Volume Markets

Winner

Hybric Tray – Auchan salads

Official name of entry:
Hybric Tray – Auchan salads
Entrant: Other:
Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Alliance parfaite

La double coque asymétrique rigide en carton FSC permet de réduire au minimum la quantité de plastique : par rapport au modèle précédent, cela correspond à une réduction de 75 % des polymères. La fermeture de l’emballage est traditionnelle. Le contenu est clairement visible : sauces, couteau et fourchette peuvent être rangés dans un compartiment séparé. Les larges surfaces extérieures offrent un espace appréciable pour une conception graphique efficace.
Pour le fabricant, la stabilité de la barquette représentait un défi puisqu’elle devait rester parfaitement stable pendant le transport, la manipulation ainsi qu’à l’ouverture. En outre, le produit qu’elle contient doit également être maintenu à une humidité ambiante relativement élevée pour conserver sa fraîcheur.
L’alliance entre le carton et le plastique est conçue de telle sorte que les composants peuvent être séparés facilement et jetés après utilisation. Cette « invitation » donne au consommateur le sentiment de faire quelque chose de bien pour l’environnement.

Jury comments

Pour un emballage tiré à gros volumes, cette barquette en carton a vraiment plu aux juges à plusieurs titres : la structure et la robustesse de la barquette, la double construction qui représente un plus pour le consommateur, la large zone pour la valorisation de la marque et la communication produit, la partie interne en plastique qui peut être séparée du carton et bien entendu, le fait que l’utilisation du plastique a été globalement minimisée.

Finalists

It's Just ... My Box of Great British Fish & Chips

Official name of entry: It's Just ... My Box of Great British Fish & Chips
Entrant: Carton Producer: The Alexir Partnership
Brand Owner: DHL
Structural Designer: The Alexir Partnership
Graphic Designer: British Airways
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Les Papeteries de Vizille
Un classique frais et croustillant
Un nouvel emballage pour un classique absolu est toujours source de risques ; une conception originale est souvent critiquée en premier lieu. Dans ce cas, cela a peu de chance d’arriver. L’aspect convivial, l’impression récréative, le côté pratique et la présentation appétissante du contenu frais et croustillant (y compris la ventilation astucieuse) sont tout à fait convaincants.

Menu Box for Air Lines

Official name of entry: Menu Box for Air Lines
Entrant: Other: Retailer Meier Verpackungen
Carton Producer: Schachner Pack
Brand Owner: Swiss International Air Lines
Structural Designer: LSG Skychefs/First Catering Schweiz
Graphic Designer: Swiss International Air Lines
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Compacte et pratique
Il est difficile de faire plus pratique que cet emballage carton compact : la petite boîte en carton contient tout ce qu’il faut pour apprécier un encas à bord d’un avion. La partie inférieure se compose d’un tiroir séparé pour les couverts, la serviette, les condiments et le cure-dent. Cette boîte répond en tous points aux exigences d’un emballage de voyage : il ne prend pas beaucoup de place, il est pratique à utiliser et facile à éliminer. Seul le carton permet d’arriver à ce résultat.

Vario-Tray for round fruits

Official name of entry: Vario-Tray for round fruits
Entrant: Other: Retailer Meier Verpackungen
Carton Producer: Koralpendruckerei
Brand Owner: Delikatessa
Structural Designer: Meier Verpackungen
Graphic Designer: Delikatessen Hamburg
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Smurfit Kappa
Pure nature
Les choses ne pouvaient pas être plus naturelles : le plateau Vario dans le cadre du programme d’emballages verts REWE est réalisé en une seule pièce de carton et se monte sans collage. La facilité d’élimination de cet emballage 100 % carton et l’émotion procurée par un produit aussi simple que des pommes (ainsi que la large surface pour communiquer le message de la marque) instaure la confiance quant aux origines de cette boîte et de son contenu.

Volume Markets


Hybric Tray – Auchan salads

Official name of entry:
Hybric Tray – Auchan salads
Entrant: Other:
Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Structural Designer:
Graphic Designer:
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Perfect Connection

The stiff, asymmetrical double shell made of FSC cartonboard allows reduction of the plastic content to a minimum: compared with the previous model this resulted in saving 75 per cent of the polymers. A traditional seal closes the pack. The contents are clearly visible; sauces, knives and forks can be stored in a separate compartment. The large outer surfaces offer considerable space for effective graphic design.
A challenge for the manufacturer was perfect stability of the packaging which is required during shipping, handling and unpacking. In addition, the quality of the product must also be maintained at relatively high ambient humidity.
The connection between the cartonboard and the plastic is designed in such a way that the components can be separated and disposed of easily after use. This “invitation” gives the consumer a good feeling of doing something for the environment.

Jury comments

For a pack selling huge numbers, this carton really appealed to the judges on several fronts. These being the strength and structure the carton provided, the dual pack construction offering consumer benefit, expansive area for branding and product communication, plastic inner can be separated from the carton and of course the fact that less plastic is needed overall.


It's Just ... My Box of Great British Fish & Chips

Official name of entry: It's Just ... My Box of Great British Fish & Chips
Entrant: Carton Producer: The Alexir Partnership
Brand Owner: DHL
Structural Designer: The Alexir Partnership
Graphic Designer: British Airways
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Les Papeteries de Vizille
Crisp Classic
New packaging for an absolute classic is always fraught with risk: unusual design is generally criticised initially. In this case, this could prove difficult. The friendly appearance, recreational feeling, convenient handling and appetising presentation – including smart ventilation – of the crisp, fresh contents are all entirely convincing.

Menu Box for Air Lines

Official name of entry: Menu Box for Air Lines
Entrant: Other: Retailer Meier Verpackungen
Carton Producer: Schachner Pack
Brand Owner: Swiss International Air Lines
Structural Designer: LSG Skychefs/First Catering Schweiz
Graphic Designer: Swiss International Air Lines
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Mayr-Melnhof Karton
Compact Convenience
The convenience of this compact carton is difficult to outperform : a small cartonboard pack contains everything needed to enjoy a small meal aboard an aircraft. The lower section contains a separate drawer for cutlery, napkin, condiments and toothpick. This pack complies with all the requirements for travel packaging: it is space-saving, convenient in use and easy to dispose of. All this can only be achieved with cartonboard.

Vario-Tray for round fruits

Official name of entry: Vario-Tray for round fruits
Entrant: Other: Retailer Meier Verpackungen
Carton Producer: Koralpendruckerei
Brand Owner: Delikatessa
Structural Designer: Meier Verpackungen
Graphic Designer: Delikatessen Hamburg
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Smurfit Kappa
Pure Nature
Things could not be more natural: the Vario-Tray in REWE's Green Packaging Programme consists of a single piece of cartonboard and is erected without requiring adhesive. The ease of disposal of pure cartonboard and the emotionalisation of a simple product such as apples – in combination with a large surface area for the brand message – create confidence with regard to the product’s origins.