Fast/Convenience Foods

Winner

Pop Up Cup

Official name of entry:
Pop Up Cup
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Aad Hoekstra
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Le gobelet du futur

Des milliards de gobelets à usage unique sont utilisés chaque année. Cela a un impact considérable sur l’environnement, non seulement en raison des matériaux entrant dans leur production mais aussi et surtout parce qu’ils finissent à la poubelle.
Le gobelet Pop Up Cup pour boissons à emporter est probablement le plus durable qui soit. Il offre une solution d’avenir aux gobelets pour boissons réfrigérées à emporter et est pratique pour les livraisons à domicile. Facile à utiliser et étanche, il peut être utilisé avec une paille et comporte une fenêtre qui indique le niveau de la boisson. Son design est le résultat d’une combinaison entre un étui pliant et un sac en plastique. Ses composants de carton et de plastique peuvent facilement être séparés, ce qui en fait une solution très durable pour un gobelet à usage unique. Aucun couvercle (en plastique) n’est nécessaire et il peut être recyclé avec le papier.

Jury comments

Nous avons trouvé cette solution extrêmement ingénieuse. Une manière parfaite de présenter des boissons sans alcool et de résoudre le problème des multicouches contenues dans les emballages actuels pour boissons. De l’extérieur, on voit et on sent qu’il s’agit d’un produit nouveau et écologique. La couche interne garde le gobelet étanche jusqu’à ce que la boisson soit prête à être consommée.
La particularité de ce gobelet est que le film et le carton peuvent facilement être séparés à des fins de recyclage.

Finalists

Burgerista Pommes Box

Official name of entry: Burgerista Pommes Box
Entrant: Other: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging International
Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Brand Owner: Burgerista Invest Holding
Structural Designer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Graphic Designer: Service Plan
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Une boîte à frites écologique
La boîte à frites ressemble à un petit panier dans lequel les frites de coupe large ont l’air appétissantes. Lorsqu’elle est ouverte, la boîte s’étale comme une fleur pour que le consommateur puisse déguster ses frites avec ou sans sauce. La structure de l’emballage a été conçue de la manière la plus simple. Le paquet construit d’une seule pièce est monté rapidement et sans colle, et il s’empile aisément. La boîte à frites est entièrement recyclable, ce qui en fait un bel exemple d’emballage écologique dans la restauration rapide.

Hot2Home™

Official name of entry: Hot2Home™
Carton Producer: Acket drukkerij kartonnage
Brand Owner: LambWeston/Meijer
Structural Designer: Van Berlo design/ Plato product consultants
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Des frites croustillantes
Pour la première fois, il est possible de se faire livrer des frites croustillantes à la maison ! La forme de l’emballage a été déterminée à la suite d’une enquête auprès des consommateurs et devait comporter un couvercle pour garder les frites à l’intérieur. La présence d’un nombre calculé de trous sur les côtés et le couvercle crée un effet de cheminée dans l’emballage, ce qui permet d’évacuer la vapeur et de garder les frites croustillantes pendant une vingtaine de minutes.

Nando’s Take Away Packaging

Official name of entry: Nando’s Take Away Packaging
Entrant: Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Carton Producer: Huhtamaki Foodservice
Brand Owner: Nando’s
Structural Designer: Cocoon Design
Graphic Designer: Sunshine Gun
Une expression d’amour et de durabilité
L’emballage pour plats à emporter Nando’s communique précisément l’héritage de la marque et du produit : audacieux, vif et naturel, un bonheur simple. Il exprime parfaitement la nature de Nando’s et rend hommage à ses racines sud-africaines. Des découpes et des gaufrages en forme de cœur suggèrent que le produit est préparé avec amour. Le dos de l’emballage porte des slogans amusants qui font référence à l’emballage lui-même et mentionnent la nature durable du matériau utilisé : issu d’une source durable, biodégradable et recyclable.

Fast/Convenience Foods

Winner

Pop Up Cup

Official name of entry:
Pop Up Cup
Entrant: Carton Producer::
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Aad Hoekstra
Cartonboard Manufacturer:

Cup of the Future

Billions of single-use drinking cups are used every year. This has a considerable impact on the environment. Not only due to the materials used for the production, but more to the fact that they are often discarded.
The Pop Up Cup is probably the most sustainable on-the-go drinking cup. It offers a future for on-the-go cups for cold drinks and is particularlysuitable for home delivery. It is easy to use and leakproof, and can be used with a straw, whilst the window indicates the remaining volume of the drink. The design is a combination of a folding carton and a plastic bag. The Pop Up Cup can be easiliy separated into cardboard and plastic components, thus leading to a very sustainable solution for a single-use drinking cup. No (plastic) lid is required and it can be disposed of as paper waste.

Jury comments

This was considered to be so, so clever. A perfect way for cartonboard to present a soft drink and to solve the multi-layer over-packaging of current drinks’ containers. Externally, the look and feel tells you that this is something new and ecological. The internal film holds the liquid, sealed until it’s ready to be consumed.
The key point is the film and carton can be easily separated for recycling.

Finalists

Burgerista Pommes Box

Official name of entry: Burgerista Pommes Box
Entrant: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging International
Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Brand Owner: Burgerista Invest Holding
Structural Designer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Graphic Designer: Service Plan
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Taste for the Environment
The French fries box resembles a small basket from which the extra-large steak fries look enticing. When opened, the box folds out like a flower so that the consumer can enjoy the fries with or without dips. The structural design is kept as simple as possible. The one-piece packaging is set up quickly and without glue, easy stacking is guaranteed. The French fries box is fully recyclable - the environmentally friendly example of convenience fast food packaging.

Hot2Home™

Official name of entry: Hot2Home™
Carton Producer: Acket drukkerij kartonnage
Brand Owner: LambWeston/Meijer
Structural Designer: Van Berlo design/ Plato product consultants
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Crispy French Fries
For the first time, it is possible for customers to get crispy French fries via home delivery! The shape of the packaging was chosen on the basis of a consumer survey and it had to be provided with a lid to ensure that the fries do not fall out. Due to the sophisticated ratio of the hole pattern in the sides and lid, a chimney effect is created in the cup, which drains the moisture from the French fries so that they remain crisp for 20 minutes.

Nando’s Take Away Packaging

Official name of entry: Nando’s Take Away Packaging
Entrant: Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Carton Producer: Huhtamaki Foodservice
Brand Owner: Nando’s
Structural Designer: Cocoon Design
Graphic Designer: Sunshine Gun
Sustainable Love
The takeaway packaging of Nando’s precisely communicates the brand and product heritage – bold, vibrant and natural, simple happiness. It matches the core of Nando’s perfectly and pays homage to their South African roots. Cut-outs and embossed hearts accentuate that the product is made with love. The back of the packaging is printed with funny slogans referring to the packaging itself – also the sustainability of the material is emphasised: sustainably sourced, biodegradable, recyclable.