Save the Planet

Winner

HAL Allergy Venomenhal, carton + interior

Official name of entry:
HAL Allergy Venomenhal, carton + interior
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Weniger ist (viel) mehr

Intelligente Konzepte sind auch im Bereich Gesundheit gefragt und können sowohl für den Konsumenten als auch für den Hersteller große Vorteile bringen. Dieses neue Innendesign wurde für eine äußere Faltschachtel entwickelt, die jetzt auf einer halbautomatischen Verpackungslinie geklebt und aufgerichtet werden kann. Die neue Konstruktion ersetzt ein altes Design, das zur Gänze von Hand konfektioniert wurde, eine eigene Transportverpackung ist nicht mehr erforderlich. Die aufgedruckten Farben im Inneren unterstützen die korrekte Befüllung der Faltschachteln mit Fläschchen die über korrespondierend eingefärbte Kappen verfügen.
Das neue Design reduziert die Verpackungskosten erheblich, der verminderte Materialaufwand hat zudem einen positiven Umwelteffekt. Das Innere schützt die Fläschchen perfekt und hält sie bereit zum Gebrauch. Die neue Lösung braucht auch wesentlich weniger Platz als das bisherige Design – auch das hilft Kosten zu sparen.

Jury comments

Eine erhebliche Reduktion der Verpackung macht diese Lösung zum Sieger in dieser Kategorie. Das neue Design setzt der Verpackung von Hand ein Ende, auch eine eigene Transportverpackung wird nicht mehr gebraucht. Trotzdem sind die wertvollen Glasfläschchen gut befestigt und geschützt.

Finalists

Fox’s Tin Replacement Project

Official name of entry: Fox’s Tin Replacement Project
Entrant: Carton Producer: Graphic Packaging International
Brand Owner: Fox’s Biscuits
Structural Designer: Graphic Packaging
Graphic Designer: SGS
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Karton statt Metall
Die Verpackung aus Karton ist ein nachhaltiger Ersatz für das frühere Metalldesign der Marke. Die Faltschachtel wird flach geliefert, sodass weniger Palettenplatz benötigt wird und Fox’s Biscuits Logistik und Lager minimieren und auch auf diese Weise den CO2-Fußabdruck reduzieren kann. Das Premium-Design aus Karton hat einen doppelwandigen Deckel, der nach dem Öffnen eine bedruckbare Fläche bietet. Zusätzlichen Mehrwert bieten das einfache Öffnen und ein Abrissteil mit Platz für wirksames Marketing (in Verbindung mit einem Gewinnspiel).

Lipton Earl Grey 100 g Carton

Official name of entry: Lipton Earl Grey 100 g Carton
Entrant: Carton Producer: Duran Dogan Printing and Packaging
Brand Owner: Unilever
Structural Designer: Duran Dogan Printing and Packaging
Graphic Designer: Duran Dogan Printing and Packaging
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Prachtvoll und nachhaltig
Die Faltschachtel wurde nach dem Vorbild einer Metallbox gestaltet. Hauptziel war, das Aussehen zu erhalten (in Design und Layout) und trotzdem zu einer nachhaltigeren Verpackung zu wechseln. Der metallische Effekt wurde durch den Einsatz metallischer Beschichtung und einer Verbindung von glänzenden und matten Lacken erreicht. Das Ergebnis ist eine neue Verpackung, die auf dem Regal noch attraktiver wirkt, deutlich nachhaltiger ist und ebenso funktionell wie ihre Vorgängerin.

Schnitzel Joker Curry Wurst Pommes Kombibox

Official name of entry: Schnitzel Joker Curry Wurst Pommes Kombibox
Entrant: Other: AR Packaging Group/Sebastian Eckert
Carton Producer: A&R Carton Kriftel
Brand Owner: Premium-Verpackung.de
Structural Designer: Martin Zelosko / Carolin Spahlinger / Marco Vierling
Graphic Designer: Andreas Beilharz
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Frischer Genuss
Eine einteilige, voraufgerichtete Box mit zwei Abteilungen für den Lebensmittelservice, bei der der Inhalt aufgeteilt ist, um zu verhindern, dass sich die Pommes mit der Soße der Currywurst vollsaugen. Die Kammer für die Currywurst hat keine Löcher, damit die Soße nicht auslaufen kann, jene für die Pommes hat einige Löcher, damit sie knusprig bleiben und die Feuchtigkeit abziehen kann. Geschlossen, ist damit eine sichere Lieferung garantiert.Die Verpackung kann auf einer Standard-Aufrichtungslinie (mit wenigen Modifikationen) erzeugt werden. Sie ist die erste ihrer Art in diesem Segment.

Save the Planet

Winner

HAL Allergy Venomenhal, carton + interior

Official name of entry:
HAL Allergy Venomenhal, carton + interior
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Less is (much) more

Intelligent concepts are also in high demand in the field of healthcare and can deliver major advantages for both consumers and manufacturers. This new design of the interior has been developed for an existing outer carton pack, which now can be glued and set-up using a semi-automated packing line. This new set replaces the completely manual set-up of the old design and eliminates the need for a dedicated transport pack. The printed colours on the back of the interior are intended to assist in filling the cartons correctly with the vials having corresponding cap colours.
The new design substantially reduces the packaging costs and the reduced amount of material used has a significant positive environmental effect. The interior keeps the vials perfectly intact and ready for use. Also, the new design requires far less space than the old design again saving costs.

Jury comments

Considerable reduction in packaging is what makes this pack the winner in this section. The new design does away with hand packing plus a dedicated transportation pack is now not needed. Yet the valuable vials are still well contained and protected.

Finalists

Fox’s Tin Replacement Project

Official name of entry: Fox’s Tin Replacement Project
Entrant: Carton Producer: Graphic Packaging International
Brand Owner: Fox’s Biscuits
Structural Designer: Graphic Packaging
Graphic Designer: SGS
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Cartonboard instead of metal
The cartonboard pack is a sustainable replacement for the brand’s original tin design. The carton is delivered flat packed, thus reducing pallet requirements and enabling Fox’s Biscuits to minimise logistics and inventory which in turn reduces their carbon footprint. The premium carton design features a double wall lid, providing a print area when opening the pack. Added value features are ease of opening and a tear away part of the pack doubling as an effective marketing space (linking to a consumer competition).

Lipton Earl Grey 100 g Carton

Official name of entry: Lipton Earl Grey 100 g Carton
Entrant: Carton Producer: Duran Dogan Printing and Packaging
Brand Owner: Unilever
Structural Designer: Duran Dogan Printing and Packaging
Graphic Designer: Duran Dogan Printing and Packaging
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Splendid and sustainable
The carton was designed to be a replica of a metal box. The main objective was to maintain the look (design-wise and layout-wise) when switching to a more sustainable packaging. The metal effect was replicated by using a metallised substrate onto which a combination of effect gloss and matt varnish was applied. As a result, the new packaging has become more attractive on the shelf, and much more sustainable and functional than the previous version.

Schnitzel Joker Curry Wurst Pommes Kombibox

Official name of entry: Schnitzel Joker Curry Wurst Pommes Kombibox
Entrant: Other: AR Packaging Group/Sebastian Eckert
Carton Producer: A&R Carton Kriftel
Brand Owner: Premium-Verpackung.de
Structural Designer: Martin Zelosko / Carolin Spahlinger / Marco Vierling
Graphic Designer: Andreas Beilharz
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Fresh enjoyment
A one-piece, pre-erected dual compartment box for food service, where the content is separated into two compartments to prevent the chips being soaked with sauce from the curry sausage. The compartment for the curry sausage has no holes and therefore the sauce is kept inside, whereas the chips compartment has several holes to keep the chips crunchy and to allow water vapour to escape. Closed, it is safe for carrying. The packaging can be produced on a standard high-speed erecting line (with some modifications) and has not been seen in this segment before.