Non-food

Winner

  • Aqua Care 1
     
  • Aqua Care 2
     
  • Aqua Care 3
     
  • Aqua Care 4
     

Aqua Care

Official name of entry:
Aqua Care
Carton Converter:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Acket drukkerij kartonnage bv
Graphic Designer:
HCGP, Vught
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Zhonghua-Paper
Kurven mit Charme für das Regal

Aqua Care wurde 2010 als neues Produkt in Do-it-yourself-Geschäften und Gartenmärkten eingeführt. Der Erzeuger Elho ist ein wichtiger und innovativer Lieferant in diesem Segment. Acket war vom Anfang der Verpackungsentwicklung an in das Projekt involviert. Die Partner waren das Produktmanagement von Elho sowie die Designagentur HCGP im holländischen Vught. Die Grundidee kam von Elho, Acket entwickelte das strukturelle Design, HCGP steuerte die grafische Gestaltung bei. Ausgangspunkt war der Wunsch nach maximaler Sichtbarkeit des Produkts und einer Konstruktion, die der Form des Produkts so weit wie möglich folgt. Sie sollte auch genug Raum für grafische Gestaltung und maximale Kommunikation bieten und zugleich eine solide Aufhängung für das Produkt am Display. Vergleichbare Produkte haben keinerlei Verpackung, sie eignen sich nicht für eine Selbstbedienung oder stecken nur in einem Kunststoffsack. Die sechs Monate Entwicklungszeit waren gut investiert: Die Einführung des Produkts war erfolgreich, sowohl Handel wie Konsumenten reagierten sehr positiv.

Jury comments

Zwei Produkte mit dieser Form sicher und effizient zu verpacken, war zweifellos ein Härtetest für den Designer. Es wäre einfach gewesen, eine konventionellere Faltschachtel einzusetzen, doch mit dem raffinierten Design werden die Produkte sicher gehalten, gut präsentiert und attraktiver gemacht. Die Verpackung ist zudem leicht zu öffnen, was die Jury als wichtig empfand, weil so viele Verpackungen zunehmend schwieriger zu öffnen sind. Die Grafik ist klar und die Bedienungsanweisungen sind integriert, sodass die ganze Verpackung sehr konsumentenfreundlich ist.

Finalists

ABT Hohlrahmenschachtel 1

ABT Hohlrahmenschachtel

Official name of entry: ABT Hohlrahmenschachtel
Carton Converter: MMP Schausberger, Austria
Brand Owner: ABT Sportsline GmbH
Structural Designer: MMP Schausberger, Austria
Graphic Designer: ABT Sportsline GmbH
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Europapier
Ein Geschenk mit Charisma
Bei der Neugestaltung einer Geschenkverpackung für die Auto-Tuning-Firma ABT hatte MMP Schausberger vollkommen freie Hand. Die Wahl fiel auf eine Faltschachtel in Form eines Sport-Auspuffs. Ein gestanztes Gitter und die Heißfolienprägung auf durchgefärbtem Karton geben der Verpackung eine überzeugende Aura.
Anti-Rutsch-Tablett 1

Anti-Rutsch-Tablett

Official name of entry: Anti-Rutsch-Tablett
Carton Converter: STI Group, Co Producer CL Rick
Brand Owner: Kurt Lilly GmbH & Co. KG
Structural Designer: STI Consulting GmbH
Graphic Designer: STI Consulting GmbH
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund Paperboard
Rutschfeste Markenkommunikation
Die STI Group hat ein innovatives, rutschfestes Tablett aus Karton entwickelt, das nachhaltig ist und individuell gestaltet werden kann. Das Tablett aus einem tiefgezogenen Karton kann individuell bedruckt und in verschiedenen Formen und Größen produziert werden. Ein Speziallack verhindert ein Verrutschen der auf dem Tablett transportierten Produkte.

Exclusive Packaging Thong Sandals

Official name of entry: Exclusive Packaging Thong Sandals
Carton Converter: Friedrich Freund GmbH
Brand Owner: Schein Orthopädie Service KG
Structural Designer: Friedrich Freund GmbH
Graphic Designer: Schein Orthopädie Service KG
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Buchmann
Die besondere Verpackung für einen Einheitsmarkt
Das Unternehmen Schein war auf der Suche nach einer individuellen Verpackung für seine sehr individuellen Zehenstegsandalen. Verpackungshersteller Freund fand die Lösung. Die Tragetaschenfunktion soll die Plastiktüte ersetzen, um den Umweltaspekt zu unterstützen und zukunftsorientiert zu handeln.

Produktfamilie Messbecher für Dow AgroScience

Official name of entry: Produktfamilie Messbecher für Dow AgroScience
Carton Converter: Karl Knauer KG
Brand Owner: Dow AgroSciences S.A.S.
Structural Designer: Karl Knauer KG
Graphic Designer: Dow AgroSciences S.A.S.
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Korsnäs
Flexibler und nachhaltiger als Kunststoff
Der flexible und flachliegende Messbecher aus Karton von Karl Knauer ersetzt einen unflexiblen Kunststoffbecher, wodurch sich viele Vorteile ergeben: nachhaltiges Recycling, verbesserte Energiebilanz sowie Kosteneinsparungen bei Transport und Lagerung, weil die Produktschachtel kleiner werden kann.

Non-food

Winner

  • Aqua Care 1
     
  • Aqua Care 2
     
  • Aqua Care 3
     
  • Aqua Care 4
     

Aqua Care

Official name of entry:
Aqua Care
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Acket drukkerij kartonnage bv
Graphic Designer:
HCGP, Vught
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Zhonghua-Paper
Charming curves for the shelf

Aqua Care was launched in 2010 as a new product in Do-it-yourself stores and garden/horticultural supermarkets. The manufacturer, Elho, is an important and innovative manufacturer in this sector. Acket was involved in the project right from the start with packaging development. Partners were the product management at Elho, as well as the Vught-based design agency HCGP in the Netherlands. Elho was responsible for the basic idea, Acket developed the structural design, and HCGP contributed the graphic design. The starting point was to achieve maximum visibility for the product and a design which mirrors the shape of the product as well as possible. In addition there was to be sufficient space for graphic design and a maximum of communication, as well as a robust means of hanging the product in the display.

Jury comments

To pack safely and effectively two products of this shape must have been a real test for a designer. It would have been simple to use a more conventional carton but with a clever design, the products are held safely whilst at the same time being well displayed so making them more attractive. The pack was also easy to open which the Judges felt was vital as so much packaging seems increasingly difficult to open. The graphics were clear and usage instructions were included making the whole pack very consumer friendly.

Finalists

ABT Hohlrahmenschachtel 1

ABT Hohlrahmenschachtel

Official name of entry: ABT Hohlrahmenschachtel
Carton Producer: MMP Schausberger, Austria
Brand Owner: ABT Sportsline GmbH
Structural Designer: MMP Schausberger, Austria
Graphic Designer: ABT Sportsline GmbH
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Europapier
A gift with charisma
MMP Schausberger were given a completely free hand in the new design of a gift packaging for car tuners ABT.  The chosen carton had the shape of a sports exhaust pipe. A stamped grid and hot foil embossing on completely dyed cartonboard convey a convincing aura.
Anti-Rutsch-Tablett 1

Anti-Rutsch-Tablett

Official name of entry: Anti-Rutsch-Tablett
Carton Producer: STI Group, Co Producer CL Rick
Brand Owner: Kurt Lilly GmbH & Co. KG
Structural Designer: STI Consulting GmbH
Graphic Designer: STI Consulting GmbH
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund Paperboard
Anti-slip brand communications
The STI Group has developed an innovative, non-slip tray made of carton that is sustainable and can be designed individually. The tray made of  a deep-drawn cardboard can be printed individually and produced in various shapes and sizes. A special coating prevents slipping of the transported products from the tray.

Exclusive Packaging Thong Sandals

Official name of entry: Exclusive Packaging Thong Sandals
Carton Producer: Friedrich Freund GmbH
Brand Owner: Schein Orthopädie Service KG
Structural Designer: Friedrich Freund GmbH
Graphic Designer: Schein Orthopädie Service KG
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Buchmann
Special packaging for a uniform market
The Schein company was looking for individual packaging for its highly individual toe strap sandals. Packaging manufacturer Freund came up with the solution. The carrier bag function was to replace the need for a plastic bag, underline the environmental aspect and signal future-orientation.  

Produktfamilie Messbecher für Dow AgroScience

Official name of entry: Produktfamilie Messbecher für Dow AgroScience
Carton Producer: Karl Knauer KG
Brand Owner: Dow AgroSciences S.A.S.
Structural Designer: Karl Knauer KG
Graphic Designer: Dow AgroSciences S.A.S.
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Korsnäs
More flexible and sustainable than plastic
The flexible and flat cartonboard measuring beaker designed by Karl Knauer replaces the inflexible plastic beaker and provides a number of benefits: sustainable recycling, improved energy balance, and cost savings during transport and storage as the product carton can be made smaller.