Food & Drink Packaging, Recycled Fibre

Winner

Tuna Pack – 3 x 80g cluster pack

Official name of entry:
Tuna Pack – 3 x 80g cluster pack
Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Jealsa
Structural Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Starke Falten

Diese Verpackung ist das Ergebnis von Untersuchungen zur Falzstärke verschiedener Kartons, Faserrichtungen und Faltmustern, um dieselbe Funktionalität mit geringeren Kartonstärken zu erzielen. Einmal geklebt, bildet die Verbindung eine einfache Box, und die Metallverpackungen stützen das Gewicht der weiteren Schichten auf der Palette.
Der einzige sichtbare Unterschied zur herkömmlichen Verpackung sind einige kleine Falzungen, die bewirken, dass weniger Karton für dieselbe Funktionalität benötigt wird.
Die Verpackung erfüllt ihren Zweck ebenso und auf derselben Produktionslinie – ohne Anpassungen, aber mit geringerer Grammatur. Tests mit verschiedenen Kartons haben gezeigt, dass die Wirkung mit Frischfaserkarton noch vorteilhafter sein könnte, doch Falzmuster und Struktur der Box müssen von Fall zu Fall neu evaluiert werden. Das hängt nicht nur von Karton und Grammatur ab, sondern auch von der Konstruktion der Verpackung sowie der Maschinenführung und den Ansaugpunkten.

Jury comments

Dies ist eine sehr erstaunliche Verpackung. Oberflächlich betrachtet, enthält sie nichts besonders Neues, doch kleine Falzungen an bestimmten Punkten verstärken die Schachtel, sodass erheblich weniger Karton benötigt wird.

Food & Drink Packaging, Recycled Fibre

Winner

Tuna Pack – 3 x 80g cluster pack

Official name of entry:
Tuna Pack – 3 x 80g cluster pack
Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Jealsa
Structural Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Strong Creases

This pack is the result of research on crease strength with several cartonboards, fibre direction and crease patterns to achieve the same functionality with lower grammage. Once the pack is glued, the cluster works as a single brick, and the metal cans support the weight of the remaining layers on the pallet.
The only visible difference to the usual packaging is made by some small creases which in the end lead to less cartonboard being used without changing functionality.
The pack works the same way and on the same production line without adjustments, but with lower grammage. Tests made on several cartonboards show that the effect may be even more beneficial on virgin boards, but the pattern and structure of the box has to be evaluated on a case by case basis. It does not just depend on the cartonboard material and grammage, but also on the pack design as well as machine guides and suction pick points.

Jury comments

This is quite an astonishing pack. On the face of it, there is nothing very new, but little crease placements at certain points in the carton added extra strength so that considerably less cartonboard was needed.