Beauty & Cosmetics

Winner

Pleats Please L’Élixir

Official name of entry:
Pleats Please L’Élixir
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Beauté Prestige International (BPI)
Structural Designer:
Beauté Prestige International (BPI), Shiseido International France (SIF)
Graphic Designer:
Marine Crespin
Cartonboard Manufacturer:

Raffinierte Eleganz

Den ersten Kontakt mit einem Produkt vermittelt seine Umhüllung: Gleich beim ersten Sichtkontakt muss es „funken“ zwischen dem Konsumenten und der Verpackung. Selten trifft man auf eine Verpackung, die ihre Botschaft und ihr Styling derart konsequent durchdekliniert: Der Name für Plissee ist zugleich Markenname einer Modelinie von Issey Miyake, „Pleats Please“, die Flasche ist in Plissee gehüllt, der Kopf der Flasche ist als Plissee gestaltet, und die Verpackung ist nicht nur mit Plissee-Falten bedruckt, sondern auch geprägt, sodass die Falten auf Produkt und Verpackung fühlbar werden.
Eleganz und Raffinesse prägen diese Faltschachtel, ihre feingliedrige Prägung zieht den Blick der Konsumenten auf sich und die durchgehende Konvergenz von Marke und Design macht sie unwiderstehlich. Die Verpackung bringt den klaren, natürlichen Stil der Marke ebenso zum Ausdruck wie luxuriöse Eleganz, auch über die harmonische Verbindung der Farben Rot (für Freude) und Weiß (für Eleganz). Das Finishing mit mehrfacher Prägung und mattem Lack erfordert große Erfahrung und technische Präzision.

Jury comments

Aus dieser Kategorie kommen immer exzellente Faltschachteln, so auch in diesem Jahr. Schlüsselelemente dieses Entwurfs sind Eleganz und Qualität, zusammen mit einem Design, das eine klar profilierte Erkennbarkeit erzeugt, einfach und doch extrem wirksam. Die Produktmarke wird gut sichtbar positioniert, das Markensymbol, das Bild einer filigranen Blüte, läuft über die Vorderfront sowie eine Seite der Faltschachtel. Die kräftige weiße und rote Farbe gibt der Faltschachtel zusammen mit einer sanften Haptik Stil und Raffinesse. Wunderschön gedruckt und hergestellt, ist diese Faltschachtel einfach großartig.

Finalists

Cosmetic Line Anne Geddes

Official name of entry: Cosmetic Line Anne Geddes
Entrant: Carton Producer: Lucaprint S.p.A.
Brand Owner: Anne Geddes distributed by Italian Cosmetics
Structural Designer: R&D Lucaprint S.p.A.
Graphic Designer: Joe Velluto
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Favini
Die Natur fühlen
Ziel war die Kreation einer zu 100 Prozent natürlichen Verpackung, die zu Marke und Produktpalette von Anne Geddes passt. Das Ergebnis ist eine elegante, „grüne“ Faltschachtel, die sowohl innen als auch außen geprägt und bedruckt ist. Die Farbe mit winzigen, „natürlichen“ Unvollkommenheiten gibt der Verpackung eine sympathische, ökologische Optik. Auch die Berührung ist ganz etwas Besonderes, denn das Ausgangsmaterial besteht aus Abfallprodukten der agro-industriellen Produktion, es hat eine angenehme Haptik und eine „biologische“ Anmutung.

Daniela Katzenberger Glitter Cat

Official name of entry: Daniela Katzenberger Glitter Cat
Entrant: Carton Producer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Brand Owner: RTL Interactive GmbH, 99pro media GmbH
Structural Designer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Graphic Designer: Wilps Design Köln, André Wilps, Köln
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Duft mit Glamour
Alles steht hier im Dienste des Glamours: Kunde und Faltschachtelhersteller suchten nach maximalen Glitzereffekten, besonderen Farben, einer individuellen Konstruktion und Oberfläche. Carl Edelmann wählte dazu den Karton und die richtige Holografie-Folie aus, die Druck und Finishing unterstützt. Die filigranen Ausstanzungen für die Schmetterlinge waren nur durch spezielle Stanzwerkzeuge möglich. Zusammen mit der gewellten Oberfläche erzeugen die Ausstanzungen einen dreidimensionalen Effekt, der das Produkt im Regal hervorhebt.

Fernanda Brandao

Official name of entry: Fernanda Brandao
Entrant: Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Carton Producer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Brand Owner: Cura Marketing GmbH
Structural Designer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Graphic Designer: Lifestyle Distribution GmbH
Dynamik pur
Die Aufgabe war ebenso einfach wie schwierig: Die Faltschachtel sollte die Form der Flasche wiedergeben und so für maximale Konzentration und Dynamik sorgen. Die Idee kam vom Markeninhaber. Inhalt und Verpackung stehen harmonisch im Einklang, das Versprechen des Produkts wird perfekt kommuniziert. Die an Flakon und Faltschachtel im Detail genau angepasste Linienführung gewährleistet optimalen Produktschutz. Die besondere Konstruktion ermöglicht darüber hinaus eine flache Anlieferung sowie automatisches Aufrichten und Befüllen.
Jury comments

Die Jury war nicht nur von der großartigen Druckqualität beeindruckt sowie vom geschickten Einsatz der Holografien, sondern vor allem von der asymmetrischen Form der Faltschachtel. Die Juroren meinten, sie hätten noch nie eine derart innovative Form gesehen. Sie ist nicht nur schön anzuschauen, sondern liegt auch sehr angenehm in der Hand. Die spezielle Verbindung von Form, Druck und Verarbeitung ergab ein außergewöhnliches Produkt, das im Regal in diesem hart umkämpften Segment auffallen wird. Insgesamt eine herausragende Faltschachtel.

Valentine Giftbox – Nivea Creme Limited Edition

Official name of entry: Valentine Giftbox – Nivea Creme Limited Edition
Entrant: Carton Producer: Schut Hoes Cartons
Brand Owner: Beiersdorf
Structural Designer: Schut Hoes Cartons
Graphic Designer: Beiersdorf
Cartonboard Manufacturer: BillerudKorsnäs
Drei fürs Herz
Der Wunsch von Beiersdorf war eine Valentins-Geschenkverpackung für drei kleine Nivea-Cremes in Form eines Herzens. Die „Time to Market“ betrug nur drei Monate. Das Herz mit drei Verpackungen in einer hebt sich deutlich ab von der Konkurrenz im Regal. Durch das neue Design ist es auch möglich, beide Seiten zu bedrucken und der Verpackung ein natürliches „Look and Feel“ zu geben. Von der Originalität der Lösung war der Kunde sehr angetan.

Beauty & Cosmetics

Winner

Pleats Please L’Élixir

Official name of entry:
Pleats Please L’Élixir
Entrant: Carton Producer:
Brand Owner:
Beauté Prestige International (BPI)
Structural Designer:
Beauté Prestige International (BPI), Shiseido International France (SIF)
Graphic Designer:
Marine Crespin
Cartonboard Manufacturer:
Refined elegance

The first contact with the product is through the packaging: “magic” has to be created between the customer and the packaging at first sight. It is a rare experience to see packaging with such a clearly defined message and styling. The name, the signature pleats, are both the brand image of an Issey Miyake fashion line. The bottle is wrapped in a pleated bag, the top of the bottle is designed as pleats, and the packaging is not only printed showing pleats, but also embossed to give that feeling of pleats on both the product and the packaging.
This carton combines sheer elegance and sophistication, the intricate embossing attracts the eye of the consumer and the convergence of brand and design make the product irresistible. The packaging expresses both the clear, natural style of the brand as well as the luxurious elegance by combining the colours red (for joy) and white (for elegance). The finishing with multi-level embossing and a matt lacquer requires considerable experience and technical precision.

Jury comments

This category always produces excellent cartons and ideas and this year was no exception. Elegance and quality were the key elements in this carton along with a design that was clearly recognizable, simple yet totally effective. The brand of the puroduct was well displayed with the trademark filigree flower image running across the front and one side of the carton. The bold red and white colours along with the matt feel, gave this carton style and sophistication. Beautifully printed and made, this carton was truly excellent.

Finalists

Cosmetic Line Anne Geddes

Official name of entry: Cosmetic Line Anne Geddes
Entrant: Carton Producer: Lucaprint S.p.A.
Brand Owner: Anne Geddes distributed by Italian Cosmetics
Structural Designer: R&D Lucaprint S.p.A.
Graphic Designer: Joe Velluto
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Favini
In touch with nature
The objective was to create a 100 % natural packaging which fits the Anne Geddes brand and product range. The result is an elegant "green" carton, embossed and printed both inside and out. The colour, with minute "natural" specks, gives the packaging a sympathetic, ecological look. The tactile feel is also exceptional as the raw material consists of agro-industrial waste products, which gives an "organic" impression.

Daniela Katzenberger Glitter Cat

Official name of entry: Daniela Katzenberger Glitter Cat
Entrant: Carton Producer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Brand Owner: RTL Interactive GmbH, 99pro media GmbH
Structural Designer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Graphic Designer: Wilps Design Köln, André Wilps, Köln
Cartonboard Manufacturer: Metsä Board
Fragrance with glamour
Glamour is the absolute key here: together, customer and carton manufacturer looked for maximum glitter effects, special colours, special construction and liner. Carl Edelmann selected the cartonboard and the right holographic foil to complement printing and finishing. Filigree punching of the butterflies was only made possible by using special punching tools. Together with the waved surface they create a three dimensional effect and make the product a high impact eye catcher on the shelf.

Fernanda Brandao

Official name of entry: Fernanda Brandao
Entrant: Cartonboard Manufacturer: Stora Enso
Carton Producer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Brand Owner: Cura Marketing GmbH
Structural Designer: Carl Edelmann GmbH
Graphic Designer: Lifestyle Distribution GmbH
Pure dynamics
The task was as simple as it was difficult: the carton was to reflect the shape of the bottle and provide maximum focus and dynamics. The idea originated from the brand owner. Content and packaging blend perfectly, communication of the product promise is exemplary. The detailed fit of the carton to the bottle provides optimal product protection. The special design also allows for flat delivery and automatic erecting and filling of the cartons.
Jury comments

The judges were not only impressed with the superb print quality of this carton and the clever use of holographics but mainly with the asymmetric shape that had been designed. They said they had not seen such an innovative shape before and as well as being good to look at the carton was also very pleasant to handle. This combination of shape, print and finish came together to produce an exceptional carton which they felt would have excellent stand out on the shelf in a sector that was very competitive. In summary an outstanding carton.

Valentine Giftbox – Nivea Creme Limited Edition

Official name of entry: Valentine Giftbox – Nivea Creme Limited Edition
Entrant: Carton Producer: Schut Hoes Cartons
Brand Owner: Beiersdorf
Structural Designer: Schut Hoes Cartons
Graphic Designer: Beiersdorf
Cartonboard Manufacturer: BillerudKorsnäs
Three for the heart!
Beiersdorf wanted a Valentine gift packaging for three small Nivea crème packs in the shape of a heart. The "Time to Market" was only three months. The heart, with three packs in one differentiates it clearly from the competition on the shelf. The new design allows printing on both sides and lends the packaging a natural "green" look and feel. The customer was extremely impressed by the originality of the packaging.