Use this contact form if you have any suggestions or questions for us. You’re also welcome to sign-up for our Pro Carton news here. * bitte ausfüllen!
Ressourceneffizienz

Der Einsatz von Rohmaterial

Sammlung_und_Recycling

 

Einführung

Der Einsatz von Rohmaterial als Ressource umfasst lebende (biotische) und nicht lebende (abiotische) Materialien.

Im Zusammenhang mit den Ressourcen, die für Kartonverpackungen gebraucht werden, sind Holzfasern das biotische Material, das als Rohmaterial für Karton benötigt wird – eine erneuerbare Ressource.

Abiotisches Material ist die fossile Energie aus Kohle- und Gasverbrennung, aber auch die Mineralstoffe, die für die Karton- und Faltschachtelerzeugung verwendet werden. Diese Ressourcen sind nicht erneuerbar, und die Industrie engagiert sich dafür, den Einsatz dieser Ressourcen zu reduzieren und/oder sie durch erneuerbare oder umweltfreundliche Alternativen zu ersetzen.

Grundsätze des Ökodesigns führen bei der Herstellung eines Produkts zum effizienten Einsatz von Ressourcen. Man sollte darüber hinaus an die Materialien am Ende des Lebenszyklus denken. Karton kann dort als sekundäres Rohmaterial zur Ressource werden, recycelt werden oder als Energiequelle dienen, wenn sie zu einer Verbrennungsanlage geschickt werden, wo die Energie zurückgewonnen werden kann.

 

Erneuerbares Rohmaterial: Holzfasern aus nachhaltig bewirtschafteten Wäldern

Wälder haben viele Funktionen: ökologisch, ökonomisch und sozial. Sie schaffen Arbeitsplätze, Einkommen und Rohmaterialien für die Industrie und für erneuerbare Energie. Wälder bedecken etwa 175 Millionen Hektar oder über 37 % der Landmasse der EU.

Die europäischen Wälder, die von der Papier- und Kartonindustrie genützt werden, sind nachhaltig. Sie sind nicht nur eine erneuerbare Ressource, ihr Wachstum übersteigt auch Jahr für Jahr die Erntemenge, und zwar um eine Fläche, die 1,5 Millionen Fußballfeldern entspricht. Die Wälder Europas wachsen: um 512.000 Hektar von 2005 bis 2010. Sie sind heute um über 30 % größer als in den 1950ern.

Die Hauptlieferanten von Holzfasern für Karton sind Wälder in Schweden, Finnland, Frankreich, Deutschland und Polen. Eine aktuelle Studie des schwedischen Umweltforschungsinstituts IVL hat festgestellt, dass diese Wälder nachhaltig bewirtschaftet werden.

 

Erneuerbare Energie: Produkte auf Biobasis

Die chemische Zellstofferzeugung aus Holzfasern führt zu einem Nebenprodukt, das als Energiequelle für den Erzeugungsprozess dient. In integrierten Kartonfabriken, wo sowohl Zellstoff wie auch Karton hergestellt werden, werden aus den Holz-Nebenprodukten Elektrizität und Dampf für den Produktionsprozess erzeugt. Diese Energiequellen sind daher erneuerbar und nachhaltig.

Die europäische Papier- und Kartonindustrie ist der größte Produzent und Verbraucher von Energie aus Biomasse – 20 % Anteil in der EU – und vermeidet auf diese Weise den Einsatz nicht erneuerbarer Ressourcen wie Öl, Kohle und Gas. Der Anteil der Biomasse am gesamten Primärenergieverbrauch in der europäischen Zellstoff-, Papier- und Kartonindustrie lag 2013 bei 56 %.

Kartonerzeuger tragen erheblich zu diesen Verbesserungen bei. Derzeit investiert die Kartonindustrie in Anlagen, die Emissionen aus fossilem Kohlenstoff vollständig vermeiden und die Energieversorgung von fossilen Brennstoffen wie Erdgas auf Biobrennstoffe umstellen. Die gesamte Produktion wird dann durch Biobrennstoffe getrieben, und die Anlagen werden bei Elektrizität und Energie in Form von Dampf autark sein.

Über 95 % der europäischen Zellstoff-, Papier- und Kartonerzeuger haben Kraft-Wärme-Kopplungsanlagen installiert, die hauptsächlich Biomasse und Erdgas einsetzen. Die gemeinsame Produktion von Elektrizität und Wärme spart etwa 30 bis 35 % Brennstoff gegenüber getrennter Erzeugung.

 

Biomasse – Papier- und Kartonerzeugung oder Energiegewinnung?

Auf den ersten Blick scheint es am einfachsten, den Bedarf an Energie zu befriedigen, indem man Strom für ein nationales Stromnetz durch das Verbrennen von Holz erzeugt. Doch das ist weder effizient noch nachhaltig, denn es würde den Wald belasten und mehr kosten. Holz als Rohmaterial für die Papier- und Kartonindustrie erzeugt viermal mehr Wert und erhält sechsmal mehr Arbeitsplätze als der Energiesektor, wenn er Holz verbrennt.

 

Ökodesign und die Recycelbarkeit von Faltschachteln

Ökodesign ist ein wichtiger Aspekt der Ressourceneffizienz, es hilft Abfall zu verringern und Recycelbarkeit zu erhöhen.

Die Hierarchie im Abfallmanagement ist ein entscheidender Treiber der Ressourceneffizienz und Abfallvermeidung steht in der Hierarchie ganz oben. Die Abfallmenge aus der Produktion von Kartonverpackungen zu reduzieren steht seit vielen Jahren im Zentrum der Anstrengungen der Industrie, die schon lange die ökonomischen und ökologischen Vorteile der Abfallvermeidung erkannt hat.

Die ökologischen Vorteile der Wiedergewinnung von Papier und dessen Einsatz als sekundäres Rohmaterial sind klar erkannt, und die Kartonerzeuger arbeiten daran, seinen Einsatz zu optimieren und so Abfall zu vermeiden. Größere Effizienz bei der Aufbereitung durch moderne Technologien hat zu verstärkter Rückgewinnung recycelter Fasern um mehrere tausend Tonnen pro Jahr geführt sowie zur Verringerung von Ausschuss aus dem Produktionsprozess.

Ein zweiter Aspekt ist die die Vermeidung von Abfall durch leichtere Materialien und den Einsatz eines Minimums an Material, das benötigt wird, um ein Produkt für seinen Zweck geeignet zu machen.

Kartonerzeuger arbeiten seit vielen Jahren daran, ihre Produkte leichter zu machen. So ist zum Beispiel eine typische Verpackung für tiefgefrorenen Fisch heute um 20 % leichter als in den 1970ern (Quelle: INCPEN).

Die Kartonerzeuger arbeiten auch laufend daran, die Menge an eingesetztem Material zu reduzieren. Durch kluge Designlösungen konnten bereits erhebliche Einsparungen erzielt werden, zum Beispiel an den Klappen von Keksschachteln.

Gute Recycelbarkeit von gebrauchten Papierprodukten wie Faltschachteln hängt von gutem Ökodesign ab. Planung und Designphase von Faltschachtellösungen tragen erheblich zur Abfallvermeidung bei. Im Idealfall beginnt das Verpackungsdesign zugleich mit dem Produktdesign, sodass sie zusammenarbeiten können.

Ein Schlüsselfaktor für gutes Ökodesign ist auch die sachkundige Auswahl von Hilfsmaterialien wie Farben und Beschichtungen. Farbenhersteller setzten zum Beispiel vermehrt auf erneuerbare und recycelbare Ressourcen wie Soja, Pflanzenöl und Stärke und unterstützen Drucker bei der Wiedergewinnung und beim Recycling von Farben und Lösungsmitteln. Bogendruckfarben enthalten bis zu 100 % erneuerbare Pflanzenöle und bieten so erhebliche Vorteile, etwa die Reduktion von Emissionen aus flüchtigen organischen Verbindungen (VOC) und des Energieverbrauchs durch schnelles Einstellen oder verringerten Papierverbrauch durch raschen Druckstart.

 

Wiedergewinnung und Recycling von Faltschachteln: Abfall als Ressource

Zur Wiedergewinnung gehören das Sammeln von Altpapier und Altkarton sowie die Lieferung an eine Verarbeitungsanlage. Auch der Recyclingprozess kann gemeint sein.

Recycling ist die Wiederverarbeitung von wiedergewonnenem Papier und Karton, es umfasst auch die Kompostierung. Recycling ist die die Verarbeitung eines Produkts, das seine ursprüngliche Funktion erfüllt hat, zu nützlichem neuen Material.

Werden Faltschachteln nach Gebrauch weggeworfen und zu einem Teil des Stroms von Verpackungsabfall, können sie recycelt werden indem in der Wiederverarbeitung ihre Fasern wieder voneinander getrennt werden. Aus den wiedergewonnenen Fasern werden Karton oder andere Papier- und Kartonprodukte erzeugt. Etwa 60 % der Faltschachteln in Europa werden aus recyceltem Karton hergestellt. Im Jahr 2011 erzielten Papier und Karton eine Recyclingrate von 81,3 % und waren damit gemäß CEPI (Confederation of European Paper Industries) das am meisten recycelte Material in der EU.

Alternativ können Faltschachteln kompostiert werden, ein Vorgang, der auch als „organisches Recycling“ bekannt ist. Karton eignet sich ideal zur Kompostierung, weil Zellstofffasern biologisch abbaubar sind. Das bedeutet, dass Bakterien sie mithilfe von mikrobiellen Enzymen in natürliche Substanzen zerlegen und dadurch Kohlendioxid, Wasser und Kompost (Humus) erzeugen.

Können Faltschachteln aus technischen oder Reinheitsgründen nicht mehr recycelt werden, kann die in ihnen enthaltene Energie in einer Müllverbrennungsanlage wiedergewonnen werden.

Damit Recycling stattfinden kann, muss der Verpackungsabfall wiedergewonnen, also gesammelt und einer entsprechenden Anlage zugeführt werden. Abfall, der während der Produktion entsteht, ist relativ leicht wiederzugewinnen, zum Beispiel Verschnitt aus der Karton- und Faltschachtelerzeugung. Doch der meiste Karton wird gemeinsam mit allen anderen Papierprodukten in der Gesellschaft verteilt, und für die Wiedergewinnung wird eine spezielle Infrastruktur benötigt. Er kann entweder zu Hause getrennt oder an einem anderen Entsorgungsort, gesammelt oder zu einer Sammelstelle getragen werden. Die größten Anteile an der Papiersammlung haben im Allgemeinen Handel und Industrie mit 50 %, Haushalte mit 40 % und Büros mit 10 %. Wachstumspotenzial gibt es noch von den Haushalten, industrielle Quellen sind zum größten Teil bereits ausgenützt.

Voraussetzung für wachsende Sammlung von verwertbarem Papier und Karton in Haushalten ist die Qualität der Sammelsysteme. Getrennte Sammlung erhöht die Qualität des wiedergewonnenen Papiers.

 

Abiotisches Material

Für nähere Informationen über fossile Energie und den Umwelteinfluss von Mineralstoffen aus der Erzeugung von Papier und Karton gehen Sie bitte zum Menüpunkt Carbon Footprint.

Use this contact form if you have any suggestions or questions for us. You’re also welcome to sign-up for our Pro Carton news here. * indicates a required field
Resource Efficiency

Raw Material Use

Recycling-Cartons

 

Introduction

Raw Material Use as a resource category covers living (biotic) and non-living (abiotic) material.

In the context of the resources used to make cartonboard packaging, biotic material covers wood fibres from the forest, used as the raw material for cartonboard – a renewable resource.

Abiotic material includes the fossil energy used from burning coal and gas and also the minerals for cartonboard and carton production. These resources are non – renewable, and the industry is committed to finding ways to reduce the use of these resources and / or replacing them with renewable or environmentally friendly alternatives.

Eco-design principles applied to the manufacture of a product should lead to the efficient use of the resources used. Consideration should also be given to the materials at the end of life. At end of life, cartons can be a resource as a secondary raw material and recycled or used as an energy source when they are sent to a facility to be incinerated with energy recovery.

 

Renewable Raw Material: Wood fibres from Sustainably Managed Forests

Forests serve many functions: environmental, economic and social, providing jobs, incomes and raw materials for industry and for renewable energy. Forests cover some 175 million hectares of the EU or more than 42% of the EU’s land area.

European forests used by the paper and board industry are sustainable. Not only are they a renewable resource, but every year new growth exceeds the wood harvested by an area equivalent to 1.5 million football pitches. European forests are growing: 512,000 hectares from 2005-2010. Forests today are over 30% larger than in the 1950s.

The main suppliers of wood fibre for cartonboard are forests in Sweden, Finland, France, Germany and Poland. A recent study by IVL Swedish Environmental Research Institute reported that these forests are sustainably managed.

 

Renewable Energy: Bio based products

Chemical pulping of wood fibres results in a by-product which is used an an energy source for the pulping process. In integrated cartonboard mills, where pulp and cartonboard are both made at the same site, the wood by-products provide energy in the form of electricity and steam for the manufacturing process. This energy source is therefore renewable and sustainable.

The European paper and board industry is the largest producer and consumer of biomass based energy – 20% of the EU total – thus avoiding the use of non-renewable resources such as oil, coal and gas. Of the European pulp, paper and board industry’s total primary energy consumption in 2013, 56% was derived from biomass.

Cartonboard mills are contributing strongly to these improvements. Investments are being made in cartonboard mills to completely eliminate all fossil carbon emissions by switching the energy supply from fossil fuels such as natural gas to biofuels. All production will then be biofuel driven and mills will be self-sufficient in electricity and thermal energy in the form of steam.

Over 95% of European pulp, paper and board mills have installed combined heat and power (CHP) plants, mainly based on biomass and natural gas. Combining the production of electricity and heat provides savings in fuel consumption in the order of 30 -35% compared to separate production.

 

Biomass – paper and board production or energy production?

Burning wood to generate energy for a national grid is an easy solution to meet demand for renewable energy – but it is not efficient or sustainable as it would lead to pressure on forests and higher costs. Using wood as a raw material for the paper and industry is more resource efficient as it creates four times more value and retains six times more jobs than the energy sector would, by burning wood.

 

Eco design and recyclability of cartons

Eco-design is an important aspect of Resource Efficiency, influencing waste prevention and improved recyclability.

The Waste Management hierarchy is a key driver for Resource Efficiency and waste prevention is at the top of the hierarchy. Reducing the quantity of waste generated in the production process of cartonboard packaging has been a central focus for the industry for many years, which has long recognised the economic and environmental benefits of waste reduction.

The environmental benefits of recovering paper for use as a secondary raw material are well appreciated and cartonboard manufacturers are working to optimise its use and thus reduce waste. Increasing efficiency of stock preparation through investment in modern technology has led to an increase in the recuperation of recovered fibres, by several thousand tons per year, and the reduction of rejects from the production process.

A second aspect is the prevention of the generation of waste through light-weighting materials and using the minimum amount of material necessary for the product to be fit for purpose.

Cartonboard manufacturers have worked to light weight their products over many years. For example, a typical carton packaging a frozen fish pie is 20% lighter today than it was in the 1970s. (Source: INCPEN)

Carton manufacturers are also continually working to reduce the amount of materials used and substantial savings have been achieved through clever design solutions. For example, reducing the flaps on biscuit cartons.

Good recyclability of used paper products such as cartons, depends on good eco-design. The planning and design phases of carton solutions contribute significantly to waste prevention. Ideally, packaging design should be addressed at the same time as product design, so that the two work together.

Informed choices of auxiliary materials such as Inks and Coatings is also key to good eco-design. For example, Ink manufacturers are increasingly using renewable and recyclable resources such as soy, vegetable oil and starch and helping printers to recover and recycle inks and solvents. Sheetfed inks are also integrating up to 100% renewable vegetable oils, and deliver significant improvements, including the reduction of VOC emissions and energy consumption by rapid setting or reduced paper wastes, through quick start-up.

 

Recovery and Recycling of Cartons: Waste as a Resource

Recovery includes the collection of used paper and board and delivery to a reprocessing mill. It can sometimes also denote the recycling process.

Recycling is the reprocessing of recovered paper and board, including composting. Recycling occurs when a product having completed its original function is reprocessed to convert it into useful new material.

When folding cartons are discarded after use they become part of the packaging waste stream, they can be recycled by reprocessing whereby the fibres are separated. The recovered fibre is then used to make cartonboard or another paper or board product. Around 60% of cartons in Europe are made from recycled cartonboard. In 2011, paper and board packaging achieved a recycling rate of 81.3%, making it the most recycled packaging material in the EU, according to the Confederation of European Paper Industries.

Alternatively, cartons can be composted, a process also known as “organic recycling”. Cartonboard is ideal for composting because cellulose fibre is biodegradable. This means that it can be broken down into natural substances by bacteria using microbial enzymes, thereby producing carbon dioxide, water and compost (humus).

Finally, when it is not practical for cartons to be recycled as fibre for technical or cleanliness reasons, their energy content can be recovered in an energy-from-waste incinerator.

For recycling to happen, the packaging waste must be recovered, i.e. collected and sent to a mill. Waste arising during manufacture is relatively easy to recover, as, for instance, trimmed waste in cartonboard mills and from carton manufacturers. However, the bulk of cartonboard, along with all paper and board products, is ultimately dispersed throughout society and an infrastructure is required for its recovery. It may be segregated in the home, or other point of disposal, and either collected or taken to a collecting location. The main sources of paper collection in general, are 50% from trade and industry, 40% from households and 10% from offices. The future potential for increasing the collection is from households, as the industrial sources are already utilised to a great extent.

Increasing the amount of recycling of paper and board products which are recovered from households depends on the quality of the used paper and board collection. Separate collection increases the quality of the recovered paper.

 

Abiotic Material

For information on the fossil energy and impact of the minerals used for paper and carton production, please go to the section on Carbon Footprint.