Food

Winner

  • Cafe Colombiano 1
     
  • Cafe Colombiano 2
     
  • Cafe Colombiano 3
     
  • Cafe Colombiano 4
     

Cafe Colombiano

Official name of entry:
Cafe Colombiano
Carton Converter:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Chesapeake Branded Packaging
Graphic Designer:
Global Coffee Group
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Perfektes Zusammenspiel in der Supply Chain

Die größte Herausforderung beim Design von Caffè Colombiano war, eine Idee zu finden, die die Qualität des Produkts vermitteln kann und so außergewöhnlich wie möglich ist, ohne extravagante Konstruktionen oder Materialien einzusetzen. Innerhalb dieser Grenzen versuchte Chesapeake eine originelle Verbindung von Veredelungstechniken zu finden, um einen frischen und augenfälligen Effekt zu erzielen. Der Kunde Global Coffee Group bewies während des gesamten Entwicklungsprozesses volles Vertrauen. Mit der Mikroprägung im Hintergrund erinnern die Designer an das typische textile Muster von Kaffeesäcken. Aber für einen wirklich besonderen Effekt entschieden sie sich für ein selten benutztes 3 D-Werkzeug: Die 3 D-Prägung der Kaffeebohnen im Vordergrund scheint heute auf der Hand zu liegen, doch während der Entwicklung wurden mehrere Alternativen diskutiert. Erst nach der digitalen Simulation entschied sich die Global Coffee Group für die Verbindung von 2 D und 3 D, die Mikroprägung fand ebenso Gefallen wie der laminierte Karton mit Deckweiß sowie matter und glänzender Lackierung. Herausforderung für die Produktion war die Tiefe der 3 D-Prägung und das perfekte Register aller Veredelungen und Effekte, denn die Verpackung ist relativ klein. Sie ist das Ergebnis einer perfekten Zusammenarbeit zwischen Markenartikler, Designern und Technikern.

Jury comments

Für den Sieg in dieser Kategorie war in diesem Fall die Veredelung ausschlaggebend. Jede einzelne Kaffeebohne auf der Vorderseite ist geprägt und mit Folie herausgehoben. Dies ergibt gemeinsam mit dem hervorragenden Druck ein hochqualitatives Image am POS, und das in einem Bereich, in dem die Konkurrenz besonders hart ist. Die Farben passen gut zum Inhalt, und der raffinierte Einsatz von Gold schafft Akzente, die den Blick anziehen, sodass die Jury diese Faltschachtel für sehr erfolgreich hält.

Finalists

De Ruijter Specials

Official name of entry: De Ruijter Specials
Carton Converter: Acket drukkerij kartonnage bv
Brand Owner: HJ Heinz bv
Structural Designer: Acket drukkerij kartonnage bv
Graphic Designer: Mountain design bv
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Walki GmbH
Neues Design für den Relaunch
Markenartikler Heinz und Verpackungshersteller Acket arbeiteten eng zusammen an dieser strukturell neuen Verpackung für ein gut eingeführtes Frühstücksprodukt: Der externe Ausguss wurde durch eine „schickere“ integrierte Version ersetzt, was Befüllung und Manipulation kostengünstiger machte. Die Verpackung ist relativ klein, aber luxurös.

Produktfamilie Körbe und Schalen für Obst und Gemüse

Official name of entry: Produktfamilie Körbe und Schalen für Obst und Gemüse
Carton Converter: Karl Knauer KG
Brand Owner: Wiesenhof Pilzland Produktions GmbH
Structural Designer: Karl Knauer KG
Graphic Designer: Karl Knauer KG
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Buchmann Korsnäs
Ansprechender und nachhaltiger Ersatz für Kunststoff
Die Tragekörbe und Schalen im Spankorbdesign sind eine Eigenentwicklung des Verpackungsherstellers Karl Knauer. Die Herausforderungen lagen darin, einen Feuchtigkeitsschutz auf der Innenseite einzubringen, die notwendige Stabilität zu erreichen und die Anforderungen für Lebensmitteldirektkontakt zu erfüllen.

Food

Winner

  • Cafe Colombiano 1
     
  • Cafe Colombiano 2
     
  • Cafe Colombiano 3
     
  • Cafe Colombiano 4
     

Cafe Colombiano

Official name of entry:
Cafe Colombiano
Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Chesapeake Branded Packaging
Graphic Designer:
Global Coffee Group
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Perfect team play in the supply chain

The biggest challenge in designing the Cafe Colombiano pack was to develop an idea which could communicate the quality of the product and be as extraordinary as possible without requiring extravagant construction or unusual materials. Given these limitations, Chesapeake looked for an original combination of finishing techniques to achieve a fresh and eye-catching effect. The customer, the Global Coffee Group, showed complete trust throughout the development process. Using micro-embossing as a background, the design reminds of the textile structure typical of coffee sacks. But to give that extra effect, they decided to employ a rarely used 3D tool: 3D-embossing of the beans. From today’s point of view, 3D-embossing to highlight the coffee beans seems quite natural, but numerous alternatives were discussed during development. It was only after digital simulation that the Global Coffee Group decided to go for the combination of 2D and 3D, finding both micro-embossing and the laminated carton with opaque white as well as matt and glossy varnish attractive. A challenge in production was the depth of the 3D-embossing and the perfect register of all finishes and effects as the packaging is relatively small. The packaging is proof of perfect team play between the brand owner, designers and technicians.

Jury comments

Finishing techniques were the key element in making this the winner of this category. Each of the individual coffee beans on the front of the carton were embossed and picked out with foil and this allied to excellent printing gave a high quality image at the point of sale in a sector where competition is fierce. The overall colour co-ordinated well with the contents and the clever use of gold gave highlights that drew the eye to the carton and so the Jury felt this was a most successful carton.

Finalists

De Ruijter Specials

Official name of entry: De Ruijter Specials
Carton Producer: Acket drukkerij kartonnage bv
Brand Owner: HJ Heinz bv
Structural Designer: Acket drukkerij kartonnage bv
Graphic Designer: Mountain design bv
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Walki GmbH
New design for relaunch
Branded goods company Heinz and packaging manufacturer Acket worked together closely on this structurally new packaging for a well-established breakfast product:  the external spout is replaced by a more “elegant” integrated version, making filling and handling more cost-efficient. The packaging is relatively small, but luxurious.

Produktfamilie Körbe und Schalen für Obst und Gemüse

Official name of entry: Produktfamilie Körbe und Schalen für Obst und Gemüse
Carton Producer: Karl Knauer KG
Brand Owner: Wiesenhof Pilzland Produktions GmbH
Structural Designer: Karl Knauer KG
Graphic Designer: Karl Knauer KG
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Buchmann Korsnäs
Attractive and sustainable replacement for plastic
The carrying baskets and bowls in chip basket design are an own development of the packaging manufacturer Karl Knauer. The challenge was to add moisture protection to the inside, achieve the necessary stability and to meet the requirements for direct contact with food.