Non-food

Winner

Camacho Cigar Packaging U.S. market

Official name of entry:
Camacho Cigar Packaging U.S. market
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:

Extrem männlich

Bei einer Zigarrenverpackung denkt man meist zuerst an Verpackungen aus Blech oder Holz. Doch diese Lösung aus Karton hat viele Vorteile: Sie ist ressourcenschonender, umweltfreundlicher und auch ungewöhnlich leicht, was in der Logistik für wesentliche Einsparungen sorgt. Und sie erlaubt eine optimale grafische Gestaltung. Ein weiterer Beweis dafür, dass Kartonverpackungen auch in Verpackungsbereichen, die üblicherweise von weniger ressourcenschonenden und umweltfreundlichen Materialien dominiert werden, ihren Platz haben.
Durch die Verbindung zwischen Deckel und Auflagepodest entsteht beim Öffnen ein Lift-Effekt, der die drei Premium-Zigarren perfekt in Szene setzt. Die Hohlwandverpackung mit maschinell aufgebrachtem Magnetverschluss verleiht dem Produkt zusätzliche Wertigkeit. Das Inlay erinnert durch seine Rundung an ein Fass. Diese Version hat mit ihrer Form so überzeugt, dass sie auch bei anderen Produktversionen zum Einsatz kam und den Namen „Half moon“-Form erhielt. Die maskuline und reduzierte Gestaltung ist in Schwarz und Grau gehalten und erinnert stark an metallische Motorradelemente. Die Verpackung lässt keinen Zweifel an der Zielgruppe: echte Männer!

Jury comments

Eine völlig neue Art, Zigarren zu präsentieren – mit Karton anstelle von Metall. Diese Verpackung springt ins Auge und ist derart unerwartet, dass sie bei der Jury große Aufmerksamkeit fand.

Finalists

Astute

Official name of entry: Astute
Entrant: Carton Producer: Lucaprint Group
Brand Owner: A.G.R.
Structural Designer: Ufficio tecnico Lucaprint
Graphic Designer: Astute graphic department
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Billerud Korsnäs
Fester Sitz
Elegant, vielseitig, robust, ready-to-shelf, minimalistisch, präsentiert diese Faltschachtel ein absolutes Spitzenprodukt. Dank der dreiteiligen Verpackung bleibt der Sattel immer fest mit dem Sockel verbunden, wo ihn eine spezielle Verankerung vor dem Herausfallen schützt. Die Kollektion kann auch aufgehängt werden. Die Flexibilität der Präsentation mit einem Teil der Verpackung war der Schlüssel für einen globalen Erfolg!

Beam-Box

Official name of entry: Beam-Box
Entrant: Carton Producer: Fr. Schiettinger
Brand Owner: Varta Consumer Batteries
Structural Designer: Varta/ Fr. Schiettinger (Göppingen)
Graphic Designer: Varta Consumer Batteries
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Moritz J. Weig
Alles Karton
Schön, nachhaltig, innovativ und praktisch zu benutzen – diese dreieckige Faltschachtel hat einfach alles, was eine gute Verpackung braucht. Sie ist nicht nur durch das Monomaterial Karton nachhaltig, sondern auch durch die Aufbewahrungsfunktion: Der Kunde hatte sich eine wiederverschließbare Faltschachtel gewünscht, da meist nur einzelne Batterien entnommen und die übrigen gelagert werden.

My. Von Erl

Official name of entry: My. Von Erl
Entrant: Other: AR Packaging Group
Carton Producer: A&R Carton Graz
Brand Owner: Von Erl
Structural Designer: Heinz Steinkellner, Mario Rassi (A&R Carton Graz)
Graphic Designer: Steve Graham, Art Director, MUT Agency
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Schönheit von innen
Diese Faltschachtel ist ein großartiges Beispiel für die Möglichkeiten von Karton. Es ging darum, eine existierende Verpackung durch eine in jeder Hinsicht bessere zu ersetzen: Der Kunde wollte eine nachhaltigere Verpackung als bisher, leicht zu handhaben und zugleich stabil und effizient zu lagern. Extrem hohe Anforderungen, und es war klar: Die Lösung konnte nur aus Karton bestehen.

Soul & Brace

Official name of entry: Soul & Brace
Entrant: Carton Producer: Rattpack Group
Brand Owner: Soulbrace Accessories
Structural Designer: Rattpack Group
Graphic Designer: Soulbrace Accessories
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Jung und dynamisch
Normalerweise finden sich solche Produkte in einer Kunstoffhülle, aber der Kunde wollte etwas Neues: Jung, dynamisch und luxuriös sollte die Präsentation sein. Daher wurde in diesem Fall bewusst auf eine hochwertige Kartonverpackung gesetzt. Es gibt vier verschiedene Produktlinen – alle sind mit einem Dispay darstellbar. Für die Herstellung wurden verschiedenste Veredelungen eingesetzt.

Volvo Luxury Spare Key Storage Box

Official name of entry: Volvo Luxury Spare Key Storage Box
Entrant: Carton Producer: Omaks Packaging
Brand Owner: Volvo Nieuwenhuijse Sleuteldossje Incl.
Structural Designer: Alparslan Kaleli
Graphic Designer: RingelDesign/Rep Ringel
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Unvergesslich
Der Auftrag war, eine wirklich einzigartige Aufbewahrungsmöglichkeit für den Reserveschlüssel zu kreieren – sie sollte die Eigenschaften der Marke widerspiegeln. Der gelungene Einsatz von graphischen Elementen, wie der 3D-Prägung auf einer hellblauen metallischen Oberfläche und die klassisch automobile „Knautschzone“ im Inneren der Faltschachtel, gestalten eine unvergessliche Faltschachtel, auf der auch der Name des lokalen Händlers prangt.

Non-food

Winner

Camacho Cigar Packaging U.S. market

Official name of entry:
Camacho Cigar Packaging U.S. market
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
How very masculine

When talking cigars, one generally thinks of packaging made of tin or wood. But this solution made of cartonboard has numerous advantages: it saves on resources, is more environment-friendly and amazingly lightweight, leading to considerable savings in logistics. And it allows perfect visual design. Yet further proof that cartonboard packaging has its place in packaging areas otherwise dominated by materials which are less resource-saving and less environment-friendly.
The connection between lid and base creates a lifting effect when opening, thus perfectly presenting the three premium cigars. The cavity wall packaging with machine-applied magnetic closure adds to the value of the product. The rounding of the inlay is reminiscent of a barrel. The shape of this version has proved so convincing that it is also being used for other product versions under the name of “Half moon” shape. The masculine and reduced design only features black and grey and reminds strongly of metal motorcycle elements. The packaging leaves no doubt about the target group: real men!

Jury comments

A completely new way of presenting cigars using cartonboard instead of tin. Very eye-catching and totally unexpected giving rise to a lot of interest from the judges.

Finalists

Astute

Official name of entry: Astute
Entrant: Carton Producer: Lucaprint Group
Brand Owner: A.G.R.
Structural Designer: Ufficio tecnico Lucaprint
Graphic Designer: Astute graphic department
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Billerud Korsnäs
Non-slip saddle
Elegant, versatile, robust, shelf-ready, minimalistic - this is how this carton presents an abolute top product. Owing to the three-part packaging, the saddle remains firmly connected to the base where it is protected from falling out through a special anchor. The collection can also be wall-mounted. The flexibility of the presentation with a part of the packaging was the key to global success!

Beam-Box

Official name of entry: Beam-Box
Entrant: Carton Producer: Fr. Schiettinger
Brand Owner: Varta Consumer Batteries
Structural Designer: Varta/ Fr. Schiettinger (Göppingen)
Graphic Designer: Varta Consumer Batteries
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Moritz J. Weig
Cartonboard all the way
Attractive, sustainable, innovative and practical to use – this triangular carton simply has everything good packaging needs. It is sustainable, not just because it is made of cartonboard only, but also due to its storage function. The customer had asked for a recloseable carton as normally only individual batteries are removed from the pack and the others stored.

My. Von Erl

Official name of entry: My. Von Erl
Entrant: Other: AR Packaging Group
Carton Producer: A&R Carton Graz
Brand Owner: Von Erl
Structural Designer: Heinz Steinkellner, Mario Rassi (A&R Carton Graz)
Graphic Designer: Steve Graham, Art Director, MUT Agency
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Beauty from within
This carton is a magnificent example of the options offered by cartonboard. The idea was to replace an existing pack through a better one in every respect: the customer wanted an even more sustainable pack than before, it was to be easy to handle while being robust and efficient for storage. The benchmark was high and one thing was clear: the answer could only be cartonboard.

Soul & Brace

Official name of entry: Soul & Brace
Entrant: Carton Producer: Rattpack Group
Brand Owner: Soulbrace Accessories
Structural Designer: Rattpack Group
Graphic Designer: Soulbrace Accessories
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Young and dynamic
Normally such products are packaged in plastic packs, but the customer wanted something new: the presentation of the product was to be young, dynamic and luxurious. Therefore the conscious decision to go for high-quality cartonboard packaging was taken. There are four different product lines - all can be presented on one display. Various types of finishing were used in production.

Volvo Luxury Spare Key Storage Box

Official name of entry: Volvo Luxury Spare Key Storage Box
Entrant: Carton Producer: Omaks Packaging
Brand Owner: Volvo Nieuwenhuijse Sleuteldossje Incl.
Structural Designer: Alparslan Kaleli
Graphic Designer: RingelDesign/Rep Ringel
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Unforgettable
The order was to create a truly unique storage option for keeping spare car keys - and it was to reflect the features of the brand. The successful application of graphic elements such as 3D embossing on a pale blue metallic surface and the classic "crumple zone" in the interior of the carton have created an unforgettable carton which also includes the name of the local car dealer.