Non-food

Winner

Yamasa Star Pack

Official name of entry:
Yamasa Star Pack
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Contact:
www.pawi.com
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Perfektes Branding

Die Marke Yamasa enthält im Logo einen Stern und diesen galt es im Verpackungsdesign aufzunehmen. Hierzu wurden fünf Faltschachteln in Rautenform mit einer Steckverbindung aneinandergereiht. Werden diese fünf einzelnen Verpackungen zusammengefügt, entsteht ein Stern. Dieser wird mit einer Banderole mit Steckverschluss zusammengehalten. Die Touchpoint-Faltschachtel bietet die Möglichkeit, die Marke zu einem Erlebnis und den „Consumer“ zu einem „Playsumer“ zu machen, der die Marke spielerisch erfährt.
Das grafische Design unterstützt das starke Konstruktionsdesign durch grafische Sternelemente. Im Offsetdruck bedruckt und mit Heissfolie veredelt, wird die sternförmige Marke aufgegriffen. Am POS wird die Faltschachtel zum Eyecatcher, auch weil sie durch ihre Form u. a. als Pyramide gestapelt werden kann und somit zusätzliche Präsentationshilfsmittel wie Displays überflüssig macht. Die Faltschachtel hat außerdem den Vorteil, dass eine einzelne Zigarre aus dem Verbund gelöst und sicher verpackt sowie gut geschützt mitgenommen werden kann.

Jury comments

Sehr klug, attraktiv und auffallend: eine Kartonverpackung für Zigarren ohne Metallröhren. Jede Zigarre ist in ihrem eigenen, besonders geformten Verpackung untergebracht. Zusammengefasst und -gehalten durch die Binde, bilden sie die Form eines Sterns.
Wir sollten alle daran denken, dass Davidoff eine Premiummarke ist und offensichtlich überzeugt ist, dass ihre Markenwerte durch Karton wiedergegeben und präsentiert werden können.
Struktur der Verpackung und Präsentation sagen alles.

Finalists

In-Shape packaging for liquids in 30 varieties

Official name of entry: In-Shape packaging for liquids in 30 varieties
Entrant: Carton Producer: Model, CH-Au (SG)
Brand Owner: InSmoke
Structural Designer: Robert Heim
Graphic Designer: Fabian Aeschlimann, InSmoke
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund
Qualität verkauft
Diese Art der Verpackung zeichnet sich durch Premium-Verarbeitungsqualität und absolute Präzision bei der Herstellung aus. Die relativ kleine Verpackung wurde in 30 verschiedenen Varianten hergestellt, ihre Premium-Verarbeitung kommuniziert die hohe Qualität der enthaltenen Flüssigkeit. Ein kleines Tray hält zehn verpackte Flüssigkeiten. Auf der extrem kleinen bedruckbaren Oberfläche sind verschiedene Finishing-Techniken vereint: Heißfolie, Prägung, spezielle Lackierung (Relieflack) und glänzender UV-Lack.

Parliament Carat Blue

Official name of entry: Parliament Carat Blue
Entrant: Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Graphia Izmir
Brand Owner: Philip Morris International
Structural Designer: Philip Morris International
Graphic Designer: Nicolas Monnet
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund
Das Besondere
Zigaretten sind meist in Faltschachteln mit Klappdeckeln verpackt, die zwei Hauptformen haben: rechtwinkelige und runde Ecken. Diese ist anders und kann trotzdem in derselben Verpackungslinie verarbeitet werden. Die speziellen Ecken werden mithilfe einer Laserfalttechnologie hergestellt. Die Facetten und der metallische Hintergrund verleihen den Ecken eine dreidimensionale Wirkung. Die besonderen Formen sind leicht zu falten, für sie können auch Standardverpackungsmaschinen eingesetzt werden. Ein weiterer Vorteil: Sie sind wesentlich schwieriger zu fälschen als herkömmliche Schachteln.

Ursus Magnus H.01

Official name of entry: Ursus Magnus H.01
Entrant: Carton Producer: Lucaprint
Brand Owner: Ursus
Structural Designer: Ufficio Tecnico Lucaprint
Graphic Designer: Albertdesign sas di Barin Alberto
Cartonboard Manufacturer: BillerudKorsnäs
Grüne Kraft
Große Wirkung im Regal durch ansprechende Form und Grafik: Das Gehäuse, das die Faltschachtel abdeckt, kann als Halterung benützt werden, sodass eine echte Vitrine entsteht, die dem Konsumenten im Geschäft ein wertvolles Produkt signalisiert. Der schwarze Lenker aus Carbon ist in der Faltschachtel auf einem hellgrünen Hintergrund platziert und zieht die Aufmerksamkeit der Kunden auf sich. Die Struktur aus doppelten Wänden gibt der großen, soliden Verpackung Festigkeit. Eine einzige Klebung genügt für eine breite und komplexe Struktur mit mehreren Abteilungen.

Non-food

Winner

Yamasa Star Pack

Official name of entry:
Yamasa Star Pack
Entrant: Carton Producer::
Contact:
www.pawi.com
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:

Perfect branding

The Yamasa brand contains a star in its logo and this was to be reflected in the packaging design. To achieve this, five diamond-shaped folded cartons were lined up together with a plug-in connection. When these five individual packs are assembled, they represent a star. This is held together with a banderole with plug-in connection. The Touchpoint folded carton offers the option of making the brand become an event and turning the “Consumer” into a “Playsumer” giving the brand a playful experience.
The graphic design supports the strong construction design with graphic star elements. The star-shaped brand is picked up by offset printing and hot foil finishing. The folded carton turns into a real eye-catcher at the POS as it can also be stacked as a pyramid and thus dispenses with the need for additional presentation aids such as displays. The folded carton also has the advantage that a single cigar can be removed from the pack and remains safely packed and well protected to take home.

Jury comments

Very clever, attractive and eye catching. Carton board packaging for cigars without the need for metal tubes. Each cigar is housed in its own distinctly shaped pack which when clustered together and bound by the wrap, forms a ‘star’ shape.
We should all remember that Davidoff is a premium brand and clearly they believe that their brand values can be reflected and presented by carton board.
It’s all in the structural packaging and presentation.

Finalists

In-Shape packaging for liquids in 30 varieties

Official name of entry: In-Shape packaging for liquids in 30 varieties
Entrant: Carton Producer: Model, CH-Au (SG)
Brand Owner: InSmoke
Structural Designer: Robert Heim
Graphic Designer: Fabian Aeschlimann, InSmoke
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund
Quality sells
This type of packaging is distinguished by a premium-quality finish and absolute precision in processing. The relatively small packaging, which was produced in 30 different variants, features a premium finish, thus communicating the high quality of the liquid inside. A small tray holds ten of the packaged liquids. Various finishing techniques were applied on an extremely small packaging printing surface: hot foil stamping, special relief varnish and UV gloss varnish.

Parliament Carat Blue

Official name of entry: Parliament Carat Blue
Entrant: Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Graphia Izmir
Brand Owner: Philip Morris International
Structural Designer: Philip Morris International
Graphic Designer: Nicolas Monnet
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund
Very special
Cigarettes are usually packed into hinge lids with two main shapes: square corner and round corner. This one is different but can still be filled on the same packer. The special corners are made by a special laser creasing technology. The facettes and the metallic background give the edges a more three-dimensional effect. The special shapes are easy to fold and can be used on standard packer machines. It is considerably more difficult to counterfeit than conventional cigarette packs.

Ursus Magnus H.01

Official name of entry: Ursus Magnus H.01
Entrant: Carton Producer: Lucaprint
Brand Owner: Ursus
Structural Designer: Ufficio Tecnico Lucaprint
Graphic Designer: Albertdesign sas di Barin Alberto
Cartonboard Manufacturer: BillerudKorsnäs
Green power
Great impact at the point of sale due to appealing shape and graphics: the case that covers the box can be used as a lid holder to create a showcase in the true sense of the word. When placed in stores in this way, customers perceive it as a valuable product. The fully-carbon and black-coloured handlebar placed inside the box on a bright green background attracts considerable customer attention. The double wall structure gives stiffness to the large solid board packaging. Single gluing is enough for a large and complex structure with several compartments.