Confectionery

Winner

Multiflex

Official name of entry:
Multiflex
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Graphic Designer:
Bäckerei Kuhn/PAWI Verpackungen
Cartonboard Manufacturer:

Multi-usages

L’idée est venue de PAWI : une solution innovante et durable pour présenter de manière attrayante les chocolats, les biscuits ou les bonbons dans des compartiments séparés en éliminant toute utilisation du plastique. L’équipe PAWI a développé une maquette et à parlé avec des boulangers et des chocolatiers afin de trouver ensemble la meilleure solution. Ensuite, il a fallu chercher et trouver le carton approprié ainsi qu’une société d’ingénierie mécanique capable de fournir l’équipement adapté à la fabrication de l’emballage.
L’insert Multiflex met les chocolats en valeur grâce à la simplicité et au côté naturel du carton utilisé. L’insert en carton est homologué pour le contact alimentaire et possède des propriétés de résistance aux matières grasses. Les chocolats peuvent être placés directement dans les compartiments. Les inserts Multiflex peuvent être fabriqués à l’échelle industrielle et sont pré-plissés. Ce système d’insert en carton représente une bonne alternative écologique aux inserts plastiques actuels.
Ce nouveau système a beaucoup de succès, les premiers renouvellement de commandes sont arrivés plus vite que prévu. La présentation des produits de confiserie est devenue beaucoup plus attrayante. Presque tous les clients en Suisse ont déjà adopté cette nouvelle solution et son lancement est planifié en Allemagne, en Belgique et en France. Le client cité en exemple ici a pu augmenter ses ventes de 20 % grâce à ce nouveau système.

Jury comments

Les juges étaient tous d’accord sur le fait que ce concept d’emballage fonctionnerait bien et serait attractif. Il est destiné aux produits vendus en grand magasin où les consommateurs choisissent eux-mêmes les chocolats. Il existe en différentes tailles et formes avec des compartiments de tailles différentes pour s’adapter aux produits qu’il contient. Les juges ont été interpellés par la complexité du découpage des inserts et ont constaté qu’ils fonctionnaient bien et étaient faciles à placer dans la boîte avant d’y mettre les chocolats. Un excellent concept.

Finalists

Arko Treasure Chest

Official name of entry: Arko Treasure Chest
Entrant: Carton Producer: Hammer GmbH
Brand Owner: Arko GmbH
Structural Designer: Hammer GmbH
Graphic Designer: brandship GmbH
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Jeune et amusant
La demande du client était de développer une toute nouvelle gamme de produits pour une nouvelle cible jeune. Les produits devaient être complètement différents des produits existants et facilement reconnaissables. Les motifs animaux changent des traditionnelles images de princesses et de pirates destinées aux enfants et aux adolescents. Le modèle devait aussi plaire aux adultes et pouvoir être offert en cadeau. Le coffre au trésor est refermable et peut servir pour d’autres choses lorsqu’il est vide.

Confiserie Reber Advent Calendar with innovative Carton-Inlay

Official name of entry: Confiserie Reber Advent Calendar with innovative Carton-Inlay
Entrant: Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Brand Owner: Paul Reber GmbH
Structural Designer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Graphic Designer: Paul Reber GmbH
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Noblesse oblige
Au début de l’année 2013, Reber a contacté Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Autriche avec un projet d’emballage particulièrement difficile. L’idée consistait à remplacer le polystyrène expansé utilisé pour positionner les plateaux des calendriers de l’Avent Reber par du carton.
Tous les principaux objectifs ont été atteints : manipulation aisée, positionnement correct des produits grâce à la technique de pliage « Twister » (qui compense les différences de hauteur des produits) et protection optimale des produits. Il n’a fallu que six mois à compter de la première réunion du projet pour voir les nouveaux calendriers de l’Avent dans les rayons.
Jury comments

C’était la première fois que les juges voyaient un calendrier de l’Avent aussi sophistiqué. Les emplacements pour les confiseries sont renforcés par une découpe carton en spirale pour maintenir le bonbon fermement en position. Une fois le bonbon retiré, la section remonte à la surface de sorte que l’aspect général de la boîte n’est pas altéré. Ce nouveau système pour maintenir les bonbons est entièrement fabriqué en carton et remplace la mousse de polystyrène anciennement utilisée. Les juges ont estimé qu’il s’agissait d’un remarquable emballage mono-matériau, beaucoup plus facile à recycler après usage.

Lindt Giant Carrot

Official name of entry: Lindt Giant Carrot
Entrant: Carton Producer: Multi Packaging Solutions
Brand Owner: Lindt UK
Structural Designer: Glen Dutton, Multi Packaging Solutions
Graphic Designer: Theresa Tweedy, Multi Packaging Solutions
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
L’effet de surprise
Le responsable Lindt de la gamme Easter (Pâques) a abordé les solutions d’emballage groupé avec l’idée d’une carotte géante inspirée de l’emballage Lindt « Lapin or et carottes » et de la reconnaissance de la marque du lapin Lindt. L’emballage tient debout sur le rayonnage. L’utilisation du carton a permis de développer une forme conique suffisamment rigide. Le côté pratique de la solution est attrayant, de même que la facilité d’ouverture et de fermeture. La nouvelle création de cette marque a eu beaucoup de succès sur le marché britannique et sera commercialisée à nouveau en 2015.

The Origin Box

Official name of entry: The Origin Box
Entrant: Carton Producer: Du Caju Printing
Brand Owner: Barry Callebaut
Structural Designer: Du Caju Printing
Graphic Designer: Berlin
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund Paperboard + G. F. Smith
Gamme exclusive
Le chocolat « Origin » est un voyage dans l’univers du goût, celui du chocolat issu des cacaos du monde entier. Le chocolat est extrêmement sensible aux odeurs extérieures, il était donc très important que Du Caju Printing ait une grande expérience pour choisir les cartonnages appropriés. Le logo ainsi que des images typiques des différentes destinations sont représentés sur la boîte extérieure. À l’intérieur, se trouvent les petites boîtes aux couleurs vives et au graphisme rappelant la particularité de chaque type de chocolat.

Confectionery

Winner

Multiflex

Official name of entry:
Multiflex
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Graphic Designer:
Bäckerei Kuhn/PAWI Verpackungen
Cartonboard Manufacturer:

Jack of all trades

The idea originated from PAWI: a sustainable and innovative solution for attractively presenting chocolate, biscuits or confectionary in separate compartments and completely dispensing with plastic. The in-house team developed a sample and spoke to bakers and chocolate manufacturers to jointly find the best solution. Then one looked for, and found, suitable cartonboard and a mechanical engineering company that could supply the appropriate packaging machinery.
The Multiflex insert adds special value to chocolates as the cartonboard used provides an attractive appearance due to its naturalness and simplicity. The insert cartonboard is approved for direct contact with foods and includes grease barrier properties. The chocolates can be placed directly into the inserts. The Multiflex inserts can be manufactured on an industrial scale and are pre-creased. Automated packing at the customer’s filling line is possible. The cartonboard insert system represents an ecologically sound alternative to existing plastic inserts.
The new system is extremely successful, the first repeat orders came more quickly than expected. The presentation of confectionary has become considerably more attractive. Nearly all customers in Switzerland have already switched to the new solution, and launches in Germany, Belgium and France are planned. The customer given here as an example, was able to increase sales by 20 per cent by using the new system.

Jury comments

The judges were in full agreement that this packaging concept would work well and be attractive at the same time. It was designed to be used in stores where consumers select their own choice of chocolates. It was made up of different sizes and shapes of cartons and also inserts that were designed to fit the various sizes of cartons and hold the chocolates securely. The cutting complexity on the inserts appealed to the judges who noted that they worked well and were simple to insert into the cartons before the chocolates are added. An excellent concept.

Finalists

Arko Treasure Chest

Official name of entry: Arko Treasure Chest
Entrant: Carton Producer: Hammer GmbH
Brand Owner: Arko GmbH
Structural Designer: Hammer GmbH
Graphic Designer: brandship GmbH
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Young and entertaining
The customer's requirement was to develop an entirely new product range for a new, young target group. The products were to be completely different from the existing products and create a high level of awareness. The animal motifs offer children and adolescents equally a change from the conventional role-specific images of princesses and pirates. The design was also to appeal to adults and be suitable as a gift. The treasure chest can be reclosed and, when empty, used for other things.

Confiserie Reber Advent Calendar with innovative Carton-Inlay

Official name of entry: Confiserie Reber Advent Calendar with innovative Carton-Inlay
Entrant: Carton Producer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Brand Owner: Paul Reber GmbH
Structural Designer: Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria
Graphic Designer: Paul Reber GmbH
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Noblesse oblige
At the beginning of 2013, Reber approached Mayr-Melnhof Packaging Austria with a very challenging packaging task. The idea was to replace the styrofoam used in the positioning trays of the Reber Advent calendars with cartonboard. All the important objectives were achieved: easy handling, accurate positioning of the products by using the "Twister" coiling technique - which compensates differences in the height of products - and optimal protection of the contents. It only took six months from the first project meeting to having the new Advent calendars on the shelves.
Jury comments

This was the first time the judges had seen an advent calendar as sophisticated as this. The wells for the sweets are backed with spirally cut cartonboard to hold the sweet firmly in position. After removal of the sweet the section pops up so that the overall look of the box is not compromised. This new system for holding the sweets was made entirely of cartonboard and replaced the previously used styrofoam. The judges felt this was a remarkable single material product and much easier to recycle after use.

Lindt Giant Carrot

Official name of entry: Lindt Giant Carrot
Entrant: Carton Producer: Multi Packaging Solutions
Brand Owner: Lindt UK
Structural Designer: Glen Dutton, Multi Packaging Solutions
Graphic Designer: Theresa Tweedy, Multi Packaging Solutions
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
The “wow” factor
The Lindt Easter Brand Manager approached Multi Packaging Solutions with the idea of a giant carrot, inspired by the "Lindt Gold Bunny & Carrots" packaging and brand recognition of the Lindt rabbit. The carton stands upright on the shelf: with cartonboard it was possible to develop a conical shape with adequate rigidity. The solution offers attractive convenience and a positive experience when opening and reclosing. This brand new development was very successful on the UK market and will be repeated again in 2015.

The Origin Box

Official name of entry: The Origin Box
Entrant: Carton Producer: Du Caju Printing
Brand Owner: Barry Callebaut
Structural Designer: Du Caju Printing
Graphic Designer: Berlin
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Iggesund Paperboard + G. F. Smith
Exclusive variety
"Origin" chocolate is a journey into the world of taste, the chocolate taste of cocoas from across the globe. Chocolate is very sensitive to external flavours, and therefore it was extremely important that Du Caju Printing had considerable experience in selecting suitable cartonboards. The outer box depicts the logo as well as typical images from the various destinations. Inside are ten small boxes with powerful colours and a graphic design which highlights the individuality of each type of chocolate.