepare to Get Festive Gift‘ ist ein Lieblingsgeschenk von mir, ich lege es unter den Weihnachtsbaum, mochte es aber schon vorher wegen der Miniaturflaschen, die wunderbar für Übernachtungen außer Haus oder für Wochenenden sind. Und die Verpackung ist sehr festlich.“

Jury comments

Die Jury hat diese Art der Konstruktion schon in anderen Branchen gesehen, doch hier zum ersten Mal im kosmetischen Segment. Die Verpackung ist attraktiv am Point of Sale und passend für viele Zielgruppen. Die Drehöffnung an beiden Enden wirkt intuitiv, ist leicht zu benutzen und auch leicht wieder zu verschließen. Die Jury fand, dies sei ein ideales Geschenk und die verschiedenen grafischen Designs der Produktpalette ansprechend und anziehend.

Finalists

Biocomplete

Official name of entry: Biocomplete
Entrant: Graphic Designer: bandke consulting branding + design
Carton Producer: rlc packaging group, Hannover
Brand Owner: Rudolf Lenhart GmbH & Co. KG
Structural Designer: brandpacklc packaging group, Hannover
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund Paperboard
Alternative Palette
Biocomplete ist eine neuartige Mundpflege-Linie für die Zielgruppe der LOHAS (Lifestyle of Health and Sustainability). Die Verpackung gibt der Standtube ein neues Erscheinungsbild und spart 20 Prozent Material ein im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Zahncreme-Faltschachteln.

Pack Colección Bella Aurora

Official name of entry: Pack Colección Bella Aurora
Entrant: Carton Producer: Karbest, S.L.
Brand Owner: IMC Med Cosmetics, S.A.
Structural Designer: Karbest, S.L.
Graphic Designer: IMC Med Cosmetics, S.A.
Cartonboard Manufacturer: International Paper
Geschwungene Linien
Gesucht wurde eine auffällige und innovative Verpackung für ein klassisches Produkt. Gefunden wurde eine Lösung, die ohne rechte Winkel auskommt, sich leicht und exquisit wie eine Blüte öffnet. Eine Verdoppelung der Verkaufsprognosen gibt diesem Konzept recht.

strellson loaded

Official name of entry: strellson loaded
Entrant: Carton Producer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Brand Owner: Holy Fashion Group, Strellson AG; License: Mäurer & Wirtz
Structural Designer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Graphic Designer: Peter Schmidt Group
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Sappi Alfeld GmbH
Sportliches Band
Eine Faltschachtel mit Verschlusslasche, die nicht eingesteckt, sondern mit einem Band gehalten wird – so die Aufgabe. Die Lösung: Ein Band, fixiert auf der Rückseite, hält durch einen geprägten Kanal auf der Kartonlasche. Das textile Element gehört zum sportlichen Aspekt der Marke.

Beauty & Cosmetics

Winner

Beiersdorf mini essentials

Official name of entry:
Beiersdorf mini essentials
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Beiersdorf UK Ltd
Structural Designer:
Clondalkin Pharma & Healthcare UK
Graphic Designer:
Design Activity and Mango Consultancy
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Small gift, big results

After the briefing by Beiersdorf, Clondalkin presented one of its “Push Top”- designs. Beiersdorf then asked whether a variant was possible which could be opened on both sides – which was possible and passed all tests in practice. The result is an innovative, hexagonal design which can be opened like a typical English Christmas Cracker.

Clare Wright, Nivea Gifting Manager said “A cost-effective, yet singular design which allows us to stand out in stores during a highly competitive season. The market for gifts increased by 1.2 per cent in 2011 – Nivea grew by 13.2 per cent! This is the first concept we have used for the second year running, as it is an eye-catcher on the shelves and generates interest.” Adds Ray Grundy, Clondalkin Business Development Manager “As far as I know this is the first time that a gift packaging runs for two consecutive years.” And consumers have also responded enthusiastically: “Nivea For Men Prepare to Get Festive Gift” is one of my favourite gifts, I buy it to place under the Christmas tree and also want it for its miniature bottles, perfect for overnight stays, for weekends etc. And the packaging is very festive.”

Jury comments

Whilst the Judges had seen this type of construction in other sectors, they felt it was the first time that had seen it used in the cosmetic market. It was attractive at the point of sale and the twist opening at both ends was intuitive and easy to use. It was also easy to close again after use and would be attractive across a wide demographic. They felt it would be an ideal gift and the various graphic designs used in the range were attractive and appealing.

Finalists

Biocomplete

Official name of entry: Biocomplete
Entrant: Graphic Designer: bandke consulting branding + design
Carton Producer: rlc packaging group, Hannover
Brand Owner: Rudolf Lenhart GmbH & Co. KG
Structural Designer: brandpacklc packaging group, Hannover
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund Paperboard
Alternative range
Biocomplete is a novel oral care product range for the LOHAS (Lifestyle of Health and Sustainability) target group. The packaging gives the standing tube a new look and saves 20 per cent material compared with conventional toothpaste cartons.

Pack Colección Bella Aurora

Official name of entry: Pack Colección Bella Aurora
Entrant: Carton Producer: Karbest, S.L.
Brand Owner: IMC Med Cosmetics, S.A.
Structural Designer: Karbest, S.L.
Graphic Designer: IMC Med Cosmetics, S.A.
Cartonboard Manufacturer: International Paper
Curved lines
The objective was to create eye-catching and innovative packaging for a classic product. The result is a carton without any right angles, which opens exquisitely like a flower. This approach has been confirmed by a doubling of sales.

strellson loaded

Official name of entry: strellson loaded
Entrant: Carton Producer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Brand Owner: Holy Fashion Group, Strellson AG; License: Mäurer & Wirtz
Structural Designer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Graphic Designer: Peter Schmidt Group
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Sappi Alfeld GmbH
Sporting ribbon
The briefing was to create a new way of closing packaging using only cartonboard and a textile ribbon. The challenge was the combination of a textile and a printed ribbon. The textile element is part of the brand’s sporty appeal.