Non-food

Winner

Camacho Cigar Packaging U.S. market

Official name of entry:
Camacho Cigar Packaging U.S. market
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:

Si masculin

Quand on parle de cigares, on pense généralement à des emballages en étain ou en bois. Mais cette solution en carton présente de nombreux avantages. Elle économise les ressources, est plus respectueuse de l’environnement et elle est tellement légère qu’elle permet de faire des économies substantielles sur les frais de logistique. Elle permet d’obtenir un visuel parfait. Preuve supplémentaire s’il en faut que les emballages carton ont leur place dans des secteurs dominés par des matériaux moins écoefficaces et moins éco-responsables.
La connexion entre le couvercle et la base crée un effet de portance à l’ouverture, présentant à la perfection les trois cigares de qualité supérieure. L’emballage à cavité avec fermeture magnétique appliquée à la machine renforce la valeur du produit. L’arrondi du montage intérieur rappelle celui d’un tonneau. La forme de cette version s’est révélée tellement convaincante qu’elle est aussi utilisée pour d’autres versions de produits sous le nom de forme « demi-lune ». Le design épuré et masculin arbore uniquement le noir et le gris et évoque fortement les éléments métalliques des motos. L’emballage ne laisse aucun doute sur le groupe ciblé : les hommes, les vrais !

Jury comments

Une toute nouvelle façon de présenter les cigares, en utilisant du carton à la place de l’étain. Très attrayant et totalement inattendu, ce qui a suscité beaucoup d’intérêt de la part des juges.

Finalists

Astute

Official name of entry: Astute
Entrant: Carton Producer: Lucaprint Group
Brand Owner: A.G.R.
Structural Designer: Ufficio tecnico Lucaprint
Graphic Designer: Astute graphic department
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Billerud Korsnäs
Une selle bien arrimée
Élégant, polyvalent, robuste, prêt-à-vendre, minimaliste – voici comment cet emballage présente un produit haut de gamme. Grâce à l’emballage en trois parties, la selle reste solidement arrimée à la base d’où elle ne peut glisser car elle est retenue par un point d’ancrage particulier. La collection peut aussi être accrochée sur un mur. La flexibilité de présentation a fait le succès de cet emballage.

Beam-Box

Official name of entry: Beam-Box
Entrant: Carton Producer: Fr. Schiettinger
Brand Owner: Varta Consumer Batteries
Structural Designer: Varta/ Fr. Schiettinger (Göppingen)
Graphic Designer: Varta Consumer Batteries
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Moritz J. Weig
Tout en carton
Attrayant, durable, innovant et pratique, cet emballage carton triangulaire possède tout simplement tout ce dont un bon emballage a besoin. Il est écoefficace, pas seulement parce qu’il est uniquement réalisé en carton mais aussi par sa fonction de rangement. Le client avait demandé une boîte en carton refermable puisqu’en principe on ne retire qu’une pile à la fois du paquet et les autres restent rangées.

My. Von Erl

Official name of entry: My. Von Erl
Entrant: Other: AR Packaging Group
Carton Producer: A&R Carton Graz
Brand Owner: Von Erl
Structural Designer: Heinz Steinkellner, Mario Rassi (A&R Carton Graz)
Graphic Designer: Steve Graham, Art Director, MUT Agency
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
La beauté de l’intérieur
L’emballage est un magnifique exemple des options que peut offrir le carton. L’idée était de remplacer un emballage existant par un autre encore plus performant à tous égards : le client souhaitait un emballage plus écologique qu’avant, qui devait être facile à manipuler tout en étant robuste et pratique à ranger. Le niveau de référence était élevé, mais une chose était sûre : il fallait que l’emballage soit en carton.

Soul & Brace

Official name of entry: Soul & Brace
Entrant: Carton Producer: Rattpack Group
Brand Owner: Soulbrace Accessories
Structural Designer: Rattpack Group
Graphic Designer: Soulbrace Accessories
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Jeune et dynamique
D’habitude ces produits sont conditionnés dans des emballages en plastique, mais le client voulait quelque chose de nouveau. La présentation du produit devait être jeune, dynamique et luxueuse. D’où la décision avisée d’opter pour un emballage carton de qualité supérieure. Il y a quatre lignes de produits, toutes pouvant être présentées sur un présentoir. Différents types de finition ont été utilisés en production.

Volvo Luxury Spare Key Storage Box

Official name of entry: Volvo Luxury Spare Key Storage Box
Entrant: Carton Producer: Omaks Packaging
Brand Owner: Volvo Nieuwenhuijse Sleuteldossje Incl.
Structural Designer: Alparslan Kaleli
Graphic Designer: RingelDesign/Rep Ringel
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Inoubliable
La commande portait sur la création d’une solution de stockage vraiment unique pour conserver les clés de voiture de rechange et cette solution devait refléter l’identité de la marque. L’application réussie d’éléments graphiques tels que le gaufrage 3D sur une surface bleu pâle métallisée et la classique « zone déformable » à l’intérieur de la boîte ont créé un emballage carton inoubliable qui intègre également le nom du concessionnaire automobile local.

Non-food

Winner

Camacho Cigar Packaging U.S. market

Official name of entry:
Camacho Cigar Packaging U.S. market
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
How very masculine

When talking cigars, one generally thinks of packaging made of tin or wood. But this solution made of cartonboard has numerous advantages: it saves on resources, is more environment-friendly and amazingly lightweight, leading to considerable savings in logistics. And it allows perfect visual design. Yet further proof that cartonboard packaging has its place in packaging areas otherwise dominated by materials which are less resource-saving and less environment-friendly.
The connection between lid and base creates a lifting effect when opening, thus perfectly presenting the three premium cigars. The cavity wall packaging with machine-applied magnetic closure adds to the value of the product. The rounding of the inlay is reminiscent of a barrel. The shape of this version has proved so convincing that it is also being used for other product versions under the name of “Half moon” shape. The masculine and reduced design only features black and grey and reminds strongly of metal motorcycle elements. The packaging leaves no doubt about the target group: real men!

Jury comments

A completely new way of presenting cigars using cartonboard instead of tin. Very eye-catching and totally unexpected giving rise to a lot of interest from the judges.

Finalists

Astute

Official name of entry: Astute
Entrant: Carton Producer: Lucaprint Group
Brand Owner: A.G.R.
Structural Designer: Ufficio tecnico Lucaprint
Graphic Designer: Astute graphic department
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Billerud Korsnäs
Non-slip saddle
Elegant, versatile, robust, shelf-ready, minimalistic - this is how this carton presents an abolute top product. Owing to the three-part packaging, the saddle remains firmly connected to the base where it is protected from falling out through a special anchor. The collection can also be wall-mounted. The flexibility of the presentation with a part of the packaging was the key to global success!

Beam-Box

Official name of entry: Beam-Box
Entrant: Carton Producer: Fr. Schiettinger
Brand Owner: Varta Consumer Batteries
Structural Designer: Varta/ Fr. Schiettinger (Göppingen)
Graphic Designer: Varta Consumer Batteries
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Moritz J. Weig
Cartonboard all the way
Attractive, sustainable, innovative and practical to use – this triangular carton simply has everything good packaging needs. It is sustainable, not just because it is made of cartonboard only, but also due to its storage function. The customer had asked for a recloseable carton as normally only individual batteries are removed from the pack and the others stored.

My. Von Erl

Official name of entry: My. Von Erl
Entrant: Other: AR Packaging Group
Carton Producer: A&R Carton Graz
Brand Owner: Von Erl
Structural Designer: Heinz Steinkellner, Mario Rassi (A&R Carton Graz)
Graphic Designer: Steve Graham, Art Director, MUT Agency
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Beauty from within
This carton is a magnificent example of the options offered by cartonboard. The idea was to replace an existing pack through a better one in every respect: the customer wanted an even more sustainable pack than before, it was to be easy to handle while being robust and efficient for storage. The benchmark was high and one thing was clear: the answer could only be cartonboard.

Soul & Brace

Official name of entry: Soul & Brace
Entrant: Carton Producer: Rattpack Group
Brand Owner: Soulbrace Accessories
Structural Designer: Rattpack Group
Graphic Designer: Soulbrace Accessories
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Young and dynamic
Normally such products are packaged in plastic packs, but the customer wanted something new: the presentation of the product was to be young, dynamic and luxurious. Therefore the conscious decision to go for high-quality cartonboard packaging was taken. There are four different product lines - all can be presented on one display. Various types of finishing were used in production.

Volvo Luxury Spare Key Storage Box

Official name of entry: Volvo Luxury Spare Key Storage Box
Entrant: Carton Producer: Omaks Packaging
Brand Owner: Volvo Nieuwenhuijse Sleuteldossje Incl.
Structural Designer: Alparslan Kaleli
Graphic Designer: RingelDesign/Rep Ringel
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Unforgettable
The order was to create a truly unique storage option for keeping spare car keys - and it was to reflect the features of the brand. The successful application of graphic elements such as 3D embossing on a pale blue metallic surface and the classic "crumple zone" in the interior of the carton have created an unforgettable carton which also includes the name of the local car dealer.