Beauty & Cosmetics

Winner

Pleats Please L’Élixir

Official name of entry:
Pleats Please L’Élixir
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Beauté Prestige International (BPI)
Structural Designer:
Beauté Prestige International (BPI), Shiseido International France (SIF)
Graphic Designer:
Marine Crespin
Cartonboard Manufacturer:

Élégance raffinée

Le premier contact avec le produit se fait à travers l’emballage. La « magie » doit opérer entre le client et l’emballage dès le premier regard. Un emballage avec un style et un message si clairement définis est une expérience rare. Le nom, la signature pleats sont tous les deux l’image de marque d’une collection couture Issey Miyake. Le flacon est enveloppé dans un pochon plissé, son bouchon reproduit un plissé soleil lequel est également repris sur l’emballage, en impression mais aussi en relief afin de retrouver cette même sensation de plissé à la fois sur le produit et sur l’emballage.
Cette boîte associe élégance pure et sophistication. Le gaufrage complexe attire l’œil du consommateur et la convergence de la marque et du design rend le produit irrésistible. L’emballage exprime à la fois le style épuré et naturel de la marque et l’élégance luxueuse par le mariage du rouge (pour l’allégresse) et du blanc (pour l’élégance). La finition qui comprend un gaufrage multi-niveaux et un laquage mat nécessite expertise et précision technique.

Jury comments

Les boîtes et les idées proposées dans cette catégorie sont toujours excellentes, et cette année n’a pas fait exception. Élégance, qualité, ainsi qu’un design clairement reconnaissable, simple et pourtant tellement efficace sont les principales caractéristiques de cet emballage. La marque du produit est clairement affichée avec la marque déposée, une image en filigrane d’une fleur sur le devant débordant sur un côté du carton. Les couleurs vives, rouge et blanc, ainsi que l’aspect mat apportent style et sophistication à cette boîte. Avec une belle impression et une fabrication impeccable, cet emballage est vraiment excellent.

Finalists

Cosmetic Line Anne Geddes

Official name of entry: Cosmetic Line Anne Geddes
Entrant: Carton Producer: Lucaprint S.p.A.
Brand Owner: Anne Geddes distributed by Italian Cosmetics
Structural Designer: R&D Lucaprint S.p.A.
Graphic Designer: Joe Velluto
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Favini
En contact avec la nature
L’objectif était de créer un emballage 100 % naturel qui corresponde à la marque et à la gamme de produits Anne Geddes. Le résultat est une élégante boîte « bio », gaufrée et imprimée à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur. La couleur, composée de minuscules tâches « naturelles », apporte un côté écologique sympathique. La sensation tactile est également incomparable puisque la matière première provient des déchets de produits agro-alimentaires qui donnent cette impression de « bio ».

Daniela Katzenberger Glitter Cat

Official name of entry: Daniela Katzenberger Glitter Cat
Entrant: Carton Producer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Brand Owner: RTL Interactive GmbH, 99pro media GmbH
Structural Designer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Graphic Designer: Wilps Design Köln, André Wilps, Köln
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Fragrance et glamour
Le glamour est ici la clé absolue. Ensemble, le client et le cartonnier ont recherché un effet des plus scintillants, des couleurs particulières, une construction et un revêtement distinctifs. Carl Edelmann a choisi le carton et le papier holographique adéquat pour l’impression et la finition. Le poinçonnage des papillons en filigrane a nécessité l’utilisation d’un outil spécial. Avec la surface ondulée, ils créent un effet 3D qui attire le regard dans les rayons.

Fernanda Brandao

Official name of entry: Fernanda Brandao
Entrant: Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Carton Producer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Brand Owner: Cura Marketing GmbH
Structural Designer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Graphic Designer: Lifestyle Distribution GmbH
Dynamique pure
La tâche était à la fois simple et difficile. L’emballage devait représenter la forme du flacon et apporter une dynamique pour attirer l’attention au maximum. L’idée venait du propriétaire de la marque. Contenu et emballage se marient parfaitement et la communication sur la promesse du produit est exemplaire. L’ajustement parfait de l’emballage et du flacon offre une protection optimale au produit. La conception particulière signifie également une livraison à plat des cartons ainsi qu’un montage et un remplissage automatiques.
Jury comments

Les juges n’ont pas seulement été impressionnés par l’excellente qualité d’impression de cet emballage et par l’utilisation intelligente de l’holographie, ils ont surtout aimé la forme asymétrique qui avait été conçue. Ils ont dit n’avoir jamais encore vu de forme aussi innovante et, en plus d’être belle à regarder, la boîte était aussi très agréable au toucher. L’association de cette forme avec cette impression et cette finition a donné un emballage exceptionnel qui, à leur avis, se démarquerait très bien en rayon dans un secteur hyper concurrentiel. En résumé, un remarquable emballage.

Valentine Giftbox – Nivea Creme Limited Edition

Official name of entry: Valentine Giftbox – Nivea Creme Limited Edition
Entrant: Carton Producer: Schut Hoes Cartons
Brand Owner: Beiersdorf
Structural Designer: Schut Hoes Cartons
Graphic Designer: Beiersdorf
Cartonboard Manufacturer: BillerudKorsnäs
Un cœur pour trois !
Beiersdorf voulait un coffret cadeau de Saint-Valentin en forme de cœur pour trois petits pots de crème. Le délai de mise sur le marché n’a pris que trois mois. Le cœur, trois en un, se différencie clairement dans les rayonnages. Le nouveau design permet une impression sur les deux faces et confère à l’emballage un côté naturel « écolo ». Son originalité a très fortement impressionné le client.

Beauty & Cosmetics

Winner

Pleats Please L’Élixir

Official name of entry:
Pleats Please L’Élixir
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Beauté Prestige International (BPI)
Structural Designer:
Beauté Prestige International (BPI), Shiseido International France (SIF)
Graphic Designer:
Marine Crespin
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Refined elegance

The first contact with the product is through the packaging: “magic” has to be created between the customer and the packaging at first sight. It is a rare experience to see packaging with such a clearly defined message and styling. The name, the signature pleats, are both the brand image of an Issey Miyake fashion line. The bottle is wrapped in a pleated bag, the top of the bottle is designed as pleats, and the packaging is not only printed showing pleats, but also embossed to give that feeling of pleats on both the product and the packaging.
This carton combines sheer elegance and sophistication, the intricate embossing attracts the eye of the consumer and the convergence of brand and design make the product irresistible. The packaging expresses both the clear, natural style of the brand as well as the luxurious elegance by combining the colours red (for joy) and white (for elegance). The finishing with multi-level embossing and a matt lacquer requires considerable experience and technical precision.

Jury comments

This category always produces excellent cartons and ideas and this year was no exception. Elegance and quality were the key elements in this carton along with a design that was clearly recognizable, simple yet totally effective. The brand of the puroduct was well displayed with the trademark filigree flower image running across the front and one side of the carton. The bold red and white colours along with the matt feel, gave this carton style and sophistication. Beautifully printed and made, this carton was truly excellent.

Finalists

Cosmetic Line Anne Geddes

Official name of entry: Cosmetic Line Anne Geddes
Entrant: Carton Producer: Lucaprint S.p.A.
Brand Owner: Anne Geddes distributed by Italian Cosmetics
Structural Designer: R&D Lucaprint S.p.A.
Graphic Designer: Joe Velluto
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Favini
In touch with nature
The objective was to create a 100 % natural packaging which fits the Anne Geddes brand and product range. The result is an elegant "green" carton, embossed and printed both inside and out. The colour, with minute "natural" specks, gives the packaging a sympathetic, ecological look. The tactile feel is also exceptional as the raw material consists of agro-industrial waste products, which gives an "organic" impression.

Daniela Katzenberger Glitter Cat

Official name of entry: Daniela Katzenberger Glitter Cat
Entrant: Carton Producer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Brand Owner: RTL Interactive GmbH, 99pro media GmbH
Structural Designer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Graphic Designer: Wilps Design Köln, André Wilps, Köln
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Fragrance with glamour
Glamour is the absolute key here: together, customer and carton manufacturer looked for maximum glitter effects, special colours, special construction and liner. Carl Edelmann selected the cartonboard and the right holographic foil to complement printing and finishing. Filigree punching of the butterflies was only made possible by using special punching tools. Together with the waved surface they create a three dimensional effect and make the product a high impact eye catcher on the shelf.

Fernanda Brandao

Official name of entry: Fernanda Brandao
Entrant: Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Carton Producer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Brand Owner: Cura Marketing GmbH
Structural Designer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Graphic Designer: Lifestyle Distribution GmbH
Pure dynamics
The task was as simple as it was difficult: the carton was to reflect the shape of the bottle and provide maximum focus and dynamics. The idea originated from the brand owner. Content and packaging blend perfectly, communication of the product promise is exemplary. The detailed fit of the carton to the bottle provides optimal product protection. The special design also allows for flat delivery and automatic erecting and filling of the cartons.
Jury comments

The judges were not only impressed with the superb print quality of this carton and the clever use of holographics but mainly with the asymmetric shape that had been designed. They said they had not seen such an innovative shape before and as well as being good to look at the carton was also very pleasant to handle. This combination of shape, print and finish came together to produce an exceptional carton which they felt would have excellent stand out on the shelf in a sector that was very competitive. In summary an outstanding carton.

Valentine Giftbox – Nivea Creme Limited Edition

Official name of entry: Valentine Giftbox – Nivea Creme Limited Edition
Entrant: Carton Producer: Schut Hoes Cartons
Brand Owner: Beiersdorf
Structural Designer: Schut Hoes Cartons
Graphic Designer: Beiersdorf
Cartonboard Manufacturer: BillerudKorsnäs
Three for the heart!
Beiersdorf wanted a Valentine gift packaging for three small Nivea crème packs in the shape of a heart. The "Time to Market" was only three months. The heart, with three packs in one differentiates it clearly from the competition on the shelf. The new design allows printing on both sides and lends the packaging a natural "green" look and feel. The customer was extremely impressed by the originality of the packaging.