Innovative Material

Winner

Modified Atmosphere (MA) Food Tray

Official name of entry:
Modified Atmosphere (MA) Food Tray
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Waitrose | Sainsbury
Structural Designer:
Quang Phung
Graphic Designer:
Gavin Lawrence
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Versiegelte Frische

Dieses Lebensmitteltray ist das erste seiner Art für den Frischfleischmarkt und das weltweit erste mit modifizierter Atmosphäre: Es hält die Frische und verlängert die Lagerfähigkeit im Regal. Der leichte FSC/PEFC-Karton und die Kunststofflaminat-Struktur machen den entscheidenden Unterschied zu Kunststoffversionen aus. Es ist 20 Prozent leichter, reduziert den Anteil von Kunststoff auf Ölbasis um bis zu 85 Prozent und ist weitgehend recycelbar.
Seine Einführung ist eine direkte Antwort auf das weltweite Kunststoffproblem. Der Karton bietet Steifigkeit und eine hochwertige Druckoberfläche für Druck und Information und die Folie eine starke Barriere. Die Haltbarkeit von Lebensmittelprodukten im Regal kann damit auf bis zu 28 Tage gesteigert werden. Die Verpackung ist in verschiedenen Größen lieferbar, sie ist leicht zu öffnen und hat große Fenster für eine gute Sicht auf das Produkt. Die Verpackung unterstützt Lebensmittelhersteller dabei, sich von Konkurrenten abzuheben, weil sie auf allen Seiten der Kartonverpackung voll bedruckt werden kann – eine hervorragende Möglichkeit für Branding.

Jury comments

Einfach ist am besten. Das spezielle Material und Format sind innovativ, da es leicht ist und doch fertige Mahlzeiten völlig hygienisch aufbewahren kann, denn es ist hermetisch versiegelbar. Ein ganz neues Materialangebot mit Karton, das die aktuellen Lebensmittelverpackungen aus Kunststoff ablösen soll.

Finalists

Corporate Gift Box 2017 für Nestlé

Official name of entry: Corporate Gift Box 2017 für Nestlé
Entrant: Carton Producer: Goerner Formpack
Brand Owner: Nestlé
Structural Designer: Goerner Formpack
Graphic Designer: Goerner Formpack / Nestlé
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund
Recycling-Design
Hochwertige und edle Transportverpackung aus einer Fasersuspension aus Kartonabfall für vier mundgeblasene Murano-Gläser. Die besondere Herausforderung war, das Wasserglas am Glasboden zu fixieren und den dünnwandigen Glasrand von der Verpackung freizustellen. Das Glas blieb bei einem Falltest unbeschädigt.

McDonald's – Signature Collection

Official name of entry: McDonald's – Signature Collection
Entrant: Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Carton Producer: Huhtamaki Foodservice Delta
Brand Owner: McDonald´s
Structural Designer: Huhtamaki Foodservice Delta
Graphic Designer: McDonald´s
Nachhaltige Marke
Die Verpackung der McDonald‘s Signature Collection ist ein hervorragendes Beispiel dafür, dass ein starker Markenauftritt und Nachhaltigkeit Hand in Hand gehen – der Karton garantiert durch seine durchgehend naturbraune Vorder- und Rückseite eine hochwertige Produktpräsentation. Browncolor, der recycelte Kraftkarton für eine einzigartige, natürliche Präsentation, spiegelt den Trend zu braunem Verpackungsmaterial wider.

Reismühle Brunnen – Bio Rice

Official name of entry: Reismühle Brunnen – Bio Rice
Entrant: Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Carton Producer: CAG Cartonnagen
Brand Owner: Reismühle Brunnen | Coop
Structural Designer: CAG Cartonnagen
Graphic Designer: Reismühle Brunnen
Barrierekarton – lebensmittelsicher
Das Schweizer Markenunternehmen wollte sichergehen, dass die Verpackung für ihren Bio-Reis lebensmittelsicher ist und entschied sich deshalb für Foodboard™, einen voll recycelbaren Karton mit funktionaler Barriere. MMK überzeugte den Kunden, dass der bewährte, umfassende Migrations-Schutz von Foodboard sowie seine hervorragende Lauffähigkeit an der Abpackanlage die perfekte Lösung bieten.

Innovative Material

Winner

Modified Atmosphere (MA) Food Tray

Official name of entry:
Modified Atmosphere (MA) Food Tray
Entrant: Carton Producer::
Brand Owner:
Waitrose | Sainsbury
Structural Designer:
Quang Phung
Graphic Designer:
Gavin Lawrence
Cartonboard Manufacturer:

Sealed-In Freshness

This food tray is the first of its kind for the fresh meat market and it claims to be the world’s first that is a modified atmosphere carton tray: it seals in freshness and extends product shelf life. The lightweight FSC/PEFC board and film laminate structure makes it significantly different from plastic versions. It is 20% lighter and reduces oil-based plastics by up to 85% and is widely recyclable.
Its introduction is a direct response to the global environmental plastic issue. The board provides strength and a quality print surface for image and information and the film is high barrier. This can increase the shelf-life of food products for up to 28 days. In addition, it is available in different sizes, and features an easy-open design and large windows for great product visibility. The packaging helps food manufacturers stand apart from competitors as they are able to print in full on all sides of the cartonboard packaging – an excellent branding opportunity.

Jury comments

Simple is best. This particular material and format is innovative in that it is lightweight and yet is able to hold ready meals totally hygienically as it is able to be hermetically sealed. A totally new offer of carton material that means replacing current plastic food containers.

Finalists

Corporate Gift Box 2017 für Nestlé

Official name of entry: Corporate Gift Box 2017 für Nestlé
Entrant: Carton Producer: Goerner Formpack
Brand Owner: Nestlé
Structural Designer: Goerner Formpack
Graphic Designer: Goerner Formpack / Nestlé
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund
Recycling Design
High-quality and sophisticated transit packaging made from a fibre suspension of cardboard waste to hold four hand blown Murano glasses. The specific challenge was to fix the water glass to the glass bottom and to enssure that the thin-walled glass edge will not be touched by the packaging. Extensive drop tests were carried out to test that the glass would remained undamaged.

McDonald's – Signature Collection

Official name of entry: McDonald's – Signature Collection
Entrant: Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Carton Producer: Huhtamaki Foodservice Delta
Brand Owner: McDonald´s
Structural Designer: Huhtamaki Foodservice Delta
Graphic Designer: McDonald´s
Sustainable Brand
The packaging of McDonald´s Signature Collection is an excellent example of brand enhancement and sustainability going hand in hand – the cartonboard guarantees premium product presentation through its consistently natural brown colour of the top and reverse sides. Browncolor – the recycled Kraft cartonboard for a unique, natural presentation – reflects the trend towards brown packaging material.

Reismühle Brunnen – Bio Rice

Official name of entry: Reismühle Brunnen – Bio Rice
Entrant: Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Carton Producer: CAG Cartonnagen
Brand Owner: Reismühle Brunnen | Coop
Structural Designer: CAG Cartonnagen
Graphic Designer: Reismühle Brunnen
Barrier Board – food safe
The Swiss brand owner wanted to ensure there packaging for the organic rice was completely food safe so chose Foodboard ™, a fully recyclable cartonboard with functional barrier. MMK convinced the companythat Foodboard’s proven, comprehensive migration protection, as well as its excellent runability on the packaging line, provided the perfect solution.