Save the Planet

Winner

HAL Allergy Venomenhal, carton + interior

Official name of entry:
HAL Allergy Venomenhal, carton + interior
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Moins de matériaux pour un emballage nettement supérieur

Des concepts intelligents sont recherchés également dans le domaine de la santé et peuvent offrir des avantages majeurs aux consommateurs et aux fabricants. Ce nouveau design d’emballage interne a été développé pour un carton de transport existant qui peut maintenant être collé et préparé sur une ligne d’emballage semi-automatique. Ce nouveau design élimine la fabrication entièrement manuelle de l’ancien design et supprime le besoin en cartons de transport dédiés. Les couleurs imprimées au dos de l’emballage interne aident au remplissage correct des étuis en correspondant aux couleurs des bouchons de flacon.

Le nouveau design réduit considérablement les coûts d’emballage et la quantité de matériaux économisée a un impact positif important sur l’environnement. L’emballage interne protège parfaitement les flacons prêts à l’emploi. De plus, le nouveau modèle nécessite nettement moins de place que l’ancien, ce qui en réduit encore les coûts.

Jury comments

C’est une réduction considérable de l’emballage qui a valu à ce produit d’être le gagnant de sa catégorie. Grâce à son nouveau design, il ne nécessite pas d’être emballé à la main et n’a même plus besoin d’un emballage de transport, et malgré tout les précieux flacons sont toujours aussi bien empaquetés et protégés.

Finalists

Fox’s Tin Replacement Project

Official name of entry: Fox’s Tin Replacement Project
Entrant: Carton Producer: Graphic Packaging International
Brand Owner: Fox’s Biscuits
Structural Designer: Graphic Packaging
Graphic Designer: SGS
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Du carton pour remplacer le fer
L’emballage en carton est une alternative durable de la boîte originale en fer de la marque. Le carton est livré à plat, ce qui réduit le besoin en palettes et permet à Fox’s Biscuits de minimiser sa logistique et son inventaire, réduisant ainsi son empreinte carbone. L’étui de première qualité se compose d’un couvercle à double paroi, ce qui offre une surface d’impression à l’ouverture de l’emballage. La facilité d’ouverture et une partie détachable du paquet qui fait aussi fonction d’espace marketing efficace (en proposant un prix à gagner au consommateur) contribuent à ajouter de la valeur à l’emballage.

Lipton Earl Grey 100 g Carton

Official name of entry: Lipton Earl Grey 100 g Carton
Entrant: Carton Producer: Duran Dogan Printing and Packaging
Brand Owner: Unilever
Structural Designer: Duran Dogan Printing and Packaging
Graphic Designer: Duran Dogan Printing and Packaging
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Un emballage superbe et durable
L’étui a été conçu comme une réplique de boîte en métal. L’objectif principal était d’en maintenir l’apparence (en termes de design et de disposition) lorsqu’il a fallu passer à un emballage plus durable. L’effet de métal a été créé par l’utilisation d’un substrat métallisé sur lequel un vernis brillant et un vernis mat ont été appliqués. Le nouvel emballage est plus attrayant en linéaire, et beaucoup plus durable et fonctionnel que la version précédente.

Schnitzel Joker Curry Wurst Pommes Kombibox

Official name of entry: Schnitzel Joker Curry Wurst Pommes Kombibox
Entrant: Other: AR Packaging Group/Sebastian Eckert
Carton Producer: A&R Carton Kriftel
Brand Owner: Premium-Verpackung.de
Structural Designer: Martin Zelosko / Carolin Spahlinger / Marco Vierling
Graphic Designer: Andreas Beilharz
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Un emballage qui garde toute sa fraîcheur aux aliments
Une boîte dépliée, faite d’une seule pièce, à double compartiment à l’usage des services de restauration, qui sépare le contenu en deux compartiments pour empêcher les frites de tremper dans la sauce de la saucisse au curry. Le compartiment de la saucisse n’a pas de trous et la sauce reste à l’intérieur, tandis que le compartiment des frites a plusieurs trous pour garder les frites croustillantes et laisser échapper la vapeur. Une fois refermé, l’emballage peut être transporté en toute sécurité. Il peut être produit sur une ligne standard à grande vitesse (après quelques modifications) et représente une nouveauté dans ce secteur.

Save the Planet

Winner

HAL Allergy Venomenhal, carton + interior

Official name of entry:
HAL Allergy Venomenhal, carton + interior
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Less is (much) more

Intelligent concepts are also in high demand in the field of healthcare and can deliver major advantages for both consumers and manufacturers. This new design of the interior has been developed for an existing outer carton pack, which now can be glued and set-up using a semi-automated packing line. This new set replaces the completely manual set-up of the old design and eliminates the need for a dedicated transport pack. The printed colours on the back of the interior are intended to assist in filling the cartons correctly with the vials having corresponding cap colours.
The new design substantially reduces the packaging costs and the reduced amount of material used has a significant positive environmental effect. The interior keeps the vials perfectly intact and ready for use. Also, the new design requires far less space than the old design again saving costs.

Jury comments

Considerable reduction in packaging is what makes this pack the winner in this section. The new design does away with hand packing plus a dedicated transportation pack is now not needed. Yet the valuable vials are still well contained and protected.

Finalists

Fox’s Tin Replacement Project

Official name of entry: Fox’s Tin Replacement Project
Entrant: Carton Producer: Graphic Packaging International
Brand Owner: Fox’s Biscuits
Structural Designer: Graphic Packaging
Graphic Designer: SGS
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Cartonboard instead of metal
The cartonboard pack is a sustainable replacement for the brand’s original tin design. The carton is delivered flat packed, thus reducing pallet requirements and enabling Fox’s Biscuits to minimise logistics and inventory which in turn reduces their carbon footprint. The premium carton design features a double wall lid, providing a print area when opening the pack. Added value features are ease of opening and a tear away part of the pack doubling as an effective marketing space (linking to a consumer competition).

Lipton Earl Grey 100 g Carton

Official name of entry: Lipton Earl Grey 100 g Carton
Entrant: Carton Producer: Duran Dogan Printing and Packaging
Brand Owner: Unilever
Structural Designer: Duran Dogan Printing and Packaging
Graphic Designer: Duran Dogan Printing and Packaging
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Splendid and sustainable
The carton was designed to be a replica of a metal box. The main objective was to maintain the look (design-wise and layout-wise) when switching to a more sustainable packaging. The metal effect was replicated by using a metallised substrate onto which a combination of effect gloss and matt varnish was applied. As a result, the new packaging has become more attractive on the shelf, and much more sustainable and functional than the previous version.

Schnitzel Joker Curry Wurst Pommes Kombibox

Official name of entry: Schnitzel Joker Curry Wurst Pommes Kombibox
Entrant: Other: AR Packaging Group/Sebastian Eckert
Carton Producer: A&R Carton Kriftel
Brand Owner: Premium-Verpackung.de
Structural Designer: Martin Zelosko / Carolin Spahlinger / Marco Vierling
Graphic Designer: Andreas Beilharz
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Fresh enjoyment
A one-piece, pre-erected dual compartment box for food service, where the content is separated into two compartments to prevent the chips being soaked with sauce from the curry sausage. The compartment for the curry sausage has no holes and therefore the sauce is kept inside, whereas the chips compartment has several holes to keep the chips crunchy and to allow water vapour to escape. Closed, it is safe for carrying. The packaging can be produced on a standard high-speed erecting line (with some modifications) and has not been seen in this segment before.