Food

Winner

  • Cafe Colombiano 1
     
  • Cafe Colombiano 2
     
  • Cafe Colombiano 3
     
  • Cafe Colombiano 4
     

Cafe Colombiano

Official name of entry:
Cafe Colombiano
Carton Converter:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Chesapeake Branded Packaging
Graphic Designer:
Global Coffee Group
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Une équipe parfaite sur la chaîne de distribution

Le plus grand défi dans la conception de l’emballage de Cafe Colombiano a été de faire passer l’idée de la qualité du produit qui serait aussi extraordinaire que possible sans avoir recours à un modèle extravagant ni à des matériaux inhabituels. Étant donné ces contraintes, Chesapeake a cherché une combinaison originale de techniques de finition pour obtenir quelque chose de frais et de frappant. Le client, le Groupe Global Coffee, a accordé sa pleine confiance au processus de création. En utilisant une structure en semi-relief en arrière-plan, la conception rappelle la texture typique des sacs de café. Mais pour donner un meilleur effet, on a décidé d’avoir recours à un outil 3D : des grains en relief 3D. Comme on le voit aujourd’hui, le relief 3D pour mettre en évidence les grains de café semble assez courant, mais de nombreuses possibilités ont été analysées durant le processus de création. Ce ne fut qu’après une simulation numérique que le Groupe Global Coffee a décidé d’opter pour la combinaison 2D et 3D, incluant micro-relief et carton stratifié avec un blanc opaque tout comme un attrayant vernis mat et brillant. Au niveau de la production, ce fut un défi de créer la profondeur du relief en 3D et le parfait registre de toutes les finitions et de tous les effets, car l’emballage est assez petit. L’emballage est une preuve d’une parfaite harmonie entre le propriétaire de la marque, les concepteurs et les techniciens.

Jury comments

Ce sont les techniques de finition qui ont été déterminantes pour déclarer cet emballage gagnant de cette catégorie. Chacun des grains de café sur la partie frontale de l’emballage était en relief et ressortait avec du papier d’aluminium et cela uni à l’excellente impression donne une image de grande qualité du point de vue des ventes dans un secteur où la concurrence est féroce. L’ensemble des couleurs se marient très bien avec les contenus et les rehauts judicieux de couleur or attirent le regard ; en conséquence, les membres du jury ont considéré qu’il s’agissait d’un emballage carton très réussi.

Finalists

De Ruijter Specials

Official name of entry: De Ruijter Specials
Carton Converter: Acket drukkerij kartonnage bv
Brand Owner: HJ Heinz bv
Structural Designer: Acket drukkerij kartonnage bv
Graphic Designer: Mountain design bv
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Walki GmbH
Nouveau design pour relancer le produit
Les produits de la marque Heinz et le fabricant d'emballage Acket ont travaillé étroitement pour définir du point de vue structurel un nouvel emballage d'un produit du petit déjeuner déjà bien établi :  le bec extérieur est remplacé par une version « élégante » intégrée, rendant le remplissage et la manipulation plus facile. L'emballage est assez petit, mais très joli.

Produktfamilie Körbe und Schalen für Obst und Gemüse

Official name of entry: Produktfamilie Körbe und Schalen für Obst und Gemüse
Carton Converter: Karl Knauer KG
Brand Owner: Wiesenhof Pilzland Produktions GmbH
Structural Designer: Karl Knauer KG
Graphic Designer: Karl Knauer KG
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Buchmann Korsnäs
Remplacement du plastique attrayant et durable
Les paniers à anse et les bols suivant l'idée des corbeilles à bûches est une création du fabricant d'emballage Karl Knauer. Le défi était d'ajouter une protection contre la moisissure à l'intérieur, d'obtenir une bonne stabilité et de satisfaire les exigences d'un contact direct avec l'aliment.

Food

Winner

  • Cafe Colombiano 1
     
  • Cafe Colombiano 2
     
  • Cafe Colombiano 3
     
  • Cafe Colombiano 4
     

Cafe Colombiano

Official name of entry:
Cafe Colombiano
Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Chesapeake Branded Packaging
Graphic Designer:
Global Coffee Group
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Perfect team play in the supply chain

The biggest challenge in designing the Cafe Colombiano pack was to develop an idea which could communicate the quality of the product and be as extraordinary as possible without requiring extravagant construction or unusual materials. Given these limitations, Chesapeake looked for an original combination of finishing techniques to achieve a fresh and eye-catching effect. The customer, the Global Coffee Group, showed complete trust throughout the development process. Using micro-embossing as a background, the design reminds of the textile structure typical of coffee sacks. But to give that extra effect, they decided to employ a rarely used 3D tool: 3D-embossing of the beans. From today’s point of view, 3D-embossing to highlight the coffee beans seems quite natural, but numerous alternatives were discussed during development. It was only after digital simulation that the Global Coffee Group decided to go for the combination of 2D and 3D, finding both micro-embossing and the laminated carton with opaque white as well as matt and glossy varnish attractive. A challenge in production was the depth of the 3D-embossing and the perfect register of all finishes and effects as the packaging is relatively small. The packaging is proof of perfect team play between the brand owner, designers and technicians.

Jury comments

Finishing techniques were the key element in making this the winner of this category. Each of the individual coffee beans on the front of the carton were embossed and picked out with foil and this allied to excellent printing gave a high quality image at the point of sale in a sector where competition is fierce. The overall colour co-ordinated well with the contents and the clever use of gold gave highlights that drew the eye to the carton and so the Jury felt this was a most successful carton.

Finalists

De Ruijter Specials

Official name of entry: De Ruijter Specials
Carton Producer: Acket drukkerij kartonnage bv
Brand Owner: HJ Heinz bv
Structural Designer: Acket drukkerij kartonnage bv
Graphic Designer: Mountain design bv
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Walki GmbH
New design for relaunch
Branded goods company Heinz and packaging manufacturer Acket worked together closely on this structurally new packaging for a well-established breakfast product:  the external spout is replaced by a more “elegant” integrated version, making filling and handling more cost-efficient. The packaging is relatively small, but luxurious.

Produktfamilie Körbe und Schalen für Obst und Gemüse

Official name of entry: Produktfamilie Körbe und Schalen für Obst und Gemüse
Carton Producer: Karl Knauer KG
Brand Owner: Wiesenhof Pilzland Produktions GmbH
Structural Designer: Karl Knauer KG
Graphic Designer: Karl Knauer KG
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Buchmann Korsnäs
Attractive and sustainable replacement for plastic
The carrying baskets and bowls in chip basket design are an own development of the packaging manufacturer Karl Knauer. The challenge was to add moisture protection to the inside, achieve the necessary stability and to meet the requirements for direct contact with food.