Fast/Convenience Foods

Winner

Pop Up Cup

Official name of entry:
Pop Up Cup
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Aad Hoekstra
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Becher der Zukunft

Jedes Jahr werden Milliarden von Einmal-Trinkbechern benutzt. Das hat erheblichen Einfluss auf die Umwelt. Nicht nur wegen der für die Produktion benötigten Materialien, sondern hauptsächlich weil diese meist weggeworfen werden.
Die Pop Up Cup ist wahrscheinlich der nachhaltigste Trinkbecher für unterwegs. Er ist die Zukunft für unterwegs genossene kalte Getränke und ganz besonders geeignet für eine Lieferung nach Hause. Er ist leicht zu benützen und wasserdicht, und er kann mit einem Strohhalm verwendet werden, während das Fenster zeigt, wieviel Getränk noch übrig ist. Er besteht aus einer Faltschachtel und einem Kunststoffbeutel. Karton und Kunststoffbeutel können leicht getrennt werden, eine sehr nachhaltige Lösung für einen Einweg-Becher. Weil kein Kunststoffdeckel benötigt wird, ist er leicht als Papierabfall zu entsorgen.

Jury comments

Diese Lösung ist sehr, sehr intelligent: eine perfekte Art, ein Softdrink-Produkt in einer Faltschachtel darzureichen und das Problem der übertrieben vielen Schichten aktueller Getränkebehälter zu lösen. Die Außenansicht zeigt, dass es sich um etwas Neues und Ökologisches handelt. Die Innenfolie hält das Getränk versiegelt, bis es konsumiert wird.
Einzigartig ist, dass Folie und Faltschachteln für das Recycling leicht getrennt werden können.

Finalists

Burgerista Pommes Box

Official name of entry: Burgerista Pommes Box
Entrant: Other: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging International
Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Brand Owner: Burgerista Invest Holding
Structural Designer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Graphic Designer: Service Plan
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Schmeckt der Umwelt
Die Pommes Box ähnelt einem kleinen Basket, aus dem die extragroßen Steak Pommes verlockend herausschauen. Beim Aufmachen faltet sich die Box wie eine Blume auf, so dass der Konsument seine Pommes mit oder ohne Dips genießen kann. Das Structural Design ist möglichst einfach gehalten: Die Verpackung aus einem Stück wird schnell und ohne Klebung aufgestellt, leichte Stapelung ist gegeben. Die Pommes Box ist voll recycelbar – das umweltfreundliche Beispiel für eine Convenience Fast-Food-Verpackung.

Hot2Home™

Official name of entry: Hot2Home™
Carton Producer: Acket drukkerij kartonnage
Brand Owner: LambWeston/Meijer
Structural Designer: Van Berlo design/ Plato product consultants
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Knusprige Pommes
Zum ersten Mal können Kunden über Hauszustellung knusprige Pommes Frites erhalten! Die Form der Verpackung wurde auf der Basis einer Marktforschung gewählt und musste mit einem Deckel versehen werden, damit die Pommes nicht herausfallen. Durch ein ausgeklügeltes Lochmuster in Seiten und Deckel entsteht innen ein Kamineffekt, der die austretende Feuchtigkeit ableitet, sodass die Pommes 20 Minuten lang knusprig bleiben.

Nando’s Take Away Packaging

Official name of entry: Nando’s Take Away Packaging
Entrant: Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Carton Producer: Huhtamaki Foodservice
Brand Owner: Nando’s
Structural Designer: Cocoon Design
Graphic Designer: Sunshine Gun
Nachhaltige Liebe
Die Takeaway-Packung von Nando’s transportiert genau die Marken- und Produkttradition – mutig, lebhaft und natürlich, einfach Freude. Sie passt perfekt zum Kern von Nando’s und huldigt den südafrikanischen Wurzeln. Aussparungen und geprägte Herzen heben hervor, dass das Produkt mit Liebe gemacht ist. Die Rückseite ist mit lustigen Slogans bedruckt, die sich auf die Verpackung selbst beziehen – auch die Nachhaltigkeit des Materials wird betont: aus nachhaltiger Ressource, biologisch abbaubar und recycelbar.

Fast/Convenience Foods

Winner

Pop Up Cup

Official name of entry:
Pop Up Cup
Entrant: Carton Producer::
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Aad Hoekstra
Cartonboard Manufacturer:

Cup of the Future

Billions of single-use drinking cups are used every year. This has a considerable impact on the environment. Not only due to the materials used for the production, but more to the fact that they are often discarded.
The Pop Up Cup is probably the most sustainable on-the-go drinking cup. It offers a future for on-the-go cups for cold drinks and is particularlysuitable for home delivery. It is easy to use and leakproof, and can be used with a straw, whilst the window indicates the remaining volume of the drink. The design is a combination of a folding carton and a plastic bag. The Pop Up Cup can be easiliy separated into cardboard and plastic components, thus leading to a very sustainable solution for a single-use drinking cup. No (plastic) lid is required and it can be disposed of as paper waste.

Jury comments

This was considered to be so, so clever. A perfect way for cartonboard to present a soft drink and to solve the multi-layer over-packaging of current drinks’ containers. Externally, the look and feel tells you that this is something new and ecological. The internal film holds the liquid, sealed until it’s ready to be consumed.
The key point is the film and carton can be easily separated for recycling.

Finalists

Burgerista Pommes Box

Official name of entry: Burgerista Pommes Box
Entrant: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging International
Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Brand Owner: Burgerista Invest Holding
Structural Designer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Graphic Designer: Service Plan
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Taste for the Environment
The French fries box resembles a small basket from which the extra-large steak fries look enticing. When opened, the box folds out like a flower so that the consumer can enjoy the fries with or without dips. The structural design is kept as simple as possible. The one-piece packaging is set up quickly and without glue, easy stacking is guaranteed. The French fries box is fully recyclable - the environmentally friendly example of convenience fast food packaging.

Hot2Home™

Official name of entry: Hot2Home™
Carton Producer: Acket drukkerij kartonnage
Brand Owner: LambWeston/Meijer
Structural Designer: Van Berlo design/ Plato product consultants
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Crispy French Fries
For the first time, it is possible for customers to get crispy French fries via home delivery! The shape of the packaging was chosen on the basis of a consumer survey and it had to be provided with a lid to ensure that the fries do not fall out. Due to the sophisticated ratio of the hole pattern in the sides and lid, a chimney effect is created in the cup, which drains the moisture from the French fries so that they remain crisp for 20 minutes.

Nando’s Take Away Packaging

Official name of entry: Nando’s Take Away Packaging
Entrant: Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Carton Producer: Huhtamaki Foodservice
Brand Owner: Nando’s
Structural Designer: Cocoon Design
Graphic Designer: Sunshine Gun
Sustainable Love
The takeaway packaging of Nando’s precisely communicates the brand and product heritage – bold, vibrant and natural, simple happiness. It matches the core of Nando’s perfectly and pays homage to their South African roots. Cut-outs and embossed hearts accentuate that the product is made with love. The back of the packaging is printed with funny slogans referring to the packaging itself – also the sustainability of the material is emphasised: sustainably sourced, biodegradable, recyclable.