Dry Foods & Beverages

Winner

Simply Cook

Official name of entry:
Simply Cook
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Simply Cook
Structural Designer:
Graphic Designer:
BandB
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Kochbuch mit Inhalt

Das Konzept der Simply Cook-Zusammenstellungen ermöglicht es Konsumenten, mit einem leicht nachvollziehbaren Rezept zu Hause eine Mahlzeit in Restaurant-Qualität zu kochen. Das Design sollte lebhaft sein, aber zu der bekannten E-Commerce-Marke passen. Für die Markeninhaber war es der erste Schritt in den Handelsbereich und damit ein entscheidender Wachstumsschritt. Die Verpackung musste sehr funktional sein und sich doch vom Wettbewerb unterscheiden.
Spezielle Klebe- und Faltlösungen waren erforderlich, um die Form des Buches zu wahren. Die Verpackung gibt dem Konsumenten die Möglichkeit, vor dem Kauf Einsicht zu nehmen, und die einzigartige Aufreissöffnung gibt Rezept und Produkt frei. Eine besondere Herausforderung war, alle diese Eigenschaften in einer Verpackung zu bündeln, die vor dem letzten Verschließen befüllt werden kann.

Jury comments

Die Konsumenten bei der Auswahl der Zutaten zu unterstützen, um zu Hause zu kochen, ist nicht neu, aber diese Präsentation ist besonders attraktiv, weil sie die Zutaten in eine intelligente Struktur aufnimmt, die alles auf verlockende Art präsentiert. Zusammen mit der farbenfrohen Grafik, der appetitlichen Anmutung und der Geschichte des Produkts ergibt sich eine Gesamtlösung, die zum Kauf einlädt.

Finalists

ASDA Qube

Official name of entry: ASDA Qube
Entrant: Carton Producer: Qualvis Print & Packaging
Brand Owner: ASDA
Structural Designer: Richard Pacey
Graphic Designer: ASDA in-house graphic design
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Qube, nicht Tube!
Sowohl die konventionelle, steife Verpackungsröhre als auch ihr Gegenstück aus Plastik, die in einer Vielzahl von Lösungen für Getränke und Süßwaren zur Anwendung kommen, haben jetzt eine ebenbürtige Lösung. Auftritt des Qube – ein flach geliefertes Würfeldesign, dass erhebliche Vorteile in der Supply Chain und Logistik bietet. Der Qube wird mit speziellen poly-basierten Farben für geringe Migration auf metallisiertes Material gedruckt, die Lebensmittelsicherheit bieten und auf dem Material gut haften.

Duvel Moortgat

Official name of entry: Duvel Moortgat
Entrant: Carton Producer: Smurfit Kappa Zedek
Brand Owner: Duvel Moortgat
Structural Designer: Ronald Sterk
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Praktisch und gut
Das innovative Design dient in diesem Fall nicht nur der Produktpräsentation, es ist auch extrem praktisch in der Anwendung. Die Kartons können konsumentenfreundlich leicht und schnell aufgestellt werden und präsentieren das Produkt. Die kräftige Konstruktion nimmt die schweren Flaschen auf und wirkt verkaufsfördernd. Um die Supply Chain zu unterstützen, werden sie flach angeliefert.

Nespresso 16 caps

Official name of entry: Nespresso 16 caps
Entrant: Carton Producer: Autojon Packaging Belgium
Brand Owner: Nestlé
Structural Designer: Victorien Paul
Graphic Designer: Nestlé
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund
Luxuriöse Logistik
Nespresso-Caps werden als Luxusprodukte verkauft, daran ließ das Briefing keinen Zweifel. Am schwierigsten war, die höchstmögliche Anzahl von Kapseln in einer vorgegebenen kleinen Verpackungsgröße unterzubringen. Die Verpackung besteht aus zwei Teilen. Jede Kapsel ist anders positioniert, um Platz zu sparen und trotzdem eine gute Sichtbarkeit der Produkte zu gewährleisten. Diese Herausforderung war eine gute Gelegenheit, die logistische Performance der Verpackung zu verbessern.

Dry Foods & Beverages

Winner

Simply Cook

Official name of entry:
Simply Cook
Entrant: Carton Producer::
Brand Owner:
Simply Cook
Structural Designer:
Graphic Designer:
BandB
Cartonboard Manufacturer:

Cookbook with Content

The concept of the Simply Cook Meal Kit allows the consumer to create a restaurant quality meal at home with an easy-to-follow recipe. The design needed to be vibrant but in keeping with the well-known e-commerce brand. It was their first step into the retail sector, so for the brand owners it was a key stage in their growth. The packs needed to be highly functional yet different to its competitors.
Specialist folding and glueing facilities were required to achieve the book style. This pack gives the consumer the opportunity to view prior to purchase and the unique tear opening reveals the recipe and product. A major challenge was to combine all of these features with a pack that could be filled before the final closure.

Jury comments

Helping consumers select ingredients to cook a dish at home is not new but this presentation makes it so appealing by housing the ingredients in a clever structure that presents everything to the consumer in an enticing way. Add to that the colourful graphics, appetite appeal and product story then you have a total package that invites purchase.

Finalists

ASDA Qube

Official name of entry: ASDA Qube
Entrant: Carton Producer: Qualvis Print & Packaging
Brand Owner: ASDA
Structural Designer: Richard Pacey
Graphic Designer: ASDA in-house graphic design
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Qube not Tube!
Both the conventional rigid packaging tube and its plastic tube counterpart, used in a multitude of applications such as beverages and confectionery, have finally met their match. Enter the Qube – a flat fold tube design that provides considerable supply chain and logistical benefits. The Qube is printed on metallised material with low migration specialist poly-based inks for food safety and adhesion to the metallised material.

Duvel Moortgat

Official name of entry: Duvel Moortgat
Entrant: Carton Producer: Smurfit Kappa Zedek
Brand Owner: Duvel Moortgat
Structural Designer: Ronald Sterk
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Practical and Good
In this case, the innovative design is not only used for product presentation, it is also extremely practical to use. The cartons can be set up quickly and easily in a consumer-friendly way and present the product. The strong construction takes up the heavy bottles and has a sales-promoting effect. To support the supply chain, they are delivered flat.

Nespresso 16 caps

Official name of entry: Nespresso 16 caps
Entrant: Carton Producer: Autojon Packaging Belgium
Brand Owner: Nestlé
Structural Designer: Victorien Paul
Graphic Designer: Nestlé
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund
Luxury Logistics
Nespresso-Caps are sold as luxury products and the briefing was quite strict about this. But the hardest point was to insert the maximum number of pods possible in an imposed small packaging size. The packaging is made of two parts. With each pod nested in a different position to save space and keep a good visualisation of the products at the same time. This challenge was a good opportunity to improve the logistical performance of the pack.