Young Designers Award

Winner

Apple & Juice

Official name of entry:
Apple & Juice
Name:
Alisa Feldhofer
Attraction

L’idée était de trouver un emballage qui serait différent des emballages habituels, quelque chose qui attirerait l’attention ; en gros, quelque chose que l’on aurait envie d’acheter simplement pour son apparence. La partie la plus difficile a été la réalisation de la forme de découpe. Il a fallu beaucoup de temps et d’essais pour la mettre au point. La construction de la maquette a aussi été un énorme défi.

« Aujourd’hui de nombreux concepteurs graphiques réalisent des modèles remarquables. C’est donc plutôt sympa de voir que moi aussi je suis capable de concevoir quelque chose de spécial que les gens aimeraient acheter. Par ailleurs, c’est positif pour ma carrière d’être capable de présenter quelque chose de sophistiqué mais qui peut aussi être utilisé comme un produit et être vendu sur le marché. J’espère que la réussite au concours Pro Carton Jeunes Concepteurs m’aidera à trouver un travail intéressant. En tout cas, ce prix m’encourage à travailler sur des idées qui sortent des sentiers battus, des idées qui semblent différentes, même si elles sont difficiles à réaliser. »

Winner

Save a Bug

Official name of entry:
Save a Bug
Name:
Marie-Sophie Fischer
Sauver la nature

L’idée était de sauver les insectes en les transportant de l’intérieur vers l’extérieur. La plupart du temps, les gens n’aiment pas toucher les insectes, alors ils les tuent en les écrasant avec un journal roulé ou une tapette. C’est pourquoi j’ai créé « save a bug ». Un piège à insectes en carton 100 % recyclable et facile à utiliser. Trouver un moyen simple d’attraper les insectes sans les blesser n’a pas été facile. La solution consiste en deux rabats pouvant se refermer l’un contre l’autre sans exercer aucune pression de manière à ne pas écraser l’insecte. Les propriétés du carton sont parfaites pour cet usage.

« Il a toujours été très important pour moi d’aider l’environnement et la nature. Je souhaite que mon idée apporte quelque chose de positif pour le monde. Grâce à sa simplicité de fabrication et d’utilisation, save a bug est susceptible d’aider beaucoup de gens et de sauver beaucoup d’insectes. J’espère que ce Prix contribuera aussi à favoriser ma carrière de concepteur à l’international. Je suis fière et heureuse qu’un jury aussi important ait su apprécier ma création. Avec l’aide de Pro Carton je serai peut être capable de réaliser mes objectifs et de transformer save a bug en réalité, d’en faire un vrai projet et un produit. Je veux faciliter la vie des gens tout en sauvant des insectes et en protégeant la nature et l’environnement. »

Finalists

Mime

Official name of entry: Mime
Name: Kalina Hristova, Simon Kallus, Roman Plaßmann, Simon Zimpfer
Champagne frais
Beaucoup de boissons peuvent déjà être achetées en magasin et consommées tout de suite. Mais, est-ce vraiment le cas pour le champagne ? La réponse est « Mime », un emballage pour le champagne vendu séparément au rayon surgelés qui, en une demi-heure, porte la boisson de température ambiante à température de consommation.

« Au cours de nos études, nous avons acquis un savoir-faire considérable sur les fibres en tant que matériaux d’emballage et nous avons appris à appréhender leur diversité. Pour nous, le congrès est une occasion unique de mieux comprendre les multiples facettes des emballages carton et de nouer des contacts avec de grandes entreprises. »

The Penguin

Official name of entry: The Penguin
Name: Magdalena Witkowicz
Vitamines
L’idée principale était d’enseigner aux enfants à prendre des vitamines sans aucune crainte et en s’amusant. L’idée du pingouin est venue spontanément. La première difficulté a été de créer une forme de pingouin en papier sans utiliser de colle. Concevoir un emballage qui ressemblerait à un pingouin et aurait l’air sympathique et drôle tout en étant fonctionnel semblait juste impossible. Les deux autres difficultés consistaient à créer un système de dosage et enfin à trouver un moyen de fermer le pingouin.

« Plus tard, j’aimerais travailler dans le domaine des emballages et du papier, mais je pense avoir encore besoin de plus de pratique. J’aimerais mieux connaître les aspects de la phase de projet et de la production, non seulement en Pologne mais aussi à l’international. Le concours Pro Carton Jeunes Concepteurs est aussi une chance incroyable de se comparer à d’autres étudiants d’autres pays. Cela peut m’aider beaucoup dans ma carrière. J’aimerais remercier mon professeur, Agnieszka Andruszkiewicz, qui m’a encouragée à développer le projet. »

The Scroll

Official name of entry: The Scroll
Name: Miriam Derler
Tidy Pencils
The idea was to create a new pencil case. The key challenge was to get the cartonboard to be flexible, as it had to be formed into a role. The concept of a concertina solved the problem.

“This competition is really fun and exciting for me. It is the first chance to present one of my ideas to a wide audience. I believe that taking part in the Pro Carton Young Designers Award will be a great reference for my work and I am really excited being invited to the ECMA Pro Carton Congress. We will see what else the future might bring. I really enjoyed working on this project. It was exciting to realize an idea with cartonboard and I’m really happy that others liked my idea too!”

Winebadge

Official name of entry: Winebadge
Name: Reinhart Glöckl
Vin sans tache
L’idée du badge à vin est venue en dégustant une bouteille de vin rouge avec des amis. Il n’y avait pas de set de table pour éviter de tacher la table et c’est comme ça qu’est venue l’idée de fixer un set directement sur le verre. Après plusieurs prototypes, un espace publicitaire réservé aux vignerons a été ajouté. La difficulté consistait à équilibrer la solidité et la forme du carton de façon à trouver une harmonie entre le badge à vin et le verre à vin.

« Le concours Pro Carton Jeunes Concepteurs est une expérience stimulante. Gagner le prix serait la reconnaissance de ma créativité et une bonne référence pour ma future carrière. »

Young Designers Award

Winner

Apple & Juice

Official name of entry:
Apple & Juice
Name:
Alisa Feldhofer
Attraction

The idea was to look for a packaging that should be something different from the normal packaging design on the market, something that would attract attention, in general; something that you would like to buy simply because you like the appearance. The most difficult part was the cutting die. It took a long time of trying different samples to develop it. In addition, building the dummy proved also to be a big challenge.

„Nowadays there are many graphic designers who make great designs, therefore it is nice to see, that I too am able to design something special, which people would like to buy. Further, it is good for my career to be able to present something that is sophisticated but can also be used as a product and sold on the market. I hope that the success at the Pro Carton Young Designers Award will help me find an interesting job. It certainly encourages me to work on ideas which are not mainstream, ideas that seem to be different, even if they are difficult to create.”

Winner

Save a Bug

Official name of entry:
Save a Bug
Name:
Marie-Sophie Fischer
Saving Nature

The idea was to save insects by transporting them from inside to outdoors. Often people don‘t want to touch insects, so they kill them by slapping them with a rolled newspaper or a swatter. This is why “save a bug” was developed, a live trap for insects, completely made of 100% recyclable carton and easy to use. Finding a simple way to catch the insects without harming them was not easy. The solution were two folds that can be closed against each other, so there won‘t be any force crushing the bug. The properties of the cartonboard were perfect for this purpose.

“Helping the environment and nature was always very important to me. I hope that my idea might bring something good to the world. With it’s simplicity in production and use, “save a bug” would be able to help many people and save many insects. I hope this Award will promote my design career also internationally. I‘m proud and happy that my design has been appreciated by such an important jury! With the help of Pro Carton I might be able to actually achieve my aims and make “save a bug” a real life, project and product. I want to make people‘s lives easier and save insects at the same time and help the nature and environment.”

Finalists

Mime

Official name of entry: Mime
Name: Kalina Hristova, Simon Kallus, Roman Plaßmann, Simon Zimpfer
Cool Champagne
Many drinks can already be purchased in shops and consumed immediately. Does this also hold true for champagne? The answer is "Mime": a separately available champagne packaging from the freezer section which brings the drink from room temperature to drinking temperature in half an hour.

"During our student time we collected considerable know-how with fibres as packaging materials and learned to appreciate their diversity. For us, the congress is a unique opportunity to get clear insights into the multiple facets of cartonboard packaging and to network directly with important companies."

The Penguin

Official name of entry: The Penguin
Name: Magdalena Witkowicz
Vitamins
The main idea was to teach kids how to take vitamins without being afraid – and also having fun. The idea of the Penguin came spontaneously. The first challenge was to create a form of penguin made of paper without using glue. It seemed hardly possible to design a carton that would look like a Penguin and look friendly, funny and be functional. Two further challenges were: to create a dosage mechanism and finally to find a way to close the penguin.

“I would like to work with packages and paper in the future, but I feel that I need more practice. I would like to see how the projecting and producing looks – not only in Poland but in the international area. The Pro Carton Young Designers Award is also a great chance to compare myself with students from other countries - this can help me a lot in my career. I would like to thank my teacher Agnieszka Andruszkiewicz for giving me the courage to develop the project.”

The Scroll

Official name of entry: The Scroll
Name: Miriam Derler
Tidy Pencils
The idea was to create a new pencil case. The key challenge was to get the cartonboard to be flexible, as it had to be formed into a role. The concept of a concertina solved the problem.

“This competition is really fun and exciting for me. It is the first chance to present one of my ideas to a wide audience. I believe that taking part in the Pro Carton Young Designers Award will be a great reference for my work and I am really excited being invited to the ECMA Pro Carton Congress. We will see what else the future might bring. I really enjoyed working on this project. It was exciting to realize an idea with cartonboard and I’m really happy that others liked my idea too!”

Winebadge

Official name of entry: Winebadge
Name: Reinhart Glöckl
Dry Wine
The idea for the Winebadge originated whilst enjoying a bottle of red wine with friends. There were no place mats to avoid stains on the table and this led to the idea of fitting a place mat directly to the glass. After a number of prototypes, advertising space for the vintners was added. The challenge was to balance the strength and shape of the carton to harmonise the Winebadge and the wine glass.

"The Pro Carton Young Designers Award is an exciting experience. Winning the award would be recognition of my creativity and a good reference for my future career."